10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Scion xB seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Scion xB:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Scion xB Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

May 232016

xB

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Scion Xb. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16340000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Esparto, CA, USA

problem #52

Jun 092016

xB

  • 130,000 miles
Takata recall: Received notice of this recall June 2016, Toyota dealer we bought from still cannot make repairs/replace airbags. It is a major danger and inconvenience to not be able to use the vehicle. They and Toyota seem un-interested in getting this done and should be held liable for the loss of use. If it cannot be reppaired in a timely manner they should provide a loaner or replacement vehicle.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #51

Jun 012016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Scion Xb. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Grover, NC, USA

problem #50

May 232016

xB

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The safety recall notice from Toyota had been received in may of 2016. It stated that recall had been issued for takata front passenger airbag inflator. It highly recommended do not operate the vehicle with an occupant in the front passenger seat due to danger of inflator rupture during airbag deployment. This rupture can happened any time due to degradation of the propellant in these inflators after prolonged exposure to high humidity and fluctuating temperatures. Seven months later there still no remedy had been issued. I made two phone calls to Toyota customer center. First time in October 2016 and second in January 2017 and still did not get any reasonable answers on when this recall would be fixed for our vehicle. Our family just as many others are experiencing extreme inconvenience due to this recall and Toyota has not showed any empathy and/or ability of trying to fix this problem. It takes a very long and unreasonable amount of time.

- Pfafftown, NC, USA

problem #49

Aug 102016

xB

  • miles
I receive a recall letter for my air bag. I took the car to the Toyota dealership about five months a go and was told that I have to wait for Toyota to send me a notification. I have not receive any notification from them. I think that five month to wait for them to fix a problem that can result in serious injury or death is unacceptable.

- Miami, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #48

May 232016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall. Recall date: May 23, 2016. As of Dec. 30, 2016, manufacturer has failed or is unable to remedy this condition.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #47

May 312016

xB

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" this recall has been up sice may, I am currently making payments on a car that I cant drive since I work for uber and lyft. They have yet to come up with a solution. This is really messing me up financially, yet no one can seem to give any answers. Im thinking I should get an attorney.

- West Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #46

May 232015

xB

  • miles
Takata recall....I can't have a passenger in front seat due to recall. It has been 8 months and need to resolve.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #45

May 012016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall. No remedy yet

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #44

May 232016

xB

  • miles
Airbag recall no help or fix from manufacture its been several months lets get it together Toyota

- Brookhaven, GA, USA

problem #43

Dec 112016

xB

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall manufacturer has not yet addressed issue

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #42

May 312016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall: Pax side airbag. Notified 6 months ago. Use car intermittently to Transport elderly father and obese brother, neither of whom can get into the rear seat area. Toyota offered a loaner car, but will not give me a similar model (they want to give me a tiny corolla); and, will require me to turn in my car. If turned in, I can't get my car back until repaired, and, they will leave it outdoors, exposed to hail and sun (Texas). This is unacceptable. I am being deprived of the right to use my car in the customary manner in which it is used.

- Universal City, TX, USA

problem #41

May 162016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #40

May 232016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall - recall notice was issued on may, 23 2016 and as of December 10, 2016 no remedy is available from the manufacturer. This is far beyond what should be considered a timely resolution to such a severe safety risk.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #39

Dec 092016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall. If it wasn't for an nbc news report on the problem I wouldn't have known that I was at risk. There has been no notification from Toyota/Scion. I live in Florida which was listed as a priority area because of the heat.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #38

Dec 012016

xB

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Scion Xb. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #37

May 232016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Scion Xb. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #36

Aug 212016

xB

  • miles
We were informed of this recall in August of 2016, and we were advised not to operate the vehicle with a passenger in the front seat. As a family of four, this is extremely inconvenient. It means we can never have an extra passenger, and it means that one adult is always crammed in the back seat with two kids, even on long car trips. We haven't heard a word from Toyota since the recall notice, and we're increasingly frustrated, irritated, and unimpressed. By now, Toyota should have 1. kept us updated about fixes, and 2. offered us a loaner vehicle, since our use of our car is so limited by the recall.

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #35

Nov 232016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Scion Xb. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grahm, NC, USA

problem #34

Jun 012016

xB

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Scion Xb. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) was received. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?