Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,059 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW 335 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW 335 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Mar 162012

335 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


My 2007 BMW 335I became very hard to steer during a drive down a steep grade. A battery not charging error would appear on dash shortly after... here is what happened. While driving down a steep hill and needing to break hard on a turn to avoid hitting a dead animal on the road I smelled burning rubber and then heard a noise this noise I discovered later in the day was my power steering belt breaking. I lost all power steering went off the road out off control due to lose of power steering and almost hit a bike rider and came very close to going off the side of road. Later that day I decided to google my problem and see if there would be an easy fix to this problem. I discovered there is not an easy fix for a broken belt on my modal of car. I discovered this is common on many BMW models and BMW is aware of it see sib 11-09-08. I quickly discovered that I am not the only owner out there with this problem. There are many others. BMW knows of the problem and has not recalled any cars. There documentation of the problem is under sib 11-09-08. I will be bringing my car back to dealer to have this problem resolve and hope they follow the sib 11-09-08 which notes new style sub frame replacement will be required. I believe an investigation needs to be made regarding power steering belts breaking. These belts should not be breaking under the condition I was driving and should be considered a major safety issue. I hope to see this resolved soon before someone is killed. At this time I don't feel the car will be safe to drive.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 202012

335 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
My steering column locked up on me out of the blue without any warning. BMW dealer in raleigh nc (leith BMW on capital blvd) said that to fix is to replace the whole steering wheel column.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #14

Jan 102012

335 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
After being service by dealer for 4 days which included the replacement of right headlight and ABS and brake system the car caught fire which seem to be related to electrical system. While driving the car heavy toxic smoke started coming out of ventilator of ac system. I immediately step out of the car and in a few minutes smoke and flames located in the engine in front of passenger seat burn the car. Flames and black plastic were coming also under the glove compartment right in front of passenger seat. Dealer quoted $25000 for repair and insurance company declared it total loss. Car was delivered to dealer who has kept it for a month, engineer from BMW North America came and inspected but no report has been issued by them or dealer. This company has no concern for safety of consumers and should be penalize. After having owned six BMW's I feel these autos are not safe.

- San Juan , PR, USA

problem #13

Nov 142011

335 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles


Electric door locks failed on all four doors with no symptoms prior to complete system failure. Key fob and central locking system button inside car would not unlock any door. Doors would not open by pulling on interior door latch handles. The only way to enter/exit vehicle was by using key on exterior driver's side door to unlock the door, or through the windows. This seems like an extremely dangerous single point egress failure that could result in unnecessary injury or loss of life in emergency situations. I replaced the blown 15A fuse (#57) with a 20A fuse per si B51 19 07 twice. First functional test by pressing the central lock system button resulted in the new fuse blowing immediately each time. Further troubleshooting and repair will be necessary to resolve issue (likely by replacing faulty electro/mechanical door latch/lock/actuator mechanism).

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 142011


  • 20,000 miles
Door locks would not open on 3 of the doors; had to crawl from backseat to front seat to start car. Once got home, had to crawl back out via the back seat. Extremely hazardous safety condition due to if there was an accident, myself nor my passengers, especially young children, wouldn't be able to escape. Took vehicle to local BMW dealer and he stated this was not the "1st" time he had seen this type of issue. Approximate cost is between $700 to $1,000 to fix. Contacted BMW customer relations and they are investigating issue.

- Winston Salem, ND, USA

problem #11

Nov 042011

335 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Using the key remote would only lock the driver's door. Then when using the key remote to unlock the door, the lights flash and the lock "clicks" but the driver's lock wouldn't unlock. I used the metal key in the key fob to manually unlock the door and tried it all over again. Same thing happened...key remote would lock only the driver's door lock...key remote to unlock would flash the lights but not unlock the door...requiring me to use the physical key in the driver's door to unlock the driver's door. Thinking that the car was not registering that the other three doors were not locked, I physically locked the doors while inside the car by depressing the locks on the top of each door. Bad idea! nothing would work to unlock the car (with me inside!)...unlock button on the key remote...nope...lock/unlock button on the dash near the vents...nope....pull on the door handles of all the doors from the inside (multiple times)...nope. Ultimately, to get myself out of the car I had to roll down the driver's side window and used the physical key in the driver's door lock to manually unlock the drivers side door only.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #10

Oct 042011

335 6-cyl

  • 48,500 miles


The automatic door locks on my car have quick working and the only way to enter or exit the car is through the driver door using the manual key fob. Passenger doors are inoperable from both interior and exterior. This presents a serious safety concern in the event of an accident or fire.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 092011

335 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked when he noticed that only the front driver side door would open from the interior or exterior. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were in the process of diagnosing the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 32,000. Updated 11/29/11 the consumer stated the driver's side door actuator failed, causing all the other doors to remain locked and inoperable. Updated 12/07/11

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #8

Sep 092011


  • 52,000 miles
BMW 2007 328 xi door lock fuse #57 blew. None of the interior doors would open from the inside. I had to roll the window down from the driver side door, use the key fob to unlock the door from the outside. I then had to pull my kids from the car through the windows as the other three of the four doors would not open. Forget the Toyota "accelerator"; this seems like a real safety issue.

- Ada, MI, USA

problem #7

Jul 302011


  • 40,000 miles
Regular usage. One day, the central locking system simply died without warning and there is no alternative way of unlocking the passenger doors after the central locking system died.

- Markham, 00, USA

problem #6

Jun 202011


  • 72,584 miles


Component: Locking system driver-side door lock failed to unlock when using the remote on the key. Replaced blown fuse. A day later same problem surfaced, only this time all 4 doors are not unlocking (first push of the button on the remote should unlock driver door only; second push of button unlocks the other 3 passenger doors. Replaced two blown fuses (#56 and #57). Problem is resolved, but only for a day or two. Long-term fix is to replace door lock actuators on all four doors according to BMW's own service bulletin. The safety issue is that the doors are supposed to open manually from the inside when the electrical system is unable to unlock them. In my case, I was only able to manually open the driver-side door by pulling the handle once to unlock, and a second time to open. This procedure did not work on any other door. I have purchased an emergency hammer to break the window from the inside in case this happens after an accident. Additional info: The gas door also fails to open as a result of this issue. One has to release the gas door manually from inside the trunk.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 222010


  • 15,335 miles
Door locks failed using key fob or button on dash. Followed service bulletin to replace fuse, but problem keeps reappearing. Passenger door inoperative even after fuse replaced and other doors working.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #4

Aug 152010


  • 22,156 miles
BMW E90 3 series sedan, after the door lock fuses blow there is no way to exit the vehicle except by a window. Is a failing in all these models and has had problems with bad latches that are being replaced as they fail under warranty, there should be a backup system for exiting the vehicle if the electrical system fails.

- St. Pauls, NC, USA

problem #3

Nov 042009


  • 26,425 miles
BMW 335xi fire burned car total loss after driving 1/4 mile. Vehicle was at BMW days earlier with a complaint of rough idle/reduced power. Told engine faults would be handled by software update. Fire burned two cars with a small explosion and 15 foot flames.

- Bellevue , WA, USA

problem #2

Aug 202008

335 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact leased a 2007 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the doors would not open from the passenger compartment nor the exterior of the vehicle. He was finally able to open the driver's side door manually with the physical key. None of the other doors on the vehicle would unlock or open, including the gas tank cover that was powered by a keyless lock sensor. The dealer stated that a fuse blew and caused all the locks to fail on the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were less than 18,000. Updated 10/14/08. Updated 10/16/08.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 012007

335 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the passenger door locking mechanism fuses blow out due to electrical failure. When the fuses blow, the vehicle locks completely and the passenger cannot exit the vehicle. The unit was replaced and worked for a short period of time before the failure recurred. The failure has occurred three times and still persists. The manufacturer has not yet been notified. The failure mileage was 18,000 and current mileage was 24,000. Updated 02-14-08

- Avondale, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?