Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW 328 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW 328:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW 328 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Feb 032014

328

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact stated that the air bag sensor and seat belt sensor illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer who diagnosed that the front passenger side occupant detection mat needed to be replaced. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #35

Aug 272014

328 6-cyl

  • miles
Fault code "passenger restraint system malfunction" appears on the vehicle. No accident the code is faulty. Code could affect the passenger if vehicle was involved in collision.

- Wahiawa, HI, USA

problem #34

Aug 012014

328 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Air bag and seat belt warning lights on dash remain lit at all times. Additionally, the "passenger airbag disabled" indicator remains lit at all times. There is a recall campaign for the passenger seat sensor mat issue which caused these problems, yet apparently not for my VIN. The disabled passenger seat airbag is a major safety issue, and clearly my VIN should be part of the recall.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #33

Jul 232014

328

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Person kneeled on passenger seat and the seat restraint warning light came on. This part is being replaced under warranty for some 2007 BMW's but not my VIN.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #32

Jul 032014

328

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Aug 012014

328

  • 78,556 miles
Passenger seat sensor failed (code 93C3), disabling potential airbag deployment. Apparently this particular VIN is not included in the current recall for this vehicle. Please expand this recall. BMW has refused to fix the problem under the recall, so we paid nearly $1,200 to replace the faulty OC3 mat.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #30

Jun 182014

328 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact stated that the air bag sensor was not functioning properly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the mat sensor system needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 50,000....updated 09-05-14 updated 12/18/2014

- Cranbury, NJ, USA

problem #29

Jul 142014

328 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
Front passenger air bag light came on. Not part of the recall" not the specific to the VIN? BMW dealer said it the seat pan cushin? different part? is this not a safety issue"

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #28

Sep 152011

328 6-cyl

  • miles
There has been a recall on my vehicle model (2007 BMW 328I) for cracks developing in the "front passenger seat occupant detection mat". this causes the passenger side airbag to be deactivated during a crash (NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000). I called BMW and they say that my particular vehicle is not covered under this recall. I really do not understand why my particular vehicle is not covered when my exact model is covered under the recall and the issue with my car is exactly the same. I feel this is very unfair. Please help me out here. I fear the worst because now I am married and I have a passenger more often than before. I really cannot afford $1000 right now to fix an issue that should be covered by BMW.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #27

Jun 202014

328 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Warning light came on so we took the care to a technician who found the following fault code: "-93C3 seat occupancy detector, passenger, currently present, 95X0". this failure seems to be extremely common with this vehicle. When I contacted BMW customer relations, they stated: "thank you for contacting BMW of North America, llc regarding our amended voluntary recall announcement for the front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat for certain 2006-2007 models depending upon seat type. Included 3 series are 2006-2007 3 series sedans with sports seats that were produced between December 2005 żż September 2006. Recalls are specific to a vehicle's identification number (VIN) based on the above criteria, and does not have this recall. I suggest continuing to work with the service team at your authorized BMW center to review any concerns you may have with your vehicle." Can you please investigate this and consider more vehicles for this recall? also, please let me know if I have any recourse for reimbursement if I go ahead and have the vehicle repaired at my own cost. Thank you!

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #26

Dec 102013

328 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact stated that the passenger air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the passenger air bag sensor mat was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage was 75,338. Updated 8/27/14 updated 8/29/2014

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #25

Nov 202013

328

  • 65,000 miles
BMW recall dated 11/12/2013, NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000. Recall up to 76,565 units for failures of front seat occupant protection mat. Air bag will not deploy in the event of an accident. Contacted BMW and told my VIN does not fall into BMW range but I've been experiencing the exact failure since purchasing the vehicle used in 10/2013. BMW has likely not identified the true VIN range of vehicles impacted by defective occupancy mats and refuses to pay for replacement.

- Ephrata, PA, USA

problem #24

Mar 192014

328 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated in the vehicle. The dealer stated that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 112,000. Updated 8/28/14 updated 09/16/2014

- Catonsville , MD, USA

problem #23

Sep 192012

328 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The airbag sensor on my 2007 BMW 328I is malfunctioning. It matches the exact description as the recall and other filed complaints. However, BMW insists that my VIN is not covered by the recall.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #22

Apr 282014

328 6-cyl

  • 91,500 miles
Passenger restraint malfunction, airbags disabled. Front passenger seat mat failure.

- Scotts Valley, CA, USA

problem #21

Apr 252014

328 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
When I was driving and at the stop light, when I was about to go and the air bags came on and the sound ding, ding, ding, and the air bags light came on the dash? when I take it to my local shop and let them run OB2 scanner and it came up on the OB2 scanner it was the passenger side air bags mat sensor.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #20

Apr 132014

328 6-cyl

  • 103,243 miles
After cleaning my car I tried to start it, when suddenly a warning light popped up indicating that there was a passenger restraint malfunction. The warning, further indicated that all seat belt be worn immediately when driving. I took it to the BMW dealership only to find out after paying for diagnosis fee, that there was an internal fault in the rollover protection controller thereby affecting the deployment of airbags in case of a crash.the dealership told me this safety feature for convertibles wasn't under dealership warranty. This a safety issue and should be addressed as such, I would think.

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #19

Oct 012013

328 6-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
Passenger seat airbag sensor is on. There are other 2007 with the same symptoms but my BMW dealership is telling me that my car wasn't part of the recall.

- Glen Arm, MD, USA

problem #18

Sep 152012

328 6-cyl

  • 87,844 miles
I unlocked the car and sat in the driver's seat. My wife sat in the front passenger seat. I inserted the keyfob and pushed the 'start' button. The car turned on and about 5 seconds later we heard a 'gong' sound. We looked at the screen and it was showing a red warning about the front passenger airbag being disabled. I powered off the car, waited a minute and powered it back on. Same error came up. So I powered off the car a second time, asked the wife to get out of the car and then back onto the front passenger seat, then I powered on the car. The error went away. We drove 15 minutes to dinner, ate and returned home without further incident. That night I setup an appointment with global imports BMW for 9/12/2012 to have them look at it. The dealer ran diagnostics and reported the following in regards to the front passenger seat issue: "87844 performed short test and found fault mrs-93C3. Performed test module and found the passenger seat mat to be defective. Customer declined the seat mat replacement." Next to this I had the service manager write in the total repair cost, $1,345.70. I still have a copy of the paperwork with the details if needed. I declined the repair at the time because I felt the fact they found "...the seat mat to be defective" indicated a known issue. Fast forward to today 4/11/2014, NHTSA lists a "recall subject : front seat occupant protection mat" campaign number 13V564000. I called BMW usa's customer relations number and they told me my car had no recalls associated with it even though there's clearly an issue with the sensor mat. To this day I have yet to receive any recall letters from BMW nor NHTSA. The car still brings up this error when my wife sits in the front passenger seat. It's not safe and I should not have to pay for repairs if there's an active recall for this model year. Please help.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #17

Apr 072014

328

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was diagnosed that the front passengers side floor mat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was scheduled to be repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags) but the contact stated that the vehicle exhibited the same failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78000.

- Stony Point, NY, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?