Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW 328 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW 328:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW 328 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #96

Feb 052016

328

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I have contact the BMW center to fix the problem but they don't have the parts, its been more than 9 months.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #95

Feb 052016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #94

Mar 012016

328

  • 24,000 miles
Many months ago a recall was issued for 2007 BMW 3281I cars. Nothing happened. This spring (2016) I contacted the dealer, who said it had heard nothing from BMW. Is NHTSA monitoring BMW" if not, why not" it's not beyond the realm for both parties to hope that the issue will be forgotten about and it will go away. My dealer is BMW of fairfax, Virginia. Both dealer and distributor need to be told to move forward with the recall.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #93

Feb 052016

328

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - recall issued February 2016. Called BMW of North America on September 14, 2016 to check status of recall and obtain resolution. Requested replacement parts be expedited and BMW agreed. Business was to call me to provide details on expected date BMW of san diego would receive parts. Never received a call. I called back 3 days later and left a message with no return call. On 10/24/16 I called BMW of na to obtain an update. Was told the case was still open and should have been expedited within 2 weeks of initial call. I requested an alternative mode of transportation and was told sometimes they can get authorization for a loaner car, so my case was escalated to a case manager. Received a call same day and was now told they ran out of parts and may get parts early 2017! alternative transportation would not be provided because the federal government does not require BMW to do so. The air bag may or may not fail, but research was done that failure is not likely. So try again next year. I'm receiving the run around with a different answer each time. I do not feel safe that the vehicle air bag may fail. BMW is not taking responsibility for the recall or any "promises" they may or may not have done. I don't understand why other companies such as Toyota and Honda are concerned for their clients and provide alternate transportation to ensure safety. Their risky air bags are on the passenger side which at least gives you the option to drive alone. BMW faulty air bags are on the driver side. I have 2 small children in the vehicle and am concerned for their safety and mine. I expect resolution and BMW has provided nothing but excuses and different stories each time. Highly disappointed with their customer service in handling this major recall.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #92

Oct 102016

328

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact observed that the air bag and seat belt warning indicators illuminated after hard braking. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #91

Mar 012016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #90

Oct 112016

328

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: A safety recall notice from BMW was issued in March of 2016. As of October 11th, 2016, BMW North America llc. Still can not provide an estimated time of repair or replacement. They have not remedied the situation at all and will not offer alternative methods to help customers with the potentially death causing airbag explosions. BMW North America llc is acting in bad faith, allowing and instructing their customers to continue driving their vehicles while being aware that they could cause death to the driver. (source - phone call with recall campaign escalation manager for BMW North America)

- Westlake Village, CA, USA

problem #89

Apr 052016

328

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Averill Park, NY, USA

problem #88

Sep 272016

328

  • miles
Takata recall dealership will not perform recall, gives misleading information, and contradicts information from BMW usa. Advantage BMW (mid-town) 2101 san jacinto St houston, tx I originally contacted the dealership in March 2016 regarding the takata airbag recall and was told that no parts/fix was available and I would be contacted shortly when my car could be scheduled for an appointment. I followed up with them on May 18th after their were multiple deaths in the region reported as a result of this issue. Since then I've contacted advantage on 7/11, 7/18, 7/25, and multiple times in Aug/Sep. Each time I would be "added to the list for the service manager" though each time they can't find my name on the list. I finally contacted BMW usa about the problems I was having and was contacted by them. They told me they could provide interim parts but that this would close out the recall and I would be unable for the final repair. I told them this wasn't acceptable and they told me to request a loaner vehicle from advantage BMW. I did this and it took a week for the service director to get back to me and told me that parts were available to complete the recall. I asked if these were final or interim and they said they would contact BMW usa to find out. After not hearing back from them, I contacted BMW usa to confirm they were interim, which they were. When I told this to advantage BMW they told me to come in for a rental car. I came in, wasting a day of my time, was forced to fill out all of the paperwork and then at the last minute was refused a rental vehicle because they said I was forced to use the interim parts. As a mechanical engineer who worked for years in the auto industry I really don't feel safe driving my family around in a BMW. After the recent deaths I'm very concerned by the lack of action and the run-around I am being given.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #87

Feb 052016

328 6-cyl

  • miles
Got my recall notice in March 2016, it has been six months of driving with a potential life threatening issue and still have not been able to get the defective driver air bag replaced. Looking for an immediate solution. Thank you.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #86

Sep 202016

328

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall upon receiving the initial letter informing me of my car having the takata recall earlier this year (2016), I have been waiting for BMW to inform me when the parts are available to fix the issue. It is now September, I have checked online with BMW usa and it stated that the remedy was available. After seeing online that the remedy was available for the open recall on my vehicle I contacted BMW customer relations via email requesting further information on this matter on how to resolve this issue. I did not hear anything back from them. So I contact the hotline and spoke with a lady named jessica on 9-20-16, she stated that the website was giving me wrong information, that in fact the parts to fix my car were not available and that it could take up to December of 2016 being the earliest it could be fixed, or well into 2017. The issue is that this is my only means of transportation, if I get into a small fender bender, I could potentially have my airbag deploy and cause serious harm or death upon me or a passenger. I was told the gulf states (high hummidty areas) would be among the first regions to have these vehicles fixed, I live in mobile, al. The relative humidity in my city typically ranges from 45% (comfortable) to 94% (very humid) over the course of the year, rarely dropping below 23% (dry) and reaching as high as 100% (very humid). On average it could be around 86% humidity by 6 am and 56% humidity by 3 pm. We have a warm humid temperature climate with very hot summers and no dry season... why has my vehicle not been fixed yet with me residing in a largely known humid city? I was told by jessica with BMW that I would be put to the top of the priority list within their database for my vehicle to be fixed and that a case worker would follow up with me..I have not heard anything yet. This issue must be fixed asap before myself or someone gets hurt

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #85

Feb 052016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #84

Mar 012016

328

  • miles
Takata recall we received notification of need for installation of new airbags in March 2016. We went into dealer 2X but no parts are available. It is six months later, and still we have received no notification that replacement for faulty airbag is available. This could result in fatal consequences, the official notice from BMW stated. The delay is dangerous and unconscionable.

- South Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #83

Aug 312016

328

  • miles
Takata recall: No parts available in salt lake after about a year from the first notice received.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #82

Mar 072016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #81

Jun 252016

328

  • miles
I have phoned towson BMW on at least 2 occasions and requested the recall repair, but they state that I will have to wait for them to call me about it. This is a dangerous condition and should be fixed asap!

- Lutherville, MD, USA

problem #80

Mar 182016

328 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.....updated 09/08/16

- Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #79

Feb 012016

328

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact stated that the front seat occupant protection mat sensor failed and caused the air bag, seat belt, and passenger side disabled sensor lights to illuminate when operating the vehicle. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Marritta, GA, USA

problem #78

Jan 222016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available...updated 10/18/16

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #77

Jan 012015

328

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and dealer where it was diagnosed that the front passenger side air bag sensor was inoperable. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Newark, DE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?