Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,537 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Buick LaCrosse steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Jul 152013

LaCrosse

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. While backing out of the driveway and turning the steering wheel, there was an abnormal noise that came from the steering column without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the knuckle at the bottom of the steering column was not equipped with a grease fitting and was the cause of the abnormal noise. The entire steering column would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Perrysville, OH, USA

problem #47

Oct 142015

LaCrosse

  • 89,000 miles
Sway bar cracked both ends. This repair shop claims they replace 2-3 sway bars on GM vehicles per month.

- Chillicothe, IL, USA

problem #46

Aug 172015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 118,500 miles
The power steering was very tight and required a lot of effort to turn the wheel. The mechanic said the car needs a new rack and pinion, hose and alignment. Very costly....updated 11/04/15

- Charles City, IA, USA

problem #45

Aug 242014

LaCrosse

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. On August 24, 2014, while driving approximately 65 mph, the power steering and brakes failed. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a concrete divider. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered back, knee, and neck pain that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a wreckage yard by a private tow company. The contact received a recall notification after the crash occurred for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was unknown.

- North Highlands, CA, USA

problem #44

Jan 182015

LaCrosse

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. While making a right turn at low speeds, the contact heard a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle. In addition, the contact stated that the steering wheel seized and the brake pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the ignition cylinder needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Lutherville, MD, USA

problem #43

Sep 022014

LaCrosse

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving a various speeds, the power steering sensor light illuminated as the power steering malfunctioned causing the steering wheel to become very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the power steering was faulty. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Abbington, PA, USA

problem #42

Jun 222014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 97,978 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was on my way back home which is rochester, NY. I was coming from porsmouth, va. From burying my mother which she pass on June 3, 2014. I had a car accident on June 22, 2014. A car was coming over into my lane from the left lane cut me short, I tried not to hit the car turn my car to the right but the car hit my car and made my car go out of control went to the left and hit the center concrete barrier with the left front portion of my car, then I veered across both lanes and struck the East rock embankment before my car coming to rest in the left lane of travel facing North. The crash occurred northbound on L-476 pa turnpike at 0850 hours. My daughter and I was hurt in that crash. We went to the hospital we had to do therapy and as of September 25 2014 I am still going to therapy. The car that I was in the crash with was my Buick Lacrosse 2005. The car key jump out of the ignition on top of the dashboard and the key was bent into the shape of a horse shoe and my car was total in that crash.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #41

Sep 062013

LaCrosse

  • miles
I brought my car to my mechanic for regular inspection. I have a strange noise in the steering base when I turn the wheel or apply the brakes. He told me it was in the steering column and my airbag light comes on and will not go off. I found that there was a recall for the brake pedal pushrod retainer and I went to the Buick dealership and they told me there was no problem, yet I have a vehicle history summary for it. How can I get it fixed if they deny it?

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #40

Sep 012012

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel and front end of the vehicle began to shake. The contact also stated that the vehicle veered to the right. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired, but the repairs were unknown and the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Sutton, WV, USA

problem #39

Aug 262014

LaCrosse

  • 64,000 miles
Pulled into parking lot and lost power steering. Lots of clunking and grinding just prior. Mechanic says power steering hoses, rack and pinion and tie rods. Yet another problem with this vehicle. GM was aware enough of the problem that they put a supervisor on the line but said that it is out of warranty now, so it's not their problem. Going to try to work with local guys to get out of it. Not sinking another penny into this car. If this had happened on the highway, I'd be dead.

- Eagle River, AK, USA

problem #38

Aug 142014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 80,810 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Broken stabilizer bar, sway bar links and bushings were replaced.several days later there was leakage under the drivers side of car. After checking fluids all seemed in order. But leakage continued until I assume fluid was low or out. Now I notice a steering wheel squeal whenever I turn the steering wheel, regardless of low or high speed. I understand power steering is still a problem. When will there be a recall?

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #37

Oct 012013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 84,700 miles
A creaking sound was noticed usually when turning the steering wheel or in a constant state turn mostly at speeds below 40 mph. Car was taken to a GM (Buick ) dealer garage and it was diagnosed as the rack and pinion. Dealer recommended replacing the rack and pinion, tie rods, power steering pump and hose and also recommended replacing the struts. I took the car to a garage that does md state inspections to have the car inspected and they quickly found the issue....the front stabilizer bar was fatigue cracked completely through at the attach point on one end and only the bolt was holding it together. The stabilizer bar was replaced and the noise went away. If I had taken the GM dealer's advice I would have spent at least $1,850 and still had the problem. The mech. At the inspection station says that this is a chronic problem with certain GM makes/models.

- Middletown, MD, USA

problem #36

Jul 142013

LaCrosse

  • 72,500 miles
This is the fifth (5th) time the rack and pinion has gone out on this vehicle in the past three months - May 2013 through July 2013. This does not make any sense - the vehicle was repaired with "genuine GM parts" and still continues to go out in about a week after install. When is someone going to address this issue" I send complaint after complaint to you and to the Buick people and nothing is being done. What good does it do to keep sending complaints to your Agency" what good does it do to send complaints to Buick and General Motors - nothing is going to happen, nothing is going to be fixed. Bah!!!!!!! I will definitely never purchase another american vehicle again! nothing but the runaround. If my name was shaquille O'neal they would be sending me a brand new vehicle to shut me up.

- Camden, AR, USA

problem #35

Jun 282013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 72,500 miles
Car was repaired Thursday, June 27, 2013, picked up on Thursday, June 27, 2013, rack and pinion went out Friday night, June 28, 2013 for the fourth () time in less than two months. Something needs to be done about this defect. There was no warning, steering got tight, pulled over and checked the fluid, was empty, put some more in and it poured out the bottom on the driver's side. Just like the other three times.

- Camden, AR, USA

problem #34

Jun 232013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
My son was driving and the rack and pinion went out again. This is the third time in two months. Something needs to be done about this vehicle before something serious happens like lost of life.

- Camden, AR, USA

problem #33

May 282013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 67,800 miles
Son was driving to pick up his mother from work. Steering became hard to turn (2nd time in one month). Vehicle was repaired for rack and pinion problems not one month ago. Problem has recurred. GM is aware that there is a problem with this platform (shared with Buick lucerne) and chooses not to fix or address the problem until there is loss of life. The NHTSA is aware that there is a problem also.

- Camden, AR, USA

problem #32

Apr 302013

LaCrosse

  • 67,549 miles
My wife and son have complained for last couple of months that the power steering is becoming more and more difficult to turn, makes funny noises, bumping/thumping sound, when turning, a low sounding screeching no power steering fluid. My son was driving to football practice the power steering went out on while turning a corner, impossible to turn. A classmate with him, and together they had to turn the car (almost wrecking the vehicle). I went to get the car and checked the fluid level, there was none in the pump. I put some in and checked under the car. Power steering fluid was pouring out under the driver's side. After filling it again, they power steering worked for only a moment or so, screeching at the same time and shortly thereafter, it no longer worked. I thought it was a busted power steering hose. My wife took it to the shop, they put it upon the rack and we were told it was the rack and pinion that went out. That it would cost around $700 to repair it. The car is in the shop for repairs as I am typing this - mileage is around 67,500 - problem initially began (per my wife and son) a couple of months or so ago. I do not drive that vehicle, otherwise I probably would have noticed the problem much sooner. There are several Buick vehicles built on the same type of platform as our 2005 Buick Lacrosse that have recalls. Why is there not a recall on this vehicle since the problems appears to be across the board? almost all the complaints I researched about this problem with Buick Lacrosse is a repeat of what others have complained about. Buick (General Motors) should assume all responsibility for this defect - yes I said defect." It is more cost effective to ignore the problem and wait until they are forced to address it. My boy almost had wreck behind it and General Motors/Buick won't fix it until someone gets seriously injured or killed. Enough said.

- Camden, AR, USA

problem #31

Oct 172012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 44,451 miles
My local Buick dealer replaced the steering rack on my 2005 Buick Lacrosse cxl on Wednesday, October 17, 2012. The symptoms included a loud whine when accelerating after a left turn. A seal in the steering rack leaked, and the power steering fluid leaked into the boot, but not on to the ground. GM refuses to pay for this problem, and I feel that it is a potential safety issue. I believe that this steering rack may be common to Buick regal, Pontiac Grand Prix, and Chevrolet Impala. I am the original owner of this car.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #30

Sep 032012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
My complaint is a duplicate of all the other steering complains. It has a crunching-grinding sound and it is getting worse. It started at about 41,000 miles. I see that it started much earlier with many other Lacrosse's. what is wrong with you GM"?" why is there not a recall on this. I just purchased this vehicle from a reputable dealer and of course it started just three months after. I even purchased the extended warranty which of course does not cover this. I cannot afford to fix this. I have never owned a GM before and thought that this could be my lucky car. Wrong.

- Ellington, CT, USA

problem #29

Jan 012011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The steering is becoming very stiff. Checked power steering fluid and it's ok. Is there a history of this? have not gotten any recall notice or service bulletins. Steering column seems to be too loose and rattles.

- Tequesta, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?