2010 Subaru Forester seat belts / air bags NHTSA complaints: Air Bags

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,467 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Subaru Forester seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Subaru Forester:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Subaru Forester Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 012016

Forester

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - I received a safety recall letter in the mail in July 2016 informing me of the recall of the airbags in the passenger front seat and "until this repair is performed, do not allow passengers to ride in the front passenger seat." It has been 6 months now that I have not been able to use my car as intended. I have emailed the NHTSA 3 months ago explaining my frustration with the lack of speed from Subaru to fix this problem. I have waited 6 months now and still have had no word from anyone as to when I can expect this to be remedied. I expect some kind of communication back explaining the process of getting my car back to the way I expected to drive it when I bought it in the first place. 6 months of not being able to use my car as intended is ridiculous and I will take further action if this is not resolved a.S.a.P.

- Oxford, CT, USA

problem #14

Dec 182016

Forester

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Subaru Forester. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer diagnosed that the occupant restraint module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 99,000.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #13

Jun 102016

Forester

  • miles
Takata recall in June 2016 we received a recall notice, NHTSA campaign: 16V358000, regarding the passenger side air bags. We have not yet been informed when parts will be available. We have called the dealer and have written to the manufacturer without success. See attached reply from Subaru. We live in zone a and are concerned about being able to use the car safely.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 102016

Forester

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Subaru Forester. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The dealer mentioned that the part was to be ordered in October of 2016. The contact later discovered that the part was not requested to be ordered and the contact was placed on a waiting list. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Monticello, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 302016

Forester

  • 41,000 miles
Takata recall -- repair delays -- how worried should I be" my 2010 Subaru Forester is subject to the takata airbag recall for its front passenger airbag. My Subaru was purchased new in California in August 2010; it is registered in California; and I have driven it exclusively in the san francisco bay area, except for a week-long trip to southern California in July 2014. According to your "amended annex a", my vehicle appears to be in priority group 6 for the recall; I confess I don't know how long that means it may take before my car gets repaired. My local Subaru dealer has told me I should contact them in the second half of January 2017 for further news as to when the replacement parts will be ready for my vehicle. They had previously told me they would have the parts in November, and for all I know, they may delay things further when I contact them in January. In the meantime, I have been advised via material from Subaru that I should not allow anyone to sit in the front passenger seat until the recall work has been completed on my vehicle. This has been an embarrassing inconvenience for myself and my family, and although I'm willing to do what is necessary for safety's sake, I must wonder if the risk for my vehicle is truly such as to require this measure, or if Subaru is simply acting out of an extreme abundance of caution to avoid any possible liability. Given the specific part of California where I live and have driven this vehicle -- hardly an area of excessive humidity, I would think, given our long-standing drought conditions here -- do you still concur that I really do need to keep everyone out of the front passenger seat until the airbag has been replaced"

- Stanford, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Aug 152016

Forester

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Subaru Forester. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #9

Nov 282016

Forester

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I received a recall notice from Subaru America in July 2016. I contacted Subaru at that time to inquire about the timing of the airbag replacement and was told that parts would be available in September 2016. It is now almost December 2016 and Subaru has no further information about when the parts will be available. This is ridiculous and is making it so that I can't use my car when I need someone to sit in the passenger seat. I will have to rent a car for the holidays because I need to Transport my family and can't do it in this car. Thanks for your help.

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 012016

Forester

  • miles
Takata recall. Was informed in July not to use passenger seat. The dealership still won't schedule recall, and has been telling me I am number 50 on thier list for two months. Meanwhile, all the Toyota owners are getting their cars fixed. Somebody needs to light a fire under these people.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 112016

Forester

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Subaru Forester. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #6

Jun 012016

Forester

  • miles
The manufacturer has not given a rememdy for this recall yet but apparently they tell me that no one can ride in my passengers seat until its fixed. Its been about 4 months since I received a letter from Subaru regarding the recall. Thats too long to not be able to have a passenger in my vehicle. I have an elderly relative that I have to chaffeur around in the back seat due to this lack or rememdy or repair.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #5

Jun 102016

Forester

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall my 2010 Subaru Forester was recalled June 10, 2016. It is now Oct 25, 2016 and absolutely nothing has been done so far. My local dealer told me that they still do not have any replacement airbags. Subaru of America is not replacing the defective takata airbags in a reasonable manner and you need to find out when they plan on doing something.

- Kihei, HI, USA

problem #4

Sep 022016

Forester

  • 35,000 miles
Takata recall. I received a letter from my Subaru dealer about the passenger front airbag recall. The letter instructed me to call the dealer as well as not allowing a front seat passenger. I called and was told that replacement parts are not available so they wouldn't make an appointment with me to have the airbag checked without having the replacement part. The service person did not know when the replacement part/recall resolution will happen. I am complaining because of the issue of not using my passenger front seat without a time limit on the resolution of this problem.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #3

Jul 152016

Forester

  • miles
Takata recall: Letter received early July indicating a recall for the front passenger seat. Letter stated that owner should not use front seat. Its a month and a half now with no relief in sight. When will I be able to use my vehicle??

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 012016

Forester

  • miles
We have received the mandatory recall letter of July 2016. The open-ended statement: "we will notify you when replacement parts are available" is insufficient. Why" because we already have a recall notice for our 2013 leaf which is already three months old and thus far nothing has been done with that. I am angry because now the "family" car cannot be used as a family car! so the question is when?? will parts be available next year? 5 years from now?? when??"

- Aptos, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 282013

Forester 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Subaru Forester. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, he lost consciousness and the vehicle traveled into an embankment, crashing into a tree. Upon impact, the air bags deployed in shards, failing to protect the driver. The driver sustained a concussion, seizures and bruising. The vehicle was towed to a salvage yard. A police report was filed of the incident. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileage was 42,000. Updated 3/13/13 05/09/2013

- Canton, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?