Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,988 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 BMW 328 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 BMW 328:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 BMW 328 Owner Comments

problem #9

Aug 252016


  • 47,000 miles


This vehicle has stalled numerous time when driven (in motion) at low speed on a city street. It has happened again 2 days ago when I was driving (in motion) and tried to make a right turn. The engine stopped and the steering wheel refused to turn. I would have been dead if another vehicle was coming from the other side of the road. This vehicle was taken to a BMW dealer's service numerous time for the exact same problem when it was under manufacturer warranty but the service and BMW usa always said that none of the other customers have ever reported this issue and they never heard of it from another customer.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #8

Apr 012013


  • 84,323 miles
The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact stated that vehicle started automatically and when running for long periods of time, the battery would fail and caused the vehicle to become inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under an unknown NHTSA campaign related to the lighting of the vehicle however, the failure recurred. It was unknown if the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,323.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 122013


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. While driving at various speeds and attempting to utilize the defrost to clear the windshield, the defroster failed to work. The contact also noticed an abnormal burning odor in the vehicle. In addition, the front windows would not roll up or down intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing; however the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #6

May 032015


  • 112,000 miles


I remember driving home on the interstate and smelling a burning smell. I had the windows open but it didn't seem like it was coming from outside. Later, the car's HVAC blower fan stopped working. During repair, the blower motor resistor and the harness that plugs into it were found to be badly burned. The harness wires for ground and power were missing insulation (burned away) and the copper was badly corroded. The trim panel directly under the affected area has water staining and scorch marks. BMW na refused to pay to fix due to mileage even though car is only 4 years old and is clearly a water intrusion problem (leading to a short circuit and burning) caused by either a design or manufacturing issue

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #5

Feb 252015


  • miles
02/25/15 I left my BMW at the dealer for many of the constant issues my car has had but they have not been able to duplicate. One of the many things was that all doors will close but the front passenger. They always said they could not duplicate. But when I left my car at the dealer it was just not closing at all. On 02/27/15. I received a call from the service department manager and he said to me that he was going to explain about the estimates to fix my car. I asked him why they will charge me for something they never could duplicate when my car was on warranty and now that my car is out of warranty its seem they are able to duplicate the same problems I have been advising them for years. He said that he could not use good will with me anymore because he has used 4 already (if we are dealing with a recurring issue which I have notify you of many times before you do not need to use goodwill, but I am not an expert) I told him that he himself said anything the car has on history they will fix when they can duplicate. Then he said he was going to review my car history (I think to this point he should have done it before calling me to aggravate me) he never did called me or at least apologize. I finally talked to my advisor and she said it was ok they were going to take care of it. Once again my non ending nightmare gives me a hard day and a worst hopeless feeling. I still don't understand their frustration. I should be the angry one. Because now they had duplicate something I have said so many times and my car is out of warranty they wanted me to pay for it. To me the word duplicate for them means ?how can we keep on hiding all the issues and keep people believing they are crazy so we can keep on making money".

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #4

Dec 262013

328 6-cyl

  • 74,234 miles
This vehicle was purchased used and before the manufacturer's 50,000 mile warranty period expired. Since 1/2013, this vehicle has been in and out of the service shop for ignition coil issues. Since January 2013, this vehicle has had 3 ignition coils replaced, one during the extended warranty, one that I paid for and one that was completed gratis. My concern is that this appears to be some type of manufacturer's defect and I am very concerned about my safety. So much so that I contacted BMW North America during the week of December 26, 2013 and spoke with [xxx]. when I asked to speak with the president of BMW North America, I was told by [xxx] that there would be no further escalation beyond her because her job was to resolve issues and she basically pushed my concern aside as the wind blows leaves. This is a major safety issue that BMW needs to resolve immediately before someone loses their life. I have done research on the internet and have found that this is an ongoing issue with BMW's which I have now come to understand = bring more worry. I have owned over 10 cars in my lifetime and never have I experienced so many trips to the repair shop!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Washington, Dc, DC, USA

problem #3

Mar 192013

328 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after waiting sometime. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician replaced an electrical ribbon and performed a manufacturer's recall. The contact was not aware of the exact recall repair. The failure continued and occurred three different times. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)..,updated 06/17/13 the consumer experienced seven failures of electrical failure, with the complete engine shut down.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #2

Apr 182011


  • 2,336 miles
Vehicle was delivered on 2/3/2011 and has experienced ongoing & unresolved electrical shorts, battery discharge, failures to start, erroneous door ajar messages, service engine soon & electrical malfunction messages leaving passengers stranded. Vehicle towed to dealership(s) 2 times. Dates/mileage of failure(s): 19feb2011 / 377 miles, 18apr2011 / 2,336, 01jun2011 / 3,816, 12 Aug 2011 / 4,690, 24oct2011 / 6,867, 21oct2011 / 6,943. Formal notices served to braman BMW / miami, South motors / miami & BMW corporate / NJ to repair or replace vehicle have gone unanswered. Pending lemon law / legal action currently pending.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #1

Apr 202011


  • miles
I leased a vehicle from BMW encinitas that had previously been used by them as a loaner vehicle on 3/24/11. On 4/20/11, I parked the vehicle at my home after a short 20 minute freeway drive and within 20-30 minutes, flames were shooting out the top of the hood and over the tops of the front tires. The flames were blue and burned so hot water was unable to douse them. The fire burned for approx 15 more minutes before the fire dept was able to put it out. Upon inspection, the engine was completely charred, engine mounts gone and the bumper and lights approx 2 feet in front of the car. The car is now owned by state farm insurance. BMW was not at all interested in determining the cause of this fire. To my knowledge, no work was ever performed on this vehicle.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?