Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Windshield Problems

2006 Scion xB (Page 4 of 5)


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,085 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Scion xB windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Scion xB:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Scion xB Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Dec 182007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles


I just replaced my windshield on my 2006 Scion Xb on 11/30/07 after 2 cracks developed after only tiny pebbles from the road hit in 2 different spots on 2 different occasions and created a cracks that spread like wildfire. This obviously made it impossible for repair because even if the glass company came within a couple hours, the crack had already spread from maybe 3-4 inches to over 12 inches! on both occasions the impact points were no more than 1 inch from the molding edge in the black area of the glass. Any other time that I have had anything hit in the middle/in my line of view, it just bounces off like a piece of rubber with no damage. All in all, it has only been about 2 1/2 weeks since I paid about $250 out of my own pocket to have the thing replaced, and I already have another crack!!! same as the last couple of times... a very small pebble/rock hit about an inch from the molding in the "black area" of the glass on my way in to work this morning (12/18/07). And within my hour commute to work, it had already spread to about 3-4 inches. That was at about 8:00 this morning. It is now 10:20am, and when I went outside to look at it again at 9:30am, it had already spread to about 12 inches!!! I guess they won't be able to repair it!!! if it's longer than a dollar bill, they can't fix it according to my glass company that I usually call. This is obviously a design flaw and I would like to see Toyota correct this problem. I have seen many many many complaints regarding this particular issue throughout the internet and a very considerable amount of complaints with the NHTSA/ODI. This is a violation of the lemon law and have no problem giving it back to them for a full refund of all payments I have made to date since my purchase back in Aug 2006 or a new vehicle under my current financing option.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #32

Dec 122007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,679 miles
The windshield on my 2006 Scion Xb cracked while the car was sitting in the driveway the temperature was about 68 degrees which was what it had been most of the week. No extreme temperatures at night. This has been a very common problem on this model and is a safety issue for which a recall should be issued.

- Surf City, NC, USA

problem #31

Dec 112007


  • miles
Windshield cracks without any cause! it's from the middle bottom and it's over 10 inches long.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #30

Jun 202007

xB 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


I own a 2006 Scion Xb, the windshield has about 8 cracks in it, due to either unknown forces or the tiniest rocks hitting it. My car cannot pass inspections with the amount of damage to the windshield not only that but replacements for the Xb's cost at least 500 dollars. By reading about many other cracked windshields from the Scion Xb's I know that it is not only me but many people with this same problem. There needs to be a recall on these windshields.** my address and phone number are for the NHTSA only, they are not to be sold or traded to anyone under the privacy protection act, to do so will result in serious consequences.**

- Wentzville, MO, USA

problem #29

Nov 052007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
The windshield on my 2006 Scion Xb cracked for no reason while parked (2 foot crack). The technician could find no cause. He said they replace these Xb windshields daily. The car only has 5,000 miles on it. I have never replaced a windshield or had one crack in 30 years of owning cars.

- Washington, DC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Oct 162006


  • miles
One month after purchasing my Scion Xb, a pebble hit my windshield as often happens on the freeway. This made a small "spidery" ding in the windshield. A week later, that ding grew to be over 24" long. Everywhere I go, I see Scion Xb's and probably 85% of them also have a huge crack in the windshield. Something should be done about this.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 102007


  • miles


I own a 2006 Scion Xb and it continually has problems with the front windshield cracking. This appears to be due to a design flaw.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #26

Aug 312007


  • miles
I wonder if the Scion Xb windshield is too thin. I've had my Xb only about a year and a half and have had two broken windshields and each occurred on paved roads. Prior to that I'd only had one broken windshield in 45 years of driving.

- Silver Springs, FL, USA

problem #25

Dec 082006

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Scion Xb. He stated that the windshield was replaced three times due to cracks and stress. The contact felt that there a designed flaw which caused the failure. The manufacturer stated that they are aware of the design flaw and advised the contact that he was responsible for the repair. The current mileage is 30,200 and the failure mileage was 1500. Updated 02/01/08.

- Dacla, GA, USA

problem #24

Jul 312007

xB 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,200 miles
Windshield cracked.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #23

Jul 192007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles


Cracked windshield while parked.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #22

Jun 012007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 225 miles
I have had to replace the windshield 5 times on my 2006 Scion Xb which was purchased in May 2006, I have also found out this is the most replaced glass windshield from our local safelite glass dealer, searching the internet I have found out I am not the only one with issue, this appears to be nationwide. Although Toyota/Scion will never admit to a design flaw I am wondering what if anything is being dome to address this issue. Although I have not been injured yet, I am sure it is only a matter of time when the windshield will fail completely.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #21

Dec 282006

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
I own a 2006 Scion Xb. There seems to be a manufacturer's flaw on the windshield design. Less than 8 months there was a crack on the front windshield for no apparent reason. I then had to replaced it with a brand new front windshield. About a week later a new crack appeared, there was no rocks that had hit the front windshield. It just slowly started to crack from the driver's edge frame and slowing increased in length. To replace the windshield twice in 8 months was not regular. I searched online forums around, and it seemed like I was not the only one complaining about the Toyota Scion windshield defects. I think Scion should be held responsible for all the cracked windshields that occrured with their defective design. There should be a recall to fix this problem.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 202006

xB 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,500 miles
Windshield cracks: My windshield cracked, with no one in the car, and no chip. It had less than 2000 miles when it happened. I had parked the car most of the way under a carport, where the front 2/3 was shaded as the sun rose that morning but the back 1/3 had sun shining on it. I had the front windows down a couple of inches each. The crack came from the passenger side at the seal about half way up the window, and traveled in toward the driver's side horizontally then took a turn 90 degrees upward for a couple of inches and then 90 degrees toward the driver's side again. Total length was approx 14 inches. I immediately called the dealer and asked if anyone else had this same issue. Mind you I bought the car from kerry Scion in florence, ky. Where they claim the car sells itself and they can't keep them in stock- no one seemed to have reported a similar incident. The service tech laughed at me over the phone! I took a ballpoint pen like he told me and followed the crack and no chip! this was in August 2006. Over the course of one year the crack grew to almost the entire width of the windshield. Then just last week, a new crack appeared originating at the top edge of the windshield, on the drivers side of the review mirror, traveling downward then making a 90 degree turn toward the passenger side. The same day the second crack appeared, which occurred as the car was parked(same as the first crack) in the lot at work, the original crack grew approx 6 inches toward the drivers side. This is why I replaced the windshield today: I was told while registering my vehicle this past week that the state I now live in, ks, will ticket you for a crack in the windshield if in front of the drivers line of sight. So if it is safety concern for the state of Kansas, then it's a safety issue that Toyota need to address.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #19

Jun 222007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Scion Xb. The contact noticed that the windshield had a 10-inch crack. The vehicle has not been inspected by a mechanic. The current and failure mileages were 11,000.

- Lowell, AR, USA

problem #18

Jun 142007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
While the car was parked in the driveway during the day I came outside to find a 12 inch crack that started at the top near the rearview mirror and curved towards the 'side.there was no impact from any road elements.the crack wasn't there when we drove the car home that day.appeared while sitting outside.

- Airway Heights, WA, USA

problem #17

Apr 072007

xB 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Windshield developed a crack approximately 4 inches in length while vehicle was not being driven. Crack increased in length to approximately 1 1/2 feet in length the following day. Vehicle had been driven but was parked when the crack increased in length. There was never any impact from rocks or any debris. The windshield was not touched in any way that could have caused damage. Windshield was repaired by safelite glass, repair was covered by insurance claim.

- Savage, MN, USA

problem #16

Apr 282007

xB 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,200 miles
Scion Xb sitting in atlanta airport parking lot. Left for 12 days, windshield noted as cracked upon return. Vehicle was not/had not moved when the windshield cracked.

- Perry, GA, USA

problem #15

Oct 012006

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
1. events leading up to the failure: Vehicle sit in the sunlight. 2. failure and its consequences: The windshield cracks because the frame flexes without any impact to the windshield. 3. what was done to correct the failure: I had 8 windshield replacements in 6 months. Toyota/Scion eventually repurchased the vehicle since it was a lemon.

- Gold Canyon, AZ, USA

problem #14

Dec 202006

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2006 Scion Xb with a current odometer reading of 7,000 miles. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked the contact came out and found that the windshield was cracked from the bottom where the windshield wipers rest on the passenger's side about 12 inches to the top drivers side. The contact stated that nothing hit the windshield to cause this problem. The failure mileage was 6,000.

- Sanger, TX, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?