Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Subaru Impreza fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Subaru Impreza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Subaru Impreza Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Nov 152005

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX. There is a fuel smell coming from under the hood, near the passenger side by the intake manifold. This happens when I start the car in the mornings when it is cold outside. There is a technical service bulletin from Subaru on this matter, but I think it should be a recall item since this involves a fuel smell coming from substandard parts.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #21

Dec 132004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 61,000 miles
Fuel smell/leak during cold temperatures; about 30 and below. Very strong smell. So strong we are afraid to drive it during these times. First started this season (2004). Out of warranty. 2002 Subaru WRX. Purchased 3-12-2001.

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 172005

Impreza 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2002 Subaru WRX emits a gas smell, due to a leaking fuel line, into the cabin. This is a known problem with Subaru (see service bulletin 09-36-03). In my opinion this potentially dangerous situation is an engineering oversight and should be repaired at no cost to the consumer.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #19

Jan 142005

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gasoline smell/leak in sub-zero temperatures. Originates from engine compartment, passenger side. Noticed pooling of gas in engine block cracks. Only occurs when under 20 degrees F.

- West Allis, WI, USA

problem #18

Dec 222004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 62,000 miles
This is a common problem among MY2002 Subaru owners who have the ej20T 2.0 liter tubocharged motor. I have a 2002 WRX. When the weather gets very cold (near freezing) there is a fuel leak on the passenger side of the engine. The smell is so strong it enters into the cabin. Subaru knows about it and there is a tsb service bulletin. I strongly reccomend a recal on all of the cars that had the "old" style fuel rails. Please see - forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?S=&threadid=482496 for more information.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Dec 102004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 34,000 miles
During cold weather my 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX has a smell of raw fuel inside the cabin. Could possibly start a fire. Not safe, should be fixed under a recall.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #16

Dec 202004

Impreza 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 53,995 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After 54000 miles a slight to strong raw fuel smell has become more noticeable especially during inclement weather conditions. I am located in Florida so the temperature does not drop that low and the raw fuel smell is becoming more apparent.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #15

Dec 202004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 51,000 miles
Fuel smell is in the cabin of my car. Symtom <30 degrees, and this is a known hose issue in the WRX.

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #14

Dec 152004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • miles
Tsb 09-36-03 dated 04/01/03 issued by Subaru for the 2002my Impreza WRX lists that some models may experience a fuel smell in cold weather, if you are smelling fuel, it's fuel vapors, and fuel is leaking period. This is an unsafe condition I would think! this needs to be an official recall so dealerships can?T charge people to fix this defect if their cars are out of warranty. Then this issue can be fixed properly and no longer be a hazard.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 152004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Very strong fuel smell in passenger compartment that is especially apparent in cold weather.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #12

Jan 292004

Impreza

  • Manual transmission
  • 28,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving driver started smelling gas coming from the engine. A leaking rubber fuel hose under the intake manifold cased the gas smell.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #11

Jan 072004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 47,000 miles
When it is cold out (in new england) there is a raw fuel smell. My mpg goes from 23 mpg to 17 mpg. I am afraid that their car will catch fire because it smells like a fuel leak. From what I hear there is a Subaru technical service bulletin on the fuel lines cracking under extreme cold, but it hasn't been recalled.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #10

Jan 212004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 28,000 miles
Faulty desing of the fuel lines on a 2002 Subaru WRX are causing a fuel leak (enough to puddle on the manifold). Dealer (as well as Subaru of America) will not cover the problem under warranty, even though there is a nationwide service bulletin about the issue. My car has several non-related modifications, so my warranty will not cover the issue. This is a very serious health/safety issue, and for Subaru to not be forced to recall or at least offer free repairs of it is completely unsatisfactory. This poses a dager to myself, my family, and possibly any one who walks by my car in a praking lot with a cigarette. Subaru should be taking the responsibility for faulty design, and if for no other reason than respect for their customers her in America, offer to fix this issue no matter the mileage on the car, or the modifications that may be done to it.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #9

Jan 182004

Impreza

  • miles
2002 Subaru Impreza WRX fuel leak in cold weather conditions.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #8

Oct 012003

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Extreme fuel odor inside passenger cabin of my 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX, especially in cold weather conditions for the last four months. I have only 29000 miles on the odometer presently. I have noticed increased fuel consumption recently may be because of a possible fuel leak somewhere -please enquire and advise-thanks, anil sekhar.

- Oakpark, IL, USA

problem #7

Jan 042004

Impreza

  • 25,000 miles
Fuel rails leak in cold weather causing fuel smell in car and possible risk of fire. Subaru has issued a technical service bulletin on this.

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #6

Jan 072004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,200 miles
On the days of Jan 7, 8 and 9 2004 with temps below 25F degrees, a very strong odor of gasoline was present within and ouside of the cabin of the 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX. The smell could be overwhelming at times of colder temps (>15degrees) and would deminish after some driving. Took auto into dealer on 8 Jan. Even though dealer service rep could smell the odor of gasoline when driving it back to the garage area, the technicians could not replicate the issue. Was told by the service rep that this is not a safety issue. Service rep was aware of tsb issued by Subaru for a very similar item, but they needed to replicate the issue within the confines of the garage to be sure. Four days later (and counting) I am waiting for colder temps to cause the gasoline odor for the techs.

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #5

Jan 062004

Impreza

  • 29,000 miles
I have a 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX sedan which has an apparent fuel leak in cold weather. Subaru has a technical service bullitain out on this problem to fix it (they do know about it), but it has yet to be made a recall. I first experienced this problem the other night when it was very cold outside, and there was a very strong fuel odor in the cabin. I asked some of my friends who also drive WRX's if they have had experience with this, and they said that they have been having the problem recently as well. After doing some research, the tsb was discovered and the source became clear. Fuel was leaking onto the engine, which poses not only a foul odor, but also an extremely dangerous fire hazzard. Please get Subaru to make this a recall so that they can prevent anything bad from happening to one of their customers. I doubt they would want their "Subaru" name to become known as the "cars that catch on fire". make this problem a recall as soon as possible so no lives are lost.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 082004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 46,558 miles
Very stong fuel smell entering the cabin during extreme cold weather.

- Chelsea, ME, USA

problem #3

Jan 092004

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 42,654 miles
I own a 2002 Subaru WRX wagon. The cold morning (-3F) of January 9, 2004, I smelled fuel inside the cabin of my car a few minutes after I started the car. The gasoline scent was strong around the immediate area outside and inside the vehicle. The scent can also be sensed under the hood. After a drive, the scent remained. Even after I reached my destination 15 miles and 30 minutes later, I can still smell fuel under the hood. I have called village Subaru (61 powdermill rd. Acton, MA 01742 978-897-1128) and scheduled a service on Monday. Thank you, - alex teng.

- Newton, MA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?