Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension Problems


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,531 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Suzuki Forenza suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Suzuki Forenza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Suzuki Forenza Owner Comments

problem #11

Oct 012006


  • 100 miles


Suzuki has never sent me a recall notice: 2016 explanation- they are only going by each state's vehicle owner recorded address. I/ my car have had the same listed address since purchase. Suzuki on nihtsa shows 4 recalls; Forenza engine wiring harness is not there. What else is missing? original Forenza owner, under 47,000 miles. Repeatedly, warning lites came on with overheat. Oct.2006 engine stalled at 35mph in intersection; with multiple complaints Suzuki, aware of ewh failure, fails to do a foenza engine wiring harness recall. I see the same symptom complaints by other Forenza owners. Took 3 car stallings before diagnosis made & engine wiring harness replaced. From Oct.2006 complained of "old car creaking/ruff suspension" noises/bouncing going over any speed bumps or rolling streets. Suzuki replaced some damaged bushings but noises/bad suspension returned; I continued complaints to the dealer and Suzuki, & paid for several wheel allignments. Without informing me, Suzuki the dealer mechanic, again checking on my complaint, notes "cracked struts" about 1 month after my 3yr full waranty expired. 2012, I learned of the "old car symptom" suspension damage from a non-Suzuki mechanic reviewing the car repair history. There is now a suspension system corrosion faiure recall for 2006 vitaras but not Forenzas; same year vitara and Forenza problems seem associated issues. 2006, Suzuki recalls for overheat/fire ignition from headlights/electrical swtichs are 2 of 4 recalls listed with nihtsa. 2007-2015, I complained to Suzuki of the same symptoms (multiple failed batteries, electrical burning odors, light shorts...) Suzuki describes as high priority for repair of headlight/electrical switch. Me, unaware of recalls, Suzuki denied any responsibility!! my A/C air system, radio, and rarely used driver window shorted after episodes of battery failures in 45mph city traffic.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #10

Feb 152004


  • miles
I face the heat engine and electrical problems like the other Suzuki cars of similar models driving in the highway.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 202010

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
My strut failed and began to leak at 36000 miles. The mechanic felt that there was no reason for the strut to fail with such low mileage and suggested that we check for recalls. In spite of the fact that faulty struts are an extremely common problem and present an obvious safety risk, Suzuki has refused to acknowledge the problem or issue a recall.

- Palmyra, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 012010


  • 34,000 miles


I have 44,000 miles on my 2006 Suzuki Forenza - only 5 years old and the struts are gone! the front end of my car bounces like its on a trampoline! this should not be happening at 5 years old. Suzuki needs to make good on their bad struts on this car. I have seen lots of people complaining.. one of them at 21,000 miles.. and this hasn't been recalled" what gives" also, I can't lock my car from the outside anymore. The airbag light is always on saying its not working. This car has lots of problems and I just bought it a year ago and ready to get rid of it and buy something else. Definitely not a Suzuki ever again.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #7

Mar 012006

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
I own a 2006 Suzuki Forenza and have had numerous problems with this car. Since purchasing new in 2006, I have had the gas gauge, gas tank, radio, center console, front door handles & catalytic converter replaced. The factory tires went bad within a year, and because it is an odd tire size cost over $400 to replace. Currently the check engine light is on stating there is a problem with the catalytic converter which was just replaced about 3 months ago. I left the car overnight at the dealer & got a rental car (which cost $75) and the dealer and Suzuki tech support can not figure out why the catalytic converter error continues to show up. The power steering light is also on & I was told that it requires a sensor - not covered by warranty - that will cost over $300. I have had a problem with the engine jerking and slipping gears on acceleration. It would also stick in neutral or not change gears and hesitate to the point of moving very slowly. I was told this was an oxygen sensor which cost me over $300 to replace. I have had this problem once since. The struts - front and back - also need to be replaced which is a $1200 repair because they are leaking. Currently both front door handles are broken causing me to have to open the windows to open the doors. I have had them replaced once before under recall, but now it will cost over $200 a piece to replace. I didn't even know there was a light to indicate that the daytime running lights were working until it just appeared one day. The daytime running lights indicator won't stay on - it comes on, then goes back off. I think Suzuki needs to make good on these cars because there are so many problems.

- Durham, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Sep 172006


  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated there are many defects with the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they stated all the failures are not cover under warranty and she has to pay out of pocket for all the repairs. The defective parts are the front and rear struts, throttle body, door handle and transmission range censor. The manufacturer was not contacted. The dealer informed her they contacted the manufacturer and was told the vehicle was not covered under the warranty and she would have to pay for all repairs. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #5

Apr 102008


  • miles


Seat belt randomly unbuckles while driving all interior door handles have broken od during he first of ownership transmission slips in and out gear constantly.

- Kannapolis, NC, USA

problem #4

Jan 262008


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact noticed that the tranmission shifted eratically since purchasing it in January 2008. He first. While driving on approximately 55-60 mph, the vehicle slowed down, sped up, lunged forward and shifted into gear without warning. There was also a roaring noise on the front end of the vehicle, a clicking sound near the dashboard, and every light turned off except the check engine light. The radio and air conditioner intermittently turned off and after five minutes, they both began operating normally. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure; however, the manufacturer would not authorize the dealer to inspect or repair the vehicle. On one occasion, the windows would not close causing rain to enter inside of the vehicle, 20 minutes later he was able to close the windows; however, the vehicle began to lose power with the motor on and fully functional. The service advisor at the dealership stated that the acceleration pedal sensor could have caused the failure. The manufacturer once again authorized the dealer to disconnect the battery. The current mileage was approximately 23,800 and the failure mileage was approximately 13,000.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #3

Oct 292007

Forenza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. While driving 10 mph, the vehicle became difficult to maneuver when making a turn. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact felt that the front and rear suspensions caused the failure. As of November 13, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The powertrain was unknown. The failure mileage was 9,000 and current mileage was 11,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #2

Sep 022006

Forenza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,836 miles
2006 Suzuki Forenza with safety issues regarding loss control and sticking and engine stalling* the consumer stated the gears would stick and she has experienced several steering component failures. To this date the steering problem still had not been addressed. One month after purchasing the vehicle, it would not start, the consumer had to wait 2 minutes before trying again. The consumer could not get the vehicle to go into reverse. There was a knocking noise coming from the vehicle, the dealer stated they lubricated the sway bar bushings. The noise eventually returned. The dealer then stated that they over-lubricated the sway bar bushings.

- Columbia , SC, USA

problem #1

Jan 102007

Forenza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,805 miles
1. 4-26-2006, car repaired, found that the purge valve has an internal failure. R&R purge valve to correct. 2. 10-24-2006, car repaired, found code PO705 trans range switch, open intermittent. R&R trans range switch to correct. 3. 12-21-2006, car repaired, power steering light on. Found needle angle sensor part -3721-085Z00. Suzuki ordered part and still waiting for the part to be placed in car. 4. 12-29-2006, car repaired. Complaint was roaring noise and rmp needle going close to 5 and heat index exactly in the middle. The only repair done was R&R right wheel bearing in front and replaced hub. When on 1-10-2007 they called to pick up car all repairs done, I went and they told me that the car is sounding worse and it could possibly be a coupling by the tire and that I need a front wheel alignment and that's why I am having all these problems and that there is nothing wrong or found with the rmp needle going close to 5. I drove the car out and talked to another mechanic plus the owner of speedee's and they all laughed, and said that's not right and I would not go back. In driving the car now it really sounds bad and embarrassing, and sometimes it will not go past the speed I'm on while driving unless I release the brakes and press the gas again. The mechanic states not safety issue.

- Providence Village, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?