Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,430 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW 328 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW 328:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW 328 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Feb 012016


  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact stated that the front seat occupant protection mat sensor failed and caused the air bag, seat belt, and passenger side disabled sensor lights to illuminate when operating the vehicle. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Marritta, GA, USA

problem #22

Jan 052015


  • 62,347 miles
Passenger seat detection mat not working. Seat has been relatively empty fpr years faulty product.. dangerous for a passenger when I have one. Air bag may not go off in an accident due to the faulty mat detection I feel BMW should be held accountable for this. They say my car is not covered due to they only cover certain VIN's for that year..

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

Jan 062016


  • 142,700 miles
Left work at 4:30pm on 01/06/2016, as we turned out of parking lot my 2007 BMW 328I just died in mid traffic. This occurence happened twice before but stalled multiple time on way back home. On the 6th of Jan, the car began to overheat and burning of battery smell. Car was towed as id codes were checked and all signs have pointed to system failure. Upon further review, 6 open recalls was researched using multiple VIN report sites paid and free including recall. We were then told to contact the BMW consumer and we were told that if there is no warranty due to past milage, recalls were not obligated by BMW consumer. I have already contacted fabbrini law office here in Chicago regarding our federal rights in being in a safe car. How many links do we need to post in which stalling and electrical problems have been noted on bmws own company website. We simply ask that BMW consumer llc listen to this complaint like the many others who are being put in unsafe vehicles and we ask that you apply your three prong rule regarding safety hazards such as these that warrant a refund with deappreciation added, replacement of vehicle or simply repair the recalls that have been noted in the last decade affecting more than millions who are loyal to your product. We intially had a 2005 BMW 325I that had recalls and we were not helped then and traded vehicles for yet another BMW with the hopes of better luck.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #20

Jun 172013


  • miles


This inquiry is regarding NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 and associated recall subject: Front seat occupant protection mat. Vehicle VIN# KP35910 was excluded from the recall despite meeting the qualification criteria for this recall. Malfunction of the passenger restraint system was diagnosed by BMW of seattle on 06/17/2013. Particularly BMW of seattle stated the following: "passenger seat occupancy detector connected battery charger and performed system test found sensor faulty. Seat occupancy sensor faulty. Evidence report of the issue diagnostic is attached to this email communication. Failed restraint system in the vehicle VIN# KP35910 inadvertently deactivated the front passenger air bag that now in the event of a crash increases the risk of personal injury. Manufacturer should take full responsibility in remedying this manufacturer's defect that pose great safety risk to vehicles occupants. Because vehicle VIN# KP35910 meets the recall criteria of other vehicles in the recall category and it exhibits exactly the same defects with the passenger restraint system that is subject of the recall, BMW northwest must include VIN# KP35910 into recall and repair the defective seat occupancy sensor.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #19

Jan 072015


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the seat belt indicator illuminated with a beeping noise. The contact mentioned the failure occurred whether the seat belt was latched or not. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnose that the occupancy mat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Salem, OR, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Jan 132015


  • 81,000 miles
I've read there's a recall on 3 sorties but not all via have been added yet. My VIN [xxx] I'm having the seatbelt restraint error out of nowhere and my car won't start. Only 81000 miles. Been riding my bike to work please help me out here. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #17

Jun 112008

328 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles


The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. While driving approximately 35 mph, the front passenger side seat belt webbing would retract and excessively tighten on its own. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The contact was uncertain what part would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 3,500. Updated 7/1/15

- Elgin, SC, USA

problem #16

Jan 192015


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 328I. The contact stated that the fasten seat belt and airbag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the seat occupant detection mat failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate mileage was 70,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #15

Nov 012014


  • 110,000 miles
A light on my dashboard came up saying that my passenger airbag was not functioning correctly.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #14

May 222013

328 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The air bag and seat belt lights have been on for about a year now. There is a safety recall listing my vehicle make, model and year. I have contacted bmwusa and a local BMW dealership with both claiming my vehicle is not included in the recall. However, my vehicle make, model, year and vehicle production date is specifically listed in the recall notice listed on the NHTSA website. I don't understand why it is listed or why BMW is not assisting further.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Jul 012014

328 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles


The contact owns 2007 BMW 328xi. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the passenger's side air bag sensor had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 10/24/2014 the consumer stated the there was a recall on model years 1999-2006. The consumer feels 2007 model year vehicles should be included in the recall as well. Updated 4/20/2015

- South River, NJ, USA

problem #12

Aug 272014

328 6-cyl

  • miles
Fault code "passenger restraint system malfunction" appears on the vehicle. No accident the code is faulty. Code could affect the passenger if vehicle was involved in collision.

- Wahiawa, HI, USA

problem #11

Aug 012014


  • 78,556 miles
Passenger seat sensor failed (code 93C3), disabling potential airbag deployment. Apparently this particular VIN is not included in the current recall for this vehicle. Please expand this recall. BMW has refused to fix the problem under the recall, so we paid nearly $1,200 to replace the faulty OC3 mat.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 202014

328 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Warning light came on so we took the care to a technician who found the following fault code: "-93C3 seat occupancy detector, passenger, currently present, 95X0". this failure seems to be extremely common with this vehicle. When I contacted BMW customer relations, they stated: "thank you for contacting BMW of North America, llc regarding our amended voluntary recall announcement for the front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat for certain 2006-2007 models depending upon seat type. Included 3 series are 2006-2007 3 series sedans with sports seats that were produced between December 2005 żż September 2006. Recalls are specific to a vehicle's identification number (VIN) based on the above criteria, and does not have this recall. I suggest continuing to work with the service team at your authorized BMW center to review any concerns you may have with your vehicle." Can you please investigate this and consider more vehicles for this recall? also, please let me know if I have any recourse for reimbursement if I go ahead and have the vehicle repaired at my own cost. Thank you!

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 202013


  • 65,000 miles
BMW recall dated 11/12/2013, NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000. Recall up to 76,565 units for failures of front seat occupant protection mat. Air bag will not deploy in the event of an accident. Contacted BMW and told my VIN does not fall into BMW range but I've been experiencing the exact failure since purchasing the vehicle used in 10/2013. BMW has likely not identified the true VIN range of vehicles impacted by defective occupancy mats and refuses to pay for replacement.

- Ephrata, PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 282014

328 6-cyl

  • 91,500 miles
Passenger restraint malfunction, airbags disabled. Front passenger seat mat failure.

- Scotts Valley, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 152013


  • 90,000 miles
I own a BMW 3 series 2007 that I purchased 3 years ago with a dealer. Six weeks ago a dash board light came on with a message "pass restraint system malfunction". a detailed message says "fault in passenger-restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt-force limiter. Continue to wear the safety belt. Have the system checked by the nearest BMW center". I have searched this online and it seems BMW 3 and 5 series cards manufactured in 2003 - 2008 have this issue. It is a safety related issue that BMW should recall and fix immediately.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #6

Oct 172013

328 6-cyl

  • 81,294 miles
When a person is seated in the passenger seat, the seat belt and large airbag warning lights come on the dash and stay on. Once the passenger exits the car, the lights go off. I see there are recalls for the 2006 328I but not for the 2007. I am concerned that in the event of an accident, the air bag will not deploy.

- Long Beach, MS, USA

problem #5

Aug 012013


  • 98,000 miles
I own a 2007 328I, recently my car has been giving me an error message due to the front passenger air bag sensor. Whenever, a passenger sits in the front it, a light turns on letting me know that the airbag is off. This means that in case of a serious car accident the airbag will not deploy and the passenger's life will be at risk. After the error message I did some research and found out that the issue is very common in the 3-series. BMW actually did a voluntary recall but it only involved 2006 3-series. However, I am experiencing the same issue that the recall was about. I took my car to BMW pacific in glendale and informed me that they would not be able to help me since my car was not part of the recall. Here is the recall that BMW announced: "statement on voluntary recall involving front passenger seat sensor mat on U.S.a. model bmws - August 13, 2008 today, BMW announced a voluntary recall regarding the front passenger air bag seat sensor mat involving approximately 200,000 model year 2004-06 vehicles. Affected are certain model year 2006 3-series, model year 2004-06 5-series, and model year 2004-06 X3 vehicles, depending upon seat type. BMW has found that the sensor mat may become damaged during vehicle usage depending upon the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit. Link: I don't understand why BMW only covered 06 models when 07 models are experiencing the same exact issue. I feel that this is very irresponsible and negligible on their part. I really hope that you can help me out with the issue that I am experiencing and include my car in the recall. I have a wife and daughter that ride with me and the last thing I want is for anyone to get seriously hurt over something that can be prevented by BMW. Thank you.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 092012

328 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Passenger restraint system malfunction.

- Valley Center, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?