Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train Problems

2008 Suzuki Forenza (Page 1 of 4)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,117 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Suzuki Forenza drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Suzuki Forenza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Suzuki Forenza Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Sep 292016

Forenza

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission range sensor on Suzuki Forenzas and other models has been shoddy at best. My car currently has 65000 miles on it and I have replaced the trs 3 times getting ready to be a 4th. This is not a sensor that should need replaced regularly. I have had the vehicle slip out of gear at speed due to this and can never accelerate when I need to. Im afraid that if I need to accelerate to avoid a collision I wont be able to. This is a safety hazard and NHTSA needs to investigate. They have more then enough complaints to see this is an issue and they need to act before someone gets killed.

- York, PA, USA

problem #64

Sep 222016

Forenza

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. While stopped at a red light, the vehicle lost power and the transmission icon illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was restarted and driven to the contact's residence. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 82,000.

- Avondale, WV, USA

problem #63

Aug 222016

Forenza

  • 63,350 miles
I have already replaced the transmission range sensor once in October of 2014 and it is acting up again now. When I am driving the car jerks when it is shifting gears and on a couple occasions it has just switched into neutral for no reason while the car is still in motion. The most recent time was on my home from work on 8/22/16. I had to pull over and stop and start my car a few times to reset the problem. The part should not have to be replaced every couple years. This is a safety hazard and this needs to be fixed by Suzuki.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #62

Jun 202009

Forenza

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission range sensor failure.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #61

Nov 172015

Forenza

  • 82,500 miles
The "trans range switch" is causing my car to jump to 2 gear randomly. The car seems to run fine after O start it. And out of no were the engine jumps and the "engine light" comes on the car acts likes its not in 1st gear. It can't get it to go into gear (drive or reverse) without it jumping. Then after the car sits for a day it acts fine for the first trip and then it starts the same problem again afterwards. I can't go uphill either without it reaving high like its in neutral. I think this is the "trans range switch" going bad.

- Tarpon Springs, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #60

Sep 152015

Forenza

  • 94,477 miles
The "trans range switch" is causing my car to jump to 2 gear randomly. The car seems to run fine after O start it. And out of no were the engine jumps and the "engine light" comes on the car acts likes its not in 1st gear. It can't get it to go into gear (drive or reverse) without it jumping. Then after the car sits for a day it acts fine for the first trip and then it starts the same problem again afterwards. I can't go uphill either without it reaving high like its in neutral. I think this is the "trans range switch" going bad.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #59

Oct 222015

Forenza

  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is not the first time this has occurred. I had been traveling home as normal, all of a sudden the car started jerking. Look down at my gear selection viewer and it was scrambled showing a D and a R overlapping each other flashing. This happens periodically causing the car to stall in the middle of traffic. I am not the first person to have the problem with this specific model of car. The events that occurred are very dangerous for myself and my family and whomever else this is affecting.

- Altamont, TN, USA

problem #58

Jul 152013

Forenza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,844 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the accelerator pedal was engaged and failed to respond as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine wire harness and the engine control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,844. Updated 6/11/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired by replacing the engine wire harness. Updated 7/16/2015

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #57

Oct 022014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 58,230 miles
I was driving on the interstate and just passed a semi truck going about 65 mph and then my car suddenly switched gears into neutral on it's own. I was able to pull over to the side of the road safely and restart the car a couple times for it to reset and go back to normal. I was on my way to the dealership when this incident occurred. There had been an issue with the park/neutral switch previously in my car but this was the first time that the gear switched while I was driving and not when I first started the car and put it into gear. That had happened frequently when I started the car and put it in drive but it said it was in neutral but then after a couple restarts it would reset and work correctly for a little while before it happened again. Once I replaced that switch I haven't been having any issues with it again so far. Now I'm just dealing with the power locks sticking and locking on their own (the guy at the dealership mentioned that problem three years ago when I bought the car but only now am I having that issue) and also the driver's seat belt not staying fastened when I first click it. It finally does after jiggling it a little bit.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #56

Nov 152014

Forenza

  • 80,200 miles
The check engine light came on when putting my car into reverse. The car would jump whenever putting it in reverse or drive. I had a scanner put on it and the codes came out to be the transmission range sensor. The check engine light will continue to go on and off depending on how much I drive it. I am being told this is not under the power train warranty. This needs to be as it is affecting the power train.

- Waynesboro, PA, USA

problem #55

Nov 082012

Forenza

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle failed to accelerate as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #54

Nov 092012

Forenza

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated when driving at various speeds, the vehicle would fail to accelerate as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #53

Jun 302014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I've both my car back in September 2007 and in October 2008 I took my car to the Suzuki dealership in wheaton Maryland because the gear when put on reverse the car would jump and the dashboard would not go R for reverse it would blink both R and D and then when put on drive would drive on first gear. I was told that it was an electrical/sensor problem and they fix it. Started happening again late May 2014 every so often and by late June it was happening all the time.

- Greenbelt, MD, USA

problem #52

May 012014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 38,457 miles
I started the car. Let it idle for a minute to bring the RPM down. I tried to shift it to reverse but it would not go. It had an engine warning light on. I shifted back to park and turned the car off. I let it set for a minute then restarted it. When I shifted again, it clunked and would barely move. I shifted to drive and it clunked and would barely move. I am a single 55 year old woman. I work 2 jobs and live 8 miles out of town. I can't afford to have this car down. I bought it because of the low mileage. It only has 39,000 miles.

- Lovington, NM, USA

problem #51

May 192014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
When my Suzuki Forenza 2008 hit around 60,000 miles I started having sporadic transmission issues, including not being able to reverse properly, mechanical sounds when shifting gears, not able to accelerate when on drive, it was very stiff and difficult to accelerate, my brother has the same vehicle and had this exact same issue and it turned out it was the transmission range sensor. I took it to the dealer and it was the exact problem, I had to replace my transmission range sensor and I currently have an internal failure with my transmission and I do not plan on investing any more money towards this vehicle as I have read that many drivers have gone this route and absolutely regretted it because of the continuing problems with the transmission and other issues.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #50

Jan 102014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 75,600 miles
Starting in January 2014 car had approximately 75,000 miles on it and began lurching into gear from stopped. When put into reverse, jumps into gear. When put into drive after backing out of driveway lurches forward starting in 3rd gear and continues during driving. Husband diagnosed after much online research and a few months later, even taking code into dealership for repair. Dealer insisted they couldn't replicate and cleared code without making note of problem. My husband argued that we wouldn't be picking car up until the problem was replicated and taken care of. After insisting they couldn't replicate, we drove back to dealership and made service manager ride with husband until car "performed" malfunction, literally a half of a block from dealership. It was obvious they were avoiding problem and hadn't driven car at all! code was noted as 0700, just as my husband had reported initially. Transmission sensor was replaced and after diagnostics were finally properly performed, airbag light was also reset (has continued to come on almost entire time we've owned the car-were told our daughters long legs were kicking wires underneath drivers' side seat) and also made aware voltage is too high on drivers side but nothing was done to fix either. Dealership offered no solution. Spent $191.65 to fix transmission sensor. Originally charging $260+ but husband demanded reduction in diagnostic price due to the fact we had to drive back into town to dealership to duplicate problem for incompetent/unwilling service department. Very unsatisfied and will be looking into options after seeing transmission range sensor seems to be ongoing epidemic for many 2008 Suzuki Forenza owners. Have also had ongoing problems with seat airbag sensor not working on front passenger's side since 2009.

- Mulvane, KS, USA

problem #49

Nov 132013

Forenza

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated while driving at any speed, the vehicle would shift out of gear and fail to accelerate. The contact stated that the vehicle would pull in reverse, shift gears and would not return to the proper gear. The problem recurred three times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Belton, SC, USA

problem #48

Apr 012014

Forenza

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while shifting gears, the vehicle lunged forward. The contact also stated that the vehicle erroneously shifted into neutral. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,000 and the current mileage was 111,027.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #47

Sep 012013

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while he shifted gears he heard a noise and the gear shifter could not be released from second or third gear. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised that the transmission sensor was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 70,884.

- 201 Jay Street Stowe, PA, USA

problem #46

Oct 102013

Forenza

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph when the vehicle would not accelerate as the check engine light illuminated. The contact stated the dealer was contacted and the transmission range switch was replaced, remedying the defect. The contact was unable to contact the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Lebanon, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?