Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,061 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Subaru Impreza seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Subaru Impreza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Subaru Impreza Owner Comments

problem #13

Jul 152016

Impreza

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received the notification about the recall in July 2016. It is now 10/31/16 and I am old that the new airbags are not available. I have been told that I will receive a letter when my car can be repaired, but I have not received anything to date. I am concerned that if there is impact or if weather conditions impact the defective airbag that shrapnel can be released and can be fatal to passenger(s). I cannot carry passengers in my vehicle and I am also concerned for my own well being driving my vehicle.

- Marietta, PA, USA

problem #12

Jun 152015

Impreza

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Impreza. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired for an extended period of time. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #11

Aug 012016

Impreza

  • miles
Takata recall we received the recall at the beginning of August. We were told when we called the dealership that it would be ready to repair in September. It now seems there is no answer as to when the repair can be completed.

- Belle Vernon, PA, USA

problem #10

Oct 242016

Impreza

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Impreza. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Running Springs, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 222016

Impreza

  • miles
Takata recall: How long is this going to take? my wife is ready to buy a new car but we are unsure about how this recall hanging over the Subaru Impreza is going to affect our ability to sell or trade in the car. We assume the car can't be sold in this condition, and that's a burden. Please advise: Auxinn@yahoo.com

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Jun 102016

Impreza

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Impreza. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #7

Jul 112016

Impreza

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall Subaru sent a recall notice in July 2016 indicating that "Subaru is in the process of acquiring parts necessary to perform this repair". meaning that they are not presently able to perform the repair. "until this repair is performed, do not allow passengers to ride in the front passenger seat." This is entirely impractical. I did not purchase a Subaru to drive it with no one else in the front seat! I need Subaru to either repair the defect in a timely fashion, or to provide me with an alternate form of transportation.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 012016

Impreza

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Impreza. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags) was received in July of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Saginaw, MN, USA

problem #5

Aug 012016

Impreza

  • 35,250 miles
Takata recall - I finally received acknowledgement from Subaru of America that I have two airbags..takata-sourced passenger side frontal airbag and toyoda gosei driver-side airbag located in the center of the steering wheel. The safety recall notice that I received indicates that they will only be replacing the takata-sourced passenger side frontal airbag when parts are available...possibly not until feruary, 2017. Timmons Subaru where I purchased the Subaru stated that they will pay for a rental car, but will not pay for the insurance on the rental car...totally unacceptable. I'm requesting that both manufacturers airbags be removed and do not want them replaced...it's only a matter of time before toyoda gosei's airbags are exploding either before deployment or upon deployment as arc's did recently. Is it possible that you could secure the information on the type of propellent that toyoda gosei is using in their airbags. Thank you for your attention to these issues.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 022016

Impreza 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
Takata recall - I received a safety recall notice regarding a takata-sourced passenger side frontal airbag. The manual that I received with my 2007 Subaru Impreza states that I have two (2) airbags (driver's and front passenger's frontal airbags) the notice states that parts are not currently available..we'll notice you again when they are. It also states..until this is performed, do not allow passengers to ride in the front passenger seat...it should also state " do not ride in the driver's seat". I need to ride in the driver's seat to secure groceries, supplies, and dr. Appointments. I sometimes have passengers with me. I did not purchase the vehicle to park it in the garage. Using the 800-782-2783 number for Subaru of America there is a recording with a full mailbox..no way to leave a message that I request and demand a corrected notice that I have 2 takata airbags in my vehicle and I want them replaced as soon as possible. The airbags in my vehicle are long past the expiration date of approximately 6 years with the chemical breaking down due to humidity and temperature fluctuations. It is unacceptable to issue an incorrect recall notice and unacceptable to stall on the replacement of these faulty airbags. Your website states that over 9,000,000 airbags have been replaced, but mine have not been replaced. If they have to work day and night to get corrected airbags available, then so be it. I sent an email to the service dept. Of timmons Subaru and Volkswagen of long beach, ca today advising the above. Thank you for your attention to this issue. Best regards, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 032015

Impreza

  • 33,544 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I replaced the battery on 7/11/15. I needed a smog certificate this month for my registration renewal and my vehicle would not pass for certification. I had driven the vehicle over 700 miles after battery replacement and was told that I needed to drive it an additional 50 to 100 miles non-stop to reset the vehicle to pass the inspection. I asked at the dealership can't you reset the vehicle here so that all this driving and mileage is not required, the dealership stated no. The Volkswagen have a reset button on a panel but not the Subaru or any other vehicles. All vehicles should have a reset button and they should be recalled to implement this feature. All vehicles manufactured in the future should have that feature. This incident occurred 11/3/15 thru 11/5/15 having to spend $35 additional in gasoline and driving on the congested freeways to reset the vehicle after battery replacement. I was told that I have takata air bags in my vehicle. When will they be replaced" thank you. I was told that I have a takata air bags in my vehicle by the manufacturer. When will they be replaced"

- Long Beach,, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 082008

Impreza

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Impreza. While driving at an unknown speed on a wet road covered with leaves, the vehicle unexpectedly slid off the road and crashed into trees. The air bags failed to deploy. The failure occurred without warning. The police and ambulance were called to the scene and a police report was filed. The driver and passenger sustained severe injuries. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the collision center. The insurance company has been notified. The contact was concerned of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were 22,000.

- Preston, CT, USA

problem #1

Jul 242008

Impreza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Impreza. While driving 55 mph, the contact was forced to crash head on into a guardrail. The two frontal air bags deployed. The driver and passenger sustained first and second degree burns on their arms. They had to pour water on their arms to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was towed to a service shop and later considered to be destroyed. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 27,000. Updated 09/24/08. The consumer stated she was forced off the road. The insurance company to possession of the vehicle. Updated 09/29/08.

- Pineville, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?