Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,118 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 BMW 335 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 BMW 335 Owner Comments

problem #13

May 062016


  • 130,200 miles


Currently I have the high pressure fuel pump in my 335I (2008). I have my "service engine soon engine malfunction. Reduced power" light on - it just came on yesterday. Original warranty was 4 years 40,000 miles. Which according to BMW was extended 10 years 120,000. So I am out of warranty because I already have 130K, my car was brought to BMW several occasion, it was never brought to my attention that there may a potential problems with the high pressure fuel pump.

- Middlesex, NJ, USA

problem #12

Apr 102016


  • 75,000 miles
Car randomly lost power and went into limp mode. Heavy stuttering with check engine light. Occurred while merging on the highway and resulted in near collision. Car had 75K miles at the time, now has 76K. Car drives fine, but when pressing accelerator passed 50% car begins to stutter and go into limp mode. No check engine light or issues until this happens. Check engine codes read, multiple cylinder misfire. All symptoms point to hpfp.

- Huntington, CT, USA

problem #11

Feb 072016


  • 94,000 miles
Faulty high pressure fuel pump- loss of power - engine stall in traffic

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 282015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335I. The contact stated that there was a premature leak and strong fumes of fuel coming from the vehicle, which progressed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The failure mileage was not available.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 202015


  • 52,000 miles
I was driving on a highway around 60 mph speed and suddenly my car couldn't speed any further and lucky for me I was driving next to center divide and could pull it, I was able to avoid any accident. It was peak traffic time ( early morning commute ). so I believe this needs to looked into that if there was a recall which was not applied to all the make, models. After diagnosis it was found the issue was with fuel pump on which there are certain recalls on the newer models but for 2008 model they was none I confirmed with the customer service.

- San Jose, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Jun 252015


  • 124,600 miles
2008 BMW 335I coupe purchased on July 15th, 2013 from carmax. Currently drivable but has major mechanical problems. The extended service contract is still under coverage and is valid at the BMW dealer or any carmax nationwide. When carmax can't fix the car it's hauled over to the BMW dealership to complete the repair and a check would be written by maxcare to the BMW dealer. The only problem is that I've had to take this vehicle in for major repairs several times and I'm not counting maintenance visits. Most of these major repairs were repetitive major jobs such as oil leaks, fuel pressure system, injectors. At one time my car ping ponged between carmax and BMW for close to 2 months. Consider the time I've owned this car for and how long and how many times it's been out of my possession. I was paying a car note for a BMW but driving around in a a base model rental car most of the time. I've got invoices/estimates where the car went in for major repair or diagnosis during these dates: 07/22/2013 05/30/2014 06/13/2014 07/01/2014 11/05/2014 06/25/2015 the repair invoice/estimate on 11/05/2014 was the biggest one. I was very frustrated with the amount of work being done on the vehicle so I got the car appraised to sell back to carmax and they told me $10,000 which I thought was ridiculous. The work done on that car amounted to almost $7,000 or more just on that one invoice which is 70% of the car value. Also, while the car was in the shop I acquired the history of the vehicle directly from BMW. The history stated that the car had oil leak repair at the pan and gasket and the automatic transmission had a leak in 03/06/2013 and the mileage for this record was completely off. As you can see the date of this diagnosis was a few months prior to me purchasing the vehicle.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #7

May 012015


  • 86,188 miles


Vehicle 2008 BMW 335I lost all power while accelerating on highway (approx. 55mph). Forced to weave thru lanes / traffic to a complete stop on shoulder of road. In addition, vehicle 2008 BMW 335I has engine light on during "cold start". during cold start vehicle states "reduced power, engine malfunctioning". car diagnosed: Diagnosis

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #6

Apr 102015


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the vehicle was extremely slow to pick up speed. The contact applied force to the accelerator pedal to pick up speed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the fuel pump assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the fuel injectors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #5

Nov 212014


  • 69,138 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the fuel pump failed and the six injectors may be defective. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the mechanic replaced the high pressure fuel pump. The mechanic was able to get the part from the authorized dealer, but the failure recurred. The service engine sensor illuminated. While traveling at a high rate of speed, the vehicle made a noise, sputtered, and decelerated. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the mechanic replaced three of the six high pressure cylinders that malfunctioned. At some point, the other three cylinders may need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,138.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #4

May 072014


  • 79,173 miles
April 14, 2014 our car went in for service. May 7, 2014 it was returned for a 'reduced power, service engine soon'light. At that time, the fuel pump was replaced and covered under a recall. In July the light came on again and the battery was dead. We replaced the battery. In late August, the warning light appeared again. September 8,2014 the car went into the garage. At this time we were told it was most likely the turbo, est repairs at $5500. At this time the car had 83985 miles on it(the turbo was under an "extended" warranty until 82,000). I contacted BMW and ask for an extension on the warranty since we were less than 2,000 miles over. They agreed to pay for the part, but not the labor which is $2600. While I appreciate their effort, it is not enough. They obviously are aware that there is an issue with this part, since they extended the warranty so I feel that they should cover the entire amount. Yesterday the same warning light came on and has stayed on. The car is running very loudly, shaking, with little power. We are requesting your advice and/or assistance about what to do next. One thing I didn't mention was approximately one month after purchasing this pre-owned car, the engine had to be replaced with only 25,000 miles on it. So the current engine has approximately 55000 miles on it.

- Shippensburg, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 252014

335 6-cyl

  • 90,234 miles


Car had fuel pump initially replaced when car still under the factory warranty. BMW na will try to avoid the absolute truth. Note injectors for the N54 engine are also on a world wide recall. Now the injection pump from a recall is being called extended warranty for 10 years or 120,000. Miles well it happened, got hit by a car from rear when my 335I stalled!!!!!! I was experiencing extended starts, followed by engine stalling repeatedly for 3 attempts then it will clear out. Now when light load is applied the engine light with the engine half graded out appears (reduced power), engine running violently rough codes comes up are P142E & P3090. They wanted me to replace my injectors first because they said I have "old injectors" note when hpfp was replaced they replaced the recalled injectors but they changed only 4 ! even though they know it's a 6 cylinder I wanted to tell BMW that when they built the engine they installed all 6 new injectors. Their reply was it only needed 4 at that time, well what a out now your telling me I need to replace all 6 because their old injectors so the replacement done was to mask the problem!!! to this date they have issues with the current engine plate form N54 - N55 epic failure. Some say its also replacement of just a fuel pressure sensor. I'm changing mine on Monday bought it online from a BMW dealer installation is 2-2.5 hours basic tools needed and care.

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #2

Oct 012013


  • 49,000 miles
## VIN passed ## BMW 335 2008 ## purchased car w/ 18000 miles and my 2nd fuel pump is on its way out (scheduling appt next week), brakes make noise when braking (pads are fine), and low pressure fuel sensor is now throwing fuel pressure code 29F3.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #1

Jul 222009


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the engine reduced in power as the speed vehicle decelerated independently. The engine malfunctioning and the reduce speed warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the failure was caused by the fuel pump. The vehicle was repaired under a manufacturer's recall. The failure recurred several times after the repair was performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who stated that they would not assist with the repair because the vehicle was previously repaired per the manufacturer's recall. The failure mileage was 10,000 and the current mileage was 51,000.

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?