Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,485 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW 335 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW 335 Owner Comments

problem #5

Jan 302012

335 6-cyl

  • 39,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my brand new BMW X3 in 2007. There were small issues in the past but withing my manufacturer warrenty period. I had my rear brake pads replaced on Jan 23, 2012. On Jan 30, 2012, when I drove my X3 out my subdivison to go to work, the brake light, ABS light, and 4/4 light all on, plus load clunk type noise from rear, it was difficault to make a U-turn, managed back to home, called BMW unitedbmw dealer and towed my vehicle to dealer. They first told me that is software failure, they would try reprogram to fix, then called to tell the re-program did not work, it was mechanical transfer case actuator broken, a new one must be installed. The total charge for repair (part + labor - discount) is $2354.97. It was in the dealer for one week. The dealer insisted that it was my bad luck, not car's own issue even though the milage is less than 40K. I did some research online, found that there are plenty of similar cases and class-action lawsuits. Looks like BMW (2007 and 2008) models have lubricant problem, later BMW switched with different lubricant. Internet estimation says that ~30% of the vehichles (2007 & 2008) demonstrated this issue. As a consumer, I am trying to urge any car maker to be responsible for their products. But I never get any notice or recall from BMW dealers or maker in the past and when the problem surfaced.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #4

Jan 102012

335 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
After being service by dealer for 4 days which included the replacement of right headlight and ABS and brake system the car caught fire which seem to be related to electrical system. While driving the car heavy toxic smoke started coming out of ventilator of ac system. I immediately step out of the car and in a few minutes smoke and flames located in the engine in front of passenger seat burn the car. Flames and black plastic were coming also under the glove compartment right in front of passenger seat. Dealer quoted $25000 for repair and insurance company declared it total loss. Car was delivered to dealer who has kept it for a month, engineer from BMW North America came and inspected but no report has been issued by them or dealer. This company has no concern for safety of consumers and should be penalize. After having owned six BMW's I feel these autos are not safe.

- San Juan , PR, USA

problem #3

Sep 012008

335

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. While parked the contact noticed the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The technician stated the air bag sensor in the front passenger seat needed to be replaced. The sensor was replaced. In addition, the brake light illuminated on the instrument panel. The technician stated the computer would have to be reprogrammed. The failure continued after the computer was reprogrammed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a second time for diagnostics but the technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 282009

335

  • 8,236 miles
BMW 335I master brake and ABS system failure without parts available in usa, Canada, nor europe to effect repair. BMW will not explain the absence of parts to solve the problem. Vehicle cannot be currently serviced with no estimate for part availability. Suspect an extensive problem has not yet surfaced.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #1

Sep 202008

335

  • 7,300 miles
Brake pedal hard after car sits 708 miles. Incident date: 11/02/07 defective vacuum pipe replaced. Brake pedal hard after car sits 1899 miles. Incident date: 12/18/07 defective pressure hose replaced. Brake pedal hard while stopping. Temporary loss of power assisted brakes. Brake pedal hard after car sits. 2630 miles. Incident date: 12/31/07. Brake servo, brake booster, vacuum pump, and 2 vacuum pipes replaced. Brake pedal hard while stopping. Temporary loss of power assisted brakes. Brake pedal hard after car sits. 7300 miles. Incident date: 09/20/2008. Car is in the shop for repairs.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?