Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,297 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 BMW 335 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 BMW 335 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Nov 162015

335

  • 89,235 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle and the waterpump I changed two times, keep overheating and almost getting in fire flames, I need help please can someone help me, it should not happen to get to this level, I spend all my money most of the time on my car. The waterpump stop working smoke comes out of engine, become so hot that burned my face two time, when waterpump when wrong, hit my oil cooler, radiator, and much more stuff alone.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #33

Apr 282016

335

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335xi. The contact stated while driving at 65 mph, the vehicle had an abnormal odor on the vehicle and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it diagnosed that the catalytic converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 69,000.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #32

Apr 102016

335

  • 75,000 miles
Car randomly lost power and went into limp mode. Heavy stuttering with check engine light. Occurred while merging on the highway and resulted in near collision. Car had 75K miles at the time, now has 76K. Car drives fine, but when pressing accelerator passed 50% car begins to stutter and go into limp mode. No check engine light or issues until this happens. Check engine codes read, multiple cylinder misfire. All symptoms point to hpfp.

- Huntington, CT, USA

problem #31

Mar 102016

335

  • 81,474 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle started making a loud knocking sound while driving on the highway at approximately 65 mph. (video was taken) the oil pressure dropped, a battery indicator light flashed, the power steering went out, and the vehicle lost speed. I almost wreaked. I checked my steering wheel fluid and it was brown, an indication to me the power steering pump went out. A belt also snapped. I purchased an extended warranty that BMW is telling me does not cover the A/C compressor. I am being told that in order for BMW of fresno to make a proper assessment of the steering issue I first have to replace the A/C compressor at $2535.34. As a fleet manager, I know my chain is being yanked.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #30

Feb 012016

335

  • 70,000 miles
I experienced a break down when I was driving on a city street. My car was then towed to the local dealer and dealer discovered water pump was bad so it was then replaced under warranty. 3 years later my car broke down again and was towed to local dealer an again the water pump was determined bad and replaced. I contacted BMW North America to see if they would help considering the water pump has broken twice but no help from them.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #29

Oct 232015

335

  • 58,000 miles
Coolant / water pump has failed at 57,000 miles. The pump seized, which caused the engine to overheat and shut off at highway speeds. A water pump should not fail at such an early age. Internet searches indicate this is a common problem on 3-series (extremely early failure of the water pump). This is unacceptable.

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #28

Jun 252015

335

  • 124,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 BMW 335I coupe purchased on July 15th, 2013 from carmax. Currently drivable but has major mechanical problems. The extended service contract is still under coverage and is valid at the BMW dealer or any carmax nationwide. When carmax can't fix the car it's hauled over to the BMW dealership to complete the repair and a check would be written by maxcare to the BMW dealer. The only problem is that I've had to take this vehicle in for major repairs several times and I'm not counting maintenance visits. Most of these major repairs were repetitive major jobs such as oil leaks, fuel pressure system, injectors. At one time my car ping ponged between carmax and BMW for close to 2 months. Consider the time I've owned this car for and how long and how many times it's been out of my possession. I was paying a car note for a BMW but driving around in a a base model rental car most of the time. I've got invoices/estimates where the car went in for major repair or diagnosis during these dates: 07/22/2013 05/30/2014 06/13/2014 07/01/2014 11/05/2014 06/25/2015 the repair invoice/estimate on 11/05/2014 was the biggest one. I was very frustrated with the amount of work being done on the vehicle so I got the car appraised to sell back to carmax and they told me $10,000 which I thought was ridiculous. The work done on that car amounted to almost $7,000 or more just on that one invoice which is 70% of the car value. Also, while the car was in the shop I acquired the history of the vehicle directly from BMW. The history stated that the car had oil leak repair at the pan and gasket and the automatic transmission had a leak in 03/06/2013 and the mileage for this record was completely off. As you can see the date of this diagnosis was a few months prior to me purchasing the vehicle.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #27

Jun 012015

335

  • 86,335 miles
The engine malfunction "reduced power " message keeps coming on and off, low engine oil message keeps coming on even though its good on oil, the steering wheel was hard to turn while I was driving causing me to have to pull over and turn the car off and back on and the steering was ok after that. It's currently being looked at my the dealer where I purchased it only 3 months ago.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #26

Apr 102015

335

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the vehicle was extremely slow to pick up speed. The contact applied force to the accelerator pedal to pick up speed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the fuel pump assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the fuel injectors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #25

May 022014

335 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Driving car and vehicle started to shake, make rumbling noise and feels sluggish when accelerating. Doesn't feel safe to drive with sluggish, engine power intermittent.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #24

Mar 072015

335

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just got belt replaced. About two weeks later the belt pops. The car lost power steering and then would not start. I've researched online N saw that its a design flaw in the 07- 08 335I's but BMW is refusing a recall. Imagine if I was on the highway N it happened. Its terrible.

- Claymont , DE, USA

problem #23

Dec 152014

335

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335I. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 70 mph, the message displayed the engine over heating warning. As a result, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 032014

335 6-cyl

  • 90,004 miles
When I started at the car noticed a electrical burning smell and smoke after a while it was gone and it came back. Also driving the car on the highway smell was present.

- Hicksville, NY, USA

problem #21

Nov 212014

335

  • 69,138 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the fuel pump failed and the six injectors may be defective. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the mechanic replaced the high pressure fuel pump. The mechanic was able to get the part from the authorized dealer, but the failure recurred. The service engine sensor illuminated. While traveling at a high rate of speed, the vehicle made a noise, sputtered, and decelerated. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the mechanic replaced three of the six high pressure cylinders that malfunctioned. At some point, the other three cylinders may need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,138.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #20

Oct 032014

335 6-cyl

  • 59,670 miles
Three bolts on engine mount bracket sheared off and one bolt on the same engine mount bracket was missing. The three bolts that sheared are in the engine block. This incident occurred only two weeks after bringing in my car to the peter pan BMW dealership to have my car inspected.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #19

Sep 102014

335 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
The engine is idling very roughly at a full stop whether its a traffic light, or just stop and go traffic. The rpms will spike to 750-800 rpms and drop below 5-400 rpms randomly causing the entire car to shake violently, and stall at times.the incident seems common with my model car though online forums and friends that have the same car and the 328 with N54 engine. My main issue is that there is no malfunction code associated with it, and it happens randomly; sometimes when the car is cold, sometimes at running temp, sometime with ac on, sometimes with ac off. There doesn't seem to be a specific variable causing the issue, but it is a major issue non the less, therefore BMW dealership can't seem to figure out a fix for my problem and continuously turn me away even though I have extended bumper to bumper warranty. This issue has become a safety concern of mine and I don't want it to get worse and causing an sudden loss of power or an accident. I've noticed that there was a recall for 2007-2011 3-series for loss of electrical power/stalling, but I'm not sure if its the same circumstance for my car or different.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #18

Jul 022014

335

  • 19,000 miles
These vehicles seem to have an extremely high failure rate of the electric coolant pump. When the coolant pump fails, it creates a very unsafe situation as there is no temperature gauge for the coolant, you just get a yellow warning light that indicates the car is overheating and a warning to drive moderately. Unfortunately the software waits until the car is so hot to give you a warning that literally seconds later the warning will turn red and tell you to pull over at which time it will reduce all engine power. When this occurred I was in heavy traffic in the fast lane doing 70-75 mph, the warning popped up and by the time I read it on the screen, it had turned red and basically felt like I removed my foot from the gas pedal in traffic. I had to cross 3 lanes of heavy traffic with no power at all, car was basically coasting and could not even maintain speed enough to pull over, quite dangerous with cars swerving and honking. It is ridiculous how early the pump failed but even worse how dangerous the situation is that it creates when it happens.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #17

Aug 092014

335

  • 66,000 miles
I was informed the valve cover gasket and oil filter housing gasket were leaking, which caused a problem with the eccentric shaft sensor. I paid for a new valvetronic motor, eccentric shaft sensor, valve cover and gaskets, and oil filter housing gasket, and the associated repair. Fast forward 3 months, I go in for a oil change and am told that again I have a significant leak from the valve cover gasket and oil filter housing gasket.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #16

Jul 182014

335 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I was going over a small bump in the road at 30 mph and my engine mount failed. All four aluminum bolts sheared off and the engine dropped. This drop snapped my passenger drive shaft (half axle) in two pieces. I think BMW has a serious problem with the strength of the engine mount hardware. The engine mount bolts should be stronger. The failure mode is dangerous.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #15

Jul 172014

335

  • 60,000 miles
Took car to dealer to check why I am losing oil. As I suspected, slight oil leak is hitting a hot engine part, evaporating, and not showing on the ground.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?