Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Buick Regal engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Buick Regal:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Buick Regal Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Oct 192016

Regal

  • 226,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. While refueling the vehicle, the contact noticed smoke coming from the engine compartment. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed that the engine compartment caught fire. The contact extinguished the fire. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 226,000.

- Bel Aire, KS, USA

problem #25

Apr 042016

Regal 6-cyl

  • 188,000 miles
Please refer to the letter attached below. It is a copy of the letter that was originally sent to the Georgia attorney general consumer protection division on June 2, 2016. Thank you

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #24

Jun 162016

Regal

  • 68,300 miles
I have 2002 Buick Regal, had fixed for low coolant light sign problem several time by dealer, last repair was done 1-26-2016 by dealer and do not show any more low coolant sign of light, 20 days later my car stopped in the middle of road, I towed it to same dealer, dealer told me that transmission need to be replaced by verbal, I towed it to transmission shop and repaired and I complainted to state of ca, in Feb. 2016, I had recall notice from GM, I had recall service done by another GM dealer in March 2016, investigator from the state looked through my car in May 20 2016, investigator found the sign of low coolant light was not displayed when he turned engine on, every other signs of engine light displayed except low coolant sign of light, I paid $131 to dealer where I had recall service donein May 27, 2016, I explained them all the service light displays but the low coolant light whe engine turned on, they told me that my car need new cluster and it will cost $1009. My car drives smoothly and I have to buy coolant and pour it to radiator myself, check fluid level every day to be safe, this is very stressful and make me nervous to go out and enjoy my life, my car is only 14 years old and 68300 miles driven, I need mere investigation why dealer want me to change the whole cluster instead of little problem of mechanical wire connection " or bulb " I had problem with odor meter between 2013-2015 and dealer told me that it would cost $ 1000,00 but odor meter owner fixed with little charge, I need help! please. The other dealer sent me the check $ $409.23 because investigator told them. I noticed the case number was different in the check, I told investigator about it and he told me it is ok to deposit the check so I did and cashed out.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 022015

Regal

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #22

Jan 162016

Regal

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. After the vehicle was started, the check engine warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine oil pan gasket, valve cover gasket set, and spark plugs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #21

Apr 012016

Regal

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle decelerated independently without warning. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the intake gasket was leaking oil and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #20

Dec 232015

Regal

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Leaking oil from engine when stationary.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #19

Feb 262016

Regal

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The part needed was not available. The dealer cancelled an appointment twice, stating that the parts were still not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #18

Apr 102010

Regal

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact stated that the rear valve cover gasket had a severe oil leak. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the contact was concerned that the manufacturer was not replacing the rear valve cover gasket and the recall repair would not be sufficient. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #17

Mar 072016

Regal

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact stated that as soon as the vehicle was parked, it immediately caught on fire. A police and a fire report were filed. The fire department extinguished the fire. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 141,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #16

Feb 112016

Regal

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. After parking the vehicle, smoke and flames were present under the hood. The contact extinguished the flames using a cloth. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 170,000.

- Yadkinbill, NC, USA

problem #15

Feb 242016

Regal

  • 70,000 miles
Recall 15757, only requires GM to repair front valve cover & gasket.this was done at palm Chevy ocala fl. Remedy applied under earlier recalls did not adequately remove safety risk! GM & dealer refuse to repair rear valve cover & gasket leaking oil on engine block! request improved remedy recall before engine fire ignites. Both stated I can pay for repairs? half a recall remedy is not acceptable. Oil accumulates during engine running & in motion.palm cevy 2300 sw college rd ocala fl #352 629 8011.invoice cvs6487,02/24/16. Requesting complete safety repairs on front & rear valve covers due to oil leaks on engine by GM & dealers.GM has received other notifications and aware of this problem by other owners!!

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 012016

Regal

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15701000 (engine) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 242016

Regal

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact stated that the battery failed and had to be jumpstarted. After driving the vehicle, smoke appeared under the hood and an abnormal gurgling noise was heard. Flames appeared and the contact, bystanders, and fire department extinguished the fire. There were no injuries. The contact was unsure if a police report was filed and if the vehicle was towed and salvaged. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Cinnainson, NJ, USA

problem #12

Dec 042015

Regal

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Eunice, LA, USA

problem #11

Jan 032016

Regal

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 5 mph, smoke emitted from underneath the hood. There was no flames visible. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who informed that engine oil leaked onto the exhaust manifold and other areas in the engine. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 03/15/16

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 012015

Regal

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact stated that after the vehicle was parked, smoke emitted from the engine compartment without warning. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the engine was engulfed in flames. The contact extinguished the fire. No injuries were reported. The vehicle was inspected and repaired by an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and failed to provide any assistance under NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) due to the vehicle being previously repaired by an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- San Bernandino, CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 202015

Regal

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. While driving various speeds, smoke emitted from under the hood of the vehicle. While the vehicle was parked, the contact witnessed engine oil dripping onto the exhaust manifold. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 136,000.

- Greensburg, IN, USA

problem #8

Nov 252015

Regal

  • 149,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, the vehicle caught on fire near the engine. The contact was able to extinguish the fire. No police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The approximate failure mileage was 149,000.

- Blloomsburg, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 062015

Regal

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Regal. The contact stated that there was a progressing leak of oil and fumes associated with the engine. The contact notified the dealer more than once and they were not able to provide a remedy to prevent the condition. The contact noticed strong oil and fuel fumes on the exterior and interior of the vehicle. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact called more than one dealer and they were unable to supply the part within a reasonable time frame to receive the recall remedy. The manufacturer was also unable to provide a reasonable time frame for when the part would be available. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Clarence Center, NY, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?