Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,538 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 BMW 335 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 BMW 335 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Dec 072009


  • 9,679 miles


The car went into "limp" mode in the middle of the highway and had to go 35mph the rest of the way on a 40mph minimum. The dealer said that it was a faulty high performance fuel pump and that it needed to be replaced. This is a very dangerous situation as I could have almost caused a crash while moving to the shoulder at 35mph on a fast highway.

- Bardonia, NY, USA

problem #22

Jul 162009


  • 12,403 miles
In July of 2009 the high pressure fuel pump went out on my 2008 335I. The dealer replaced the fuel pump and was aware of problems with this particular engine. On November 12th the fuel pump went out again and was replaced. BMW stated that they have extended the warranty for the hp fuel pump but could not give a reason to the defect. On November 30th three fuel injectors and 3 spark plugs were replaced. On all 3 occasions car lost power and or started to sputter. Engine warning light came on all 3 times. I've lost all confidence in this vehicle and am currently starting a lemon law claim.

- Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #21

Nov 232009


  • 3,300 miles
My 2009 BMW 335I experienced a high pressure fuel pump failure while driving. This failure caused my vehicle to stall and become inoperable in traffic. The vehicle had to be pushed out of the intersection and required a tow to the dealership. The fuel pump was replaced by the dealer. Hpfp failures are a common problem with the BMW N54 engine and have been a recurring problem since the engine was first introduced in 2006 and still plagues vehicles currently manufactured. Some people have had their fuel pumps replaced 3 or more times. The failure mode of this component creates a safety hazard for the driver. While BMW has extended the warranty for this component they have not addressed the root cause and the safety issues still remain. Note: The vehicle selector did not have the 335I as an available model for model year 2009. I selected 2008 so that the vehicle model would be correct.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #20

Dec 032009


  • 12,000 miles


BMW 335I 2008 hpfp failed. 2nd time this has happened to me.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #19

Jun 182009


  • miles
2008 BMW 335I sedan. Hpfp (high pressure fuel pump) failed at 11,000 miles-car goes into limp mode (half power). Hpfp replaced at dealer. New pump failed at 13,000-also replaced. Now at 15,000 miles, car is experiencing long cranks again (symptoms of pump failure) again.

- Yardley, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Oct 162008


  • 15,384 miles
Hpfp failure once on 10/16/08 and again on 09/30/09.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #17

Nov 162009


  • 28,289 miles


2008 BMW 335I engine malfunction came on for 3rd time this year and 1 week after the last time. Fuel injector was replaced, but I've lost all confidence in this vehicle. It occurred on startup. After dropping off car for service I contacted bmwna customer relations to see what options I have under ca lemon law as I can't drive this vehicle with any confidence. Will hear back from them on 11/19/2009.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #16

Nov 092009


  • 27,983 miles
BMW 335I engine malfunction light came on again for second time this year. Second high pressure fuel pump replaced in under 1 year.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 252009


  • 15,373 miles
2008 BMW 335I threw a engine malfunction and then went to reduced power mode.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #14

Oct 242009


  • 46,000 miles
Dear BMW of North America, llc: We have been experiencing a problem with the fuel pump and fuel injectors on the above subject vehicle. We've taken the vehicle to united BMW of roswell, 11458 alpharetta hwy, roswell, ga 30076 -- phone# 678-832-4600. United BMW of North America, llc sent us a letter several months this year in 2008, informing us that they were aware of some issues pertaining to the fuel pump on the 335I's. alexander mathis has encountered these "exact" issues listed below in the correspondence from BMW of North America, llc. We've taken the initiative to take vehicle back to the united BMW of roswell on three different occasions pertaining to issues. To our amazement, BMW roswell communicated that the fuel in the vehicle had to much ethanol in the fuel tank. They said the BMW only allows 10% of ethanol in the gasoline and that some test were showing that there was 15% of ethanol in the fuel. Nonetheless, we faxed over a copy of the gas receipt which certainly shows that we put 93 octane gas in both of our BMW's. we both use the same gas stations and the same 93 octane fuel. However, the 2006 330I sedan is not experiencing any problems at all, but the 335I is experiencing that very issues that BMW North America listed below in their correspondence. We never brought this issue to BMW North America, llc's attention. However, we still received a letter in mail pertaining to these "exact" issues. The letter precisely indicated the same issues that alexander mathis is currently experiencing with his vehicle. This is extremely frustrating to the customer that they would have to be caught up in an issue between united BMW roswell, BMW North America, llc and exxon gas station where the fuel was purchased. Personally, I just couldn't imagine BMW allowing their valuable customers to go through such a cumbersome and tedious process to get their vehicle repaired. The vehicle is still under warranty with a little over 46,000 mile.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 162009


  • 10,100 miles


High pressure fuel pump (hpfp) failed and the car immediately lost power. According to the dealer the pump failed because it does not react well to sulfur in the gasoline.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #12

Sep 152008


  • 8,000 miles
I feel this situation warrants your immediate review for a possible forced recall. My 2008 BMW 335xi began having sporadic problems in September 2009. Because of my distance to a dealership and long time between problems I did not take the car to a dealership immediately. By December the problems became more severe and frequent. The engine warning light would become illuminated, the engine would have substantially lower power and the car would stall without warning. I had first taken the car to a BMW dealership for repair on Jan 2, 2009 and then again to a BMW service center 3 more times. In all 4 cases the service department claimed to have made a software adjustment and said the problem was fixed. In all 4 cases the problem was not fixed. It was not until the 5th time taken to a dealer and my calling the regional manager and threatening to return the car that the fuel pump was finally replaced. Based on comments made by technicians I suspect that BMW realizes it has a systemic problem with the fuel pump and they have implemented a stall policy on replacing the units to spread out the financial impact and/or hope the problem extends beyond the warranty period. The danger with this action is that it places the drivers and passengers at risk as the car can stall without out warning such as in an intersection as has happened to me on several occasions.

- St. Marys, PA, USA

problem #11

Jul 032009


  • 38,700 miles
When starting my car the engine jerked and almost stalled on start-up. Also under normal driving conditions car acceleration is sluggish and is "jerky" during braking. This has been a recurring problem since I took delivery in October 2007. Fuel pump and fuel injectors have been replaced twice. Car is in the shop on average of once every 3 weeks! dealer continues to replace parts but the same problem occurs. Parts seem to be defective!

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #10

May 162009


  • 3,400 miles
I was driving on a thoroughfare and suddenly the warning light went off in my car and the power decreased. The warning said "engine malfunction--reduced power." The car basically lost power and I was lucky enough not to get killed as I pulled over to the side of the road with cars careening around me and almost rear ending me. It was terrifying. I looked up this problem online and found that it is common for the 330 series of bmws over the past three years. This problem is due to a succession of high power fuel pumps in the twin engines. Why hasn't this problem been addressed" does someone need to die" I am a wreck and don't think I can trust BMW. They keep putting in different pumps in other peoples cars from the boards, and they still have the same problem.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

May 102009


  • 2,270 miles
On Sunday May 10, 2009, I was driving my BMW 335 when I experienced the car shaking and breaking down. I had it towed to the BMW dealership to be notified that the high pressure fuel pump failed and it was because I used 15% ethanol gas. This is absurd as I have been using the gas recommended by BMW and I have all the receipts to prove it, all gas in New York state contains the legal 10% ethanol so I don't see how any consumer could know if the ethanol percentage is higher than what they are putting in. The hpfp is a huge problem in many 335 models and BMW has even issued a recall over it in the past, the problem is still not fixed. This is a fault in the fuel pump and BMW is attempting to pin it on bad gas and trying to deny warranty coverage.

- Middle Village, NY, USA

problem #8

Aug 062008

335 6-cyl

  • 7,025 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 335I. While driving at any speed, the vehicle stalls. The radio and instrument panel lights remain functional, but all the other components stop working. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. They placed gasoline in the fuel tank and the vehicle started immediately. The contact stated that the vehicle had at least a quarter tank of gas and that the low fuel indicator had not illuminated prior to the failure. The failure has recurred at least four times since the repair and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer 3 times. The second time she took the vehicle back to the dealer, the fuel gauge displayed 70 miles remaining in the fuel tank. The contact was advised to keep as much gasoline in her vehicle as possible. When the failure recurred the third time, the mechanic stated that the right fuel level sensor needed to be replaced. After the fuel level sensor was replaced, the service engine light illuminated on the vehicle. During the fourth visit to the dealer, they removed the fuel tank and found that one of the fuel lines was pinched. The dealer re-attached the fuel return line. One month later, the vehicle stalled again and displayed that there was 94 miles of fuel remaining in the vehicle. The service engine light did not illuminate. The contact placed gasoline in the vehicle and drove to the dealer. Tests were performed on the right level sender, the harness was disconnected at the jbe sensor, wires were replaced, and the harness was reassembled. The dealer test drove the vehicle and it performed normally for three weeks. Recently, the vehicle stalled while traveling 40 mph. The fuel gauge displayed 56 miles remaining in the tank. She placed fuel in the vehicle, but the service engine soon light illuminated. The failure mileage was 7,025 and current mileage was 14,425. Updated 06/09/09. Updated 06/10/09.

- Atlantic Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 012009


  • 18,000 miles
Have had fuel pump failure four times this month numerous other problems.

- Howard Beach, NY, USA

problem #6

Apr 072008


  • 36,000 miles
I own a BMW 2008 335 xi and have had three fuel pumps and pistons changed on it. The time before today, the fuel pump malfunctioned and pistons needed to be changed because gas was burning and smoke was coming out of the right tail pipe. Today it was towed for the fourth fuel pump replacement and burning gas smoke was shooting out of the right tail pipe while driving in the city. In every instance the car was in motion and will stop immediately. I have been fortunate that this has occurred in the city because I frequent the NJ turnpike and am fearful it will happen while on the turnpike. There are numerous people having this issue and BMW is aware of the problem but they just replace the fuel pumps with faulty fuel pumps. Please help me address this problem. I am scare the next time this happens it is going to cause serious damage and injuries (including death).

- Passaic, NJ, USA

problem #5

Sep 182008


  • 2,500 miles
At around 2000 miles on the odometer, the car began having long crank times. I took it to the dealer and they identified the problem as a high pressure fuel pump. The fuel pump was replaced under warranty.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #4

Sep 262008


  • 5,500 miles
1. used regular unleaded as atlanta was out of premium 2. drove vehicle about 20 miles 3. attempted to start vehicle, engine would violent shake then die, engine malfunction indicator would appear 4. dealer replaced high pressure fuel pump.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?