Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,537 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Buick LaCrosse steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Feb 162011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Date of repair 02/16/2011 mileages: 039610 replaced left and right outer tie rods, discovered worn when they balanced both sides. There was always a clucking noise in the steering when I took it in for repair. After the repair it still retain the clucking noise and so decided to go on line and much to my surprise there were many complaints about this clucking noise in the steering column. What I want to know is there something being done about this defective and is it life threading. Will the government force a recall to fix the problem. Thank you

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #27

May 092011

LaCrosse

  • 94,496 miles
On or about May 8, 2011 at approximately 3 pm my son and his friend were driving in the Buick. My son tried to turn the car at an intersection and the power steering was gone. Between the two of them they were able to get the car turned. They drove the car to my house a few blocks away. I went out and saw a large puddle of fluid underneath the car. I discovered that it was power steering fluid. I did have this car towed to my mechanic. My mechanic informed me that the house fitting on the power steering failed. He stated this is a re-engineered GM part only available via GM. He stated that the re-engineered design did not allow for a replacement of the hose since the pump would also need to be replaced according to GM. He quoted me $650 parts and labor. I did call GM on or about May 10 2011 and spoke with brionna. She asked me to have the car taken to a GM dealer at my expense and I would have to pay a diagnostic fee. I did pay to have this car towed a 2nd time to community motors. She stated they would communicate to see if there was any assistance they could offer. I spoke with dennis from community on May 11 2011 and I was told there was a P/S steering failure and the hose and pump would need replaced. "around $900." Was what I was quoted. I again spoke with brionna on May 11 and she told me that she would have a district rep in contact with me once he completed his investigation. I spoke with larry on May 11 who asked some questions and told me that he would be in contact with me. The entire time the car sat at the GM dealer I received 2 calls a day asking me to authorize the repair. I stated that GM was investigating this issue and they should be in contact with them. Dennis said no one from GM has told us they will fix the car. As such on 5/12/2011 I did go pick this car up. Please note I was able to drive this car away. The failure is not a completed failure.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #26

May 092011

LaCrosse

  • 94,496 miles
On or about May 8, 2011 at approximately 3 pm my son and his friend were driving in the Buick. My son tried to turn the car at an intersection and the power steering was gone. Between the two of them they were able to get the car turned. They drove the car to my house a few blocks away. I went out and saw a large puddle of fluid underneath the car. I discovered that it was power steering fluid. I did have this car towed to my mechanic. My mechanic informed me that the house fitting on the power steering failed. He stated this is a re-engineered GM part only available via GM. He stated that the re-engineered design did not allow for a replacement of the hose since the pump would also need to be replaced according to GM. He quoted me $650 parts and labor. I did call GM on or about May 10 2011 and spoke with brionna. She asked me to have the car taken to a GM dealer at my expense and I would have to pay a diagnostic fee. I did pay to have this car towed a 2nd time to community motors. She stated they would communicate to see if there was any assistance they could offer. I spoke with dennis from community on May 11 2011 and I was told there was a P/S steering failure and the hose and pump would need replaced. "around $900." Was what I was quoted. I again spoke with brionna on May 11 and she told me that she would have a district rep in contact with me once he completed his investigation. I spoke with larry on May 11 who asked some questions and told me that he would be in contact with me. The entire time the car sat at the GM dealer I received 2 calls a day asking me to authorize the repair. I stated that GM was investigating this issue and they should be in contact with them. Dennis said no one from GM has told us they will fix the car. As such on 5/12/2011 I did go pick this car up. Please note I was able to drive this car away. The failure is not a completed failure.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #25

May 092011

LaCrosse

  • 94,496 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On or about May 8, 2011 at approximately 3 pm my son and his friend were driving in the Buick. My son tried to turn the car at an intersection and the power steering was gone. Between the two of them they were able to get the car turned. They drove the car to my house a few blocks away. I went out and saw a large puddle of fluid underneath the car. I discovered that it was power steering fluid. I did have this car towed to my mechanic. My mechanic informed me that the house fitting on the power steering failed. He stated this is a re-engineered GM part only available via GM. He stated that the re-engineered design did not allow for a replacement of the hose since the pump would also need to be replaced according to GM. He quoted me $650 parts and labor. I did call GM on or about May 10 2011 and spoke with brionna. She asked me to have the car taken to a GM dealer at my expense and I would have to pay a diagnostic fee. I did pay to have this car towed a 2nd time to community motors. She stated they would communicate to see if there was any assistance they could offer. I spoke with dennis from community on May 11 2011 and I was told there was a P/S steering failure and the hose and pump would need replaced. "around $900." Was what I was quoted. I again spoke with brionna on May 11 and she told me that she would have a district rep in contact with me once he completed his investigation. I spoke with larry on May 11 who asked some questions and told me that he would be in contact with me. The entire time the car sat at the GM dealer I received 2 calls a day asking me to authorize the repair. I stated that GM was investigating this issue and they should be in contact with them. Dennis said no one from GM has told us they will fix the car. As such on 5/12/2011 I did go pick this car up. Please note I was able to drive this car away. The failure is not a completed failure.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #24

Feb 242011

LaCrosse

  • 35,143 miles
My vehicle was experiencing clunking whenever I turned the steering wheel while driving with less than 35,000 miles on it. It had become progressively worse over the past few months. The steering also felt a bit loose. I contacted GM for vehicle recalls and there was one on the steering column but not for my vehicle or the intermediate shaft which as it turns out was the defective part and the shaft was loose internally. GM insisted I go to a GM dealer for service to see if I "might" be eligible for replacement assistance. I told them I had a certified mechanic who was closer and less expensive. I offered to send them the defective part and they were not interested. GM stated when I filed my complaint with them that they will not review any vehicle issues unless serviced by a GM dealer. They also offered no opinion when I told them GM has multiple service bulletins on the clunking issue and this defective part. I know of at least 15 similar complaints filed with the NHTSA. Apparently, GM won't take ownership of defective parts unless someone loses steering, dies and they are sued. So much for customer service. I am curious how many other intermediate shafts have been replaced by GM or other mechanics - maybe hundreds or thousands. I also had to replace two front defective outer tie rod ends at 30,000 miles and this is with gentle driving. Looks like another defective part and dangerous too if not caught in time.

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #23

Feb 242011

LaCrosse

  • 35,143 miles
My vehicle was experiencing clunking whenever I turned the steering wheel while driving with less than 35,000 miles on it. It had become progressively worse over the past few months. The steering also felt a bit loose. I contacted GM for vehicle recalls and there was one on the steering column but not for my vehicle or the intermediate shaft which as it turns out was the defective part and the shaft was loose internally. GM insisted I go to a GM dealer for service to see if I "might" be eligible for replacement assistance. I told them I had a certified mechanic who was closer and less expensive. I offered to send them the defective part and they were not interested. GM stated when I filed my complaint with them that they will not review any vehicle issues unless serviced by a GM dealer. They also offered no opinion when I told them GM has multiple service bulletins on the clunking issue and this defective part. I know of at least 15 similar complaints filed with the NHTSA. Apparently, GM won't take ownership of defective parts unless someone loses steering, dies and they are sued. So much for customer service. I am curious how many other intermediate shafts have been replaced by GM or other mechanics - maybe hundreds or thousands. I also had to replace two front defective outer tie rod ends at 30,000 miles and this is with gentle driving. Looks like another defective part and dangerous too if not caught in time.

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #22

Nov 112010

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had to replace the power steering pump, and steering intermediate shaft, both tie rod ends. This is all steering related issues on a Buick Lacrosse 2005 that had only 26,333 miles. I feel that this auto should not have had these problems at this mileage. I sent a copy of complaint to GM they will do nothing about any of these problems until there would be a recall. This is a safety issue. Updated 10/06/11.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #21

Jan 082010

LaCrosse

  • 35,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. The contact was driving approximately 15 mph when the steering wheel exhibited an unusual clicking noise. In addition, when applying the brakes there was a slight jerk felt in the steering wheel and brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that he was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to a different dealer for a second opinion where the technician stated that the steering column would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,500.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #20

Nov 152010

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
My 2005 Lacrosse has 25,000 miles and I am about to take it in for the third time for the steering column grinding problem. GM better figure something out because Ford are looking better than ever. The steering column has been replaced twice in the previous visits.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #19

Nov 152010

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
My 2005 Lacrosse has 25000 miles and I am about to take it in for the third time for the steering column grinding problem. GM better figure something out because Ford are looking better than ever. All they seem to do is lube the steering column and expect you back later.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #18

Aug 152010

LaCrosse

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 53000 miles on this car and it's been clunking every time I turn the steering wheel left or right. I'm told this is a problem with the intermediate shaft. I'll be getting it repaired as soon as possible. Shame on GM. That said, I'll guess im going with Toyota or Honda!!

- Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA

problem #17

Sep 252009

LaCrosse

  • 34,020 miles
I have a noisy steering column, took it to the dealer this is what I was told: Lube lower steering shaft rubber seal, slight improvement. Will have to disassemble steering column to eliminate all noises." There was no improvement and the noise seems to be getting worse. Of course that dealer is out of business due to GM elimination of dealerships. Not sure what my next recourse should be, I just hope it is safe to drive. Have about 40,000 miles on a 2005 Buick Lacrosse cxs.

- Lowell, MI, USA

problem #16

Sep 012005

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,130 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated there was an abnormal screech coming from the steering wheel when turning in either direction. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where an unknown service was performed on the vehicle. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The dealer was unable to provide a remedy to correct the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The contact stated the failure persisted and became progressively worse. The failure mileage was 13,130 and the current mileage is 23,000. Updated 02/23/11 the dealer replaced the intermediate steering shaft. Updated 07/01/11

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #15

Apr 152010

LaCrosse

  • 30,000 miles
Clunking noise while steering... brought it to my dealer...knew right away the trouble....said that steering was a problem with my model...involves intermediate steering column part....required lubrication and replacement of part and labor....car only had 30,000 miles.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #14

Sep 152009

LaCrosse

  • 15,000 miles
Clunking in steering column.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 152010

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Power steering pump is going out on a GM 2005 Buick Lacrosse after only 70,000 miles. GM currently has a recall out on several models for power steering problems. Seems to me that there is a strong possibility that the issue with my car is related.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #12

Jul 172008

LaCrosse

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. Upon starting the vehicle, he could hear a humming sound coming from the vehicle but could not determine the exact location. The steering wheel would not engage and after the engine began to idle for a few moments, the humming sound disappeared and the steering returned to its original state. The contact believed that the defect existed in the power steering module and the rack and pinion. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 30,000.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #11

Oct 302009

LaCrosse

  • 32,939 miles
Buick made noise when turning a corner with around 30,000 miles on car. The steering intermediate shaft had to be replaced which cured the problem. It could have been lubricated instead, but this would have only been a temporary solution. There is a bulletin on this defect, but we feel that GM should have recalled this model, rather than lubricating the shafts until the warranty had expired. This noise had been noticed long before this; however it didn't always occur every corner so had to wait until it was ongoing to locate the problem.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #10

Jul 302009

LaCrosse

  • 18,000 miles
Have had steering issues twice, both related to grease used in bottom of steering column. Have been told that grease leaks and/or liquefies over time causing rack to groan due to lack of lubrication, eventually leading to failure of rack if not promptly serviced. Have been advised this will be an on-going issue year after year.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #9

Jun 012008

LaCrosse

  • miles
2005 Buick Lacrosse was bought used with slightly over 44,000 miles back in may of 2008 and was taken to the dealership for acceleration and transmission shifting issues several times since purchase. Car would not accelerate, losing power while going up hills, bogging down while slightly accelerating to pass, and the transmission would shimmy between 1st and 2nd gears, and clunk when coming to a stop. Naturally, the dealership played the guessing game replacing the catalytic converter, the torque converter and sensor, and even re-programmed the computer, and could no longer duplicate any problems once they had run out of their options two months ago the car developed a clicking noise while turning the steering wheel either direction, the dealer was able to determine within an hour that it was the intermediate steering shaft and proposed lubrication to resolve the issue for a cost of over $300. Sounds like they were already aware of this popular issue.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?