Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

2004 Suzuki Verona (Page 1 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,657 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Suzuki Verona engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Suzuki Verona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Suzuki Verona Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

Mar 012011

Verona 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am having serious problems with my lifters where there is a continuous rattling sound, as well as a continuous tapping sound. I was never informed when I purchased my car brand new in November 2004 that there were any recalls on this vehicle as I have never received any information.

- Country Club Hills, IL, USA

problem #42

Jul 112002

Verona

  • 83,400 miles
Suzuki Verona 2004 purchased the car new had engine replaced and on 3 rd transmission. Car recently was parked with a child inside of it and went up in flames fortunately no one was injured. Car was destroyed and total. Suzuki has had major issues with this vehicle and refuse to do anything. This car is a death trap waiting to happen. I had the serviced regularly and had a certified Suzuki dealership to do all warrant work on vehicle and it was regularly serviced.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #41

Aug 172007

Verona

  • 39,000 miles
I purchased my 2004 Suzuki Verona on Jan. 30, 2007. From the second day I own it, it has made noise like it was a diesel engine. I was told that the ticking sound coming from the top end of the motor was normal, that it was the self adjusting cam gears. I could hear a rod knocking in the lower end of the motor but no one at the service department could hear it and their trained to hear these type of things. Suzuki supposedly rebuilt the top end of the motor but the ticking continued. They then were supposedly to have replaced the short block ( the lower end of the motor) but the rod continues to knock to this day. The car has died at speeds between 35 mph up to 70 mph. It died one day as I was making a left hand turn and I was barely able to avoid being broad sided by an on-coming vehicle where my mother could have been injured or killed. The car also surges forward sometimes when trying to stop or sitting still. It dies sometimes at take off causing me to nearly be rear ended quit a few times. I sued Suzuki for breech of warranty and even though I did not get awarded what they should have had to pay, they did pay, admitting guilt. Suzuki lies about work performed, they avoid doing work that is necessary. And then they deny all previous lies that they have told. And they claim to have one of the best warranties in America.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #40

May 142008

Verona

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Suzuki Verona warranty issues. Consumer had a problem with the dealership and charges for the repairs to his vehicle. The consumer stated the check light had illuminated. A diagnosis determined there was a problem with the fuel sensor and egr valve. The vehicle continued to stall out in traffic sporadically and the tachometer jumped up and down. The dealership could not find any codes showing problems and the check engine light did not come on again. The consumer was also advised transmission fluid was leaking and the radiator and lines needed to be replaced.

- Piffard, NY, USA

problem #39

Jul 152008

Verona

  • 78,790 miles
Periodic low idle miss occurred first for the last several months, occasionally, the check engine light would come on with it for a very short time. Now, the engine stalls out at traffic stops. Have recently been experiencing a forward surge upon pressing on the gas feed from a stop or low speed. I feel that my safety is at risk, I am afraid to make a left turn for fear the car will stop in front of oncoming traffic, be rear ended, or I could surge forward into another vehicle or pedestrian. I do not get any type of warning that this about to occur (the check engine light does not come on typically, and if it does come on occasionally with this problem, it does not light up until after the surge or power failure occurs. I am contacting the local dealership (52 miles away is the closest one).

- Woodland, PA, USA

problem #38

May 012008

Verona 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Suzuki Verona problems with jolting after being stopped. Consumer states that when the accelerator was depressed the engine would not register it right away until about 3 seconds or so then the vehicle would lurch forward. The consumer also stated the check engine light would illuminate as well. While driving, suddenly the vehicle started dropping speed, the engine was running; there was simply no connection between the running engine and the gas pedal. Because the consumer had the cruise control set, the gas pedal lodged into the floor board trying to maintain cruising speed. Several components were replaced to try and resolve the problem such as the transmission, head gaskets, PCV, fuel pressure regulator, fuel pump, catalytic converter, and O2 sensor. The ABS light illumined in October 2006. In March 2007 a new ABS module was installed.

- Evansville, WI, USA

problem #37

Jan 052005

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I first bought this car in Dec 2004 I have had problems, the car was bought brand new the car has repeatedly cutoff in the middle of traffic, equipment failure that some how can never be duplicated when it is taken to the dealer. Suzuki and the dealership I purchased the car from are aware of the problems that I have had with this car. The cutting off has been going on for almost 3 years without it properly being fixed. This car is a lemon after all the problems I have experienced with this car the company stopped making them a year after I purchased mine, this was according to the dealership that I purchased my Verona from. Within 15-30 days of having the vehicle the problems started, it was in the shop enough that we were told one more time and the dealership would have to swap us out with a new one, we did not want a new one we wanted our money back, however the owner of the dealership refused. We have been attempting to get this matter taken care of with this car, it is no longer under warranty so all expenses have to be paid by me, but it is the same problems that I have been dealing with for 3 years.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #36

Jul 152007

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
Vehicle randomly stalls while driving, resulting loss poor brakes and steering.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #35

Nov 012004

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Suzuki Verona. The vehicle stalled when it was idle and when she attempted to accelerate at a stop sign. This has occurred since she purchased the vehicle. The failure does not occur at highway speeds; however, she is uncomfortable with the safety risk involved when the vehicle lost power. On four occasions, the dealer stated that the code isn't being read by the machine and the check engine light is not illuminated. The failure mileage was 11,000 and the current mileage was 25,000.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #34

Apr 102006

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am the owner of a 2004 Suzuki Verona. Within 2 weeks of purchase this car has been in the shop up to at least 20 times. Check engine light goes on and off every other day or so. That really did not bother me so much. Last winter the car decided to not accept fuel. They fixed the problem after about 2 weeks. For the last 4 or more months this car stalls, it surges, it accelerates above 3000 RPM at stop lights, it almost or does die at intersections, it just decides to not go 60 and slows you down to 40 like the brakes have come on. I carry around my 4 year old everyday in this car I work 60 miles from my home. Everyday I do not know what this car will do and it scares me that my son and I will be in an accident or how will it be like on ice and snow this winter. This car takes a big chunk of my paycheck and I feel it would be better if I didn't drive this car. Suzuki this car is a joke never again would I ever buy another Suzuki anything. I believe this calls for some action on all these people in this situation. Make it right Suzuki.

- Brunswick, NE, USA

problem #33

Jan 052006

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has ran poorly since about 2 months after purchase. Constant vibration in steering wheel and under vehicle. Have had stalling issues and acceleration issues. Have taken to dealer several times and they can never duplicate problem. They are now blaming the problem on "faulty tires". have had tires replaced and no improvement to drivability of car. Have almost been hit 2 times in traffic due to acceleration problems. Dealer refusing to work on vehicle now even though under warranty. Also problem with radio controls on steering wheel. Although the part was replaced, 2 weeks later I am experiencing the same problem.

- Franklin, IN, USA

problem #32

Apr 292005

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,600 miles
I have a 2004 Suzuki Verona purchased May 2004 from tao Suzuki, fuquay varina, nc. Almost from the start the vehicle has had a history of frequently running rough and/or stalling out. A couple of times I almost got hit by other vehicles as a result of the stalling. Dealer has made adjustments to the fuel M ixture and stated that it should be fine. It continues to occasionally run rough and also stalls out. The latest incident was today, 29 April 2005. I feel it is a potential hazard to drive.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #31

Mar 242005

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving the vehicle stalls, and experiences engine failure. There is a recall which explains what is happening with the vehicle. Recall number 04V396000/engine stalling. Also, please provide the correct vehicle identification number.

- Channahon, IL, USA

problem #30

Aug 272004

Verona

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving the consumer's 2004 Suzuki Verona stalled.

- Joshua Hills, CA, USA

problem #29

Sep 132004

Verona

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Consumer received NHTSA recall 04V396000F concerning engine stalling. After taking the vehicle to the dealer twice vehicle still stalled.

- Trinity, NC, USA

problem #28

Mar 032005

Verona 6-cyl

  • 7,757 miles
I have 2004 Suzuki Verona ex which was bought in Oct 2004, I have had problems starting it, I have crank it over tow or three to start it, also when trying to pass a other cars, car will lose power, took it to the dealer, on Mar 3 2004 they call Suzuki and told them to run inspect for a oil leak. Leak was found case #1778-8857 was opened. Then ran compression check to see if catalyic covertors were damaged and found the readings to be as low as 170lbs. They replaced the cylinder head, gasketse, both manifolds both oxygen SE and the catalylic covnertors, also repalce the turnsingal swicth. I pick up on a Friday 18 2004 and it was back in the shop monday21,2004 for the same problem and this time the check engine light was on.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #27

Jul 142004

Verona

  • miles
The consumer's vehicle stalled while and resulted in an accident. The PCM was replaced. The rear brake lights would not turn off. The stalling problem was recurrent. Other problems were; the vehicle would cut off in traffic, the vehicle made noises when the A/C was on and when turning right or left. The oil seal, gasket and engine assembly was replaced due to en an engine knock.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #26

Oct 042004

Verona

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vwhile driving vehicle continued to stall and shut off. Once brakes were applied the brakes this also happened. Consumer stated manufacturer said therewas nothing they could do.

- Soledad, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 072005

Verona

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA campaign 04V396000; suzuku issued an engine stalling recall. This vehicle was included in recall, but still continued to have electrical problems, which could cause the vehicle to stall.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #24

Dec 292004

Verona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,007 miles
NHTSA campaign 04V396000; Suzuki issued an engine stalling recall. This vehicle was not included in the recall, due to VIN. But, it stalled, and the check engine light came on.......also, replaced intake manifold and oxygen sensor.

- Millville, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?