10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,914 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 BMW X5 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 BMW X5 Owner Comments

problem #16

Jan 172017

X5

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both airbags have been on the recall for over a year....are they not required to be in the vehicle, but working correctly? to wait for a recall over a year on something so important is very wrong! in addition there is another recall (Oct 2016) on a fuel pump "could leak fuel during refueling or cornering" ive set up a service appointment Jan 20, 2017 and I'm told neither recall items will be addressed or repaired because parts. I'm also not offered a solution outside of "carefully move away from traffic" anyone driving the car, near the car or at the refueling location is at risk...how many of these vehicles are out there? more has to be done!! BMW should repair these asap or have them taken off the road. A year is unacceptable

- Southlake, TX, USA

problem #15

Feb 052016

X5

  • 85,000 miles
Takata recall as stated in the notice, "if the manufacturer has failed or is unable to remedy this safety recall for your vehicle in a timely manner...file an online complaint with NHTSA." The recall is coming up on a one-year anniversary. Alternative transportation is not available, and now have a teenage driver with learner's permit, increasing odds/risk of accident. While not "technically" in the first zone priority, North Carolina's climate is one of high temperatures and humidity for a significant portion of the year, and the vehicle does spend time at the coast. Dealer was contact immediately upon receipt of notice in February 2015, and several additional times. Dealer response is that parts are not available or the vehicle VIN has not been selected for replacement yet.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #14

Nov 282016

X5

  • 85,000 miles
I own a 2010 BMW X5 xdrive30I, on Monday, November 28, 2016 at 5:50am, while the vehicle was stationary, ignition off, key in the ignition, radio on and refueling at the gas station, I heard a chime coming from the cabin and noticed the message that stated "restrain system malfunction affecting the front passenger airbag" the message also stated that the malfunction would limit the inflator, tenssioner and another component which I do not recall now, to properly inflate the passenger side airbag. I made some inquiring on line and found that this is a common problem with different models of bmws, as well as other brands. I contacted BMW usa and was told that there was a recall for the driver side airbag but nothing for the passenger side. My vehicle only has 85,000 miles, relatively new, for a BMW, and is facing this type of malfunction. I believe that an investigation should be launched by your Agency and explore the possibility of issuing a recall to force BMW usa to take responsibility in this matter. These type of repairs are very pricey and should be covered by BMW, since its happening to so many models and around the same amount of miles.

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #13

Feb 052016

X5

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000 (air bags) and 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect..updated 01/04/17.

- Wisconsin Dells, WI, USA

problem #12

May 042016

X5

  • miles
I am the owner of the BMW X5 2010 with sport seat, I hardly seat any passenger in there, and a couple months ago the passenger seat trigger the screen to show message of restrain airbag error on screen, however I though this have something to do with the airbag recall, I diagnose my car with my mechanic, the conclusion was the "seat mat sensor passenger defective", this car as your recall at the botton shows that was a previous recall with this type of seat "sport" same as I have, I call BMW, they said my car is not affected and they can not honor this recall, I hope you get more issues similar so your Agency looks into this. Report receipt date: Nov 12, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 component(s): Air bags potential number of units affected: 76,565 manufacturer: BMW of North America, llc

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Mar 012016

X5

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #10

Mar 012016

X5

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 032016

X5

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #8

Sep 162016

X5

  • 150,000 miles
Takata inflators/air bags - except for receiving a couple generic letters about the recall absolutely nothing seems to be happening to expediently resolve the issue. Seems like lawyers have done the paperwork to comply with recall but the process is in stall mode now and nothing is being done" it would be nice if there was some accountability to make some progress and the consumers are being informed and provided some actual proof this recall is going to be fixed within a reasonable timeframe. Given that most cars last 10 years typically before getting new one, how long is it reasonable to wait" I can tell you if BMW does not take action and responsibility to fix this recall soon... it will be my last BMW I purchase new or used. It just looks like a total lack of concern, lack of action, lack of accountability.

- Murphys, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 212016

X5

  • miles
Called new century BMW. Talked to service manager, tony hawkins. He claims he can't fixed my car, parts unavailable. Asked what happens if I'm involved in an accident and due to failure of servicing the recall I or my family become seriously injured or it results to death... he said sorry, can't help. Asked what other options do I have, he said I have to find out the parts number that needs to be replaced. I told him I don't know anything about cars, nor parts number and where in the world would I find out the info. He said he can't help.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #6

Mar 022016

X5 6-cyl

  • 97,626 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and 16V364000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97,626. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/06/16

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #5

Jun 022016

X5 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V364000 (air bags) and 16V071000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 07/27/16 updated 08/01/16.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 012016

X5

  • 61,000 miles
Takata recall...received letter informing that recalled takata airbags are on my car. I called dealer to get it fixed and was told they have no parts. I called main BMW corporate hq and was told they had nothing for me and offered no help. I explained that this makes me fearful since we live in high-humidity Texas (car came from Florida) and research indicates humidity may play a role in airbag failures. Both dealer and hq just said can't do anything. We're forced now to drive a dangerous car or get the bags turned off. Either way, they're playing russian roulette with our lives! want federal pressure on them to get on it to fix this problem. Surely, safe airbags can be manufactured by others besides takata. Whatever it takes, this is urgent to families driving these cars.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #3

Apr 072016

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags), however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Piedmont, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 082015

X5

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light and passenger restraint system indicators were illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer was notified of the failure. The contact stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Topsham, ME, USA

problem #1

May 282015

X5

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 BMW X5. While driving at approximately 40 mph, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. As a result, the contact sustained chest, neck, and arm injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Palisades Park, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?