Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,010 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Buick Rendezvous electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Buick Rendezvous:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Buick Rendezvous Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Jan 022008


  • 68,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Buick Rendezvous. The contact was traveling 60 mph when the speedometer displayed that he was traveling 1 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the cluster board would need replacing. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Newport Richey, FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 012009


  • 33,000 miles
Speedometer worked erratically showing wrong mph. This was similar problem with other GM vehicles that resulted on a law suit and settlement. Speedometer was defective and the same sub - contractor produced these units. GM refused to make good on this.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #19

Nov 172009


  • 95,000 miles
Speedometer often reads the wrong speed, fuel gauge does not work properly, sometimes the rpms are also off! has been happening for over 6 months!

- Hoffman Estates , IL, USA

problem #18

Jun 092004


  • miles


The contact owns a 2004 Buick Rendezvous. While driving approximately 65 mph on normal road conditions, the speedometer and fuel gauge displayed inaccurate readings. The speed that was displayed was lower than the actual traveled speed. The failure occurred intermittently. The driver observed that the failure occurred more frequently when traveling extended distances. In addition, the contact was concerned about driving around curves without the benefit of knowing the desired speed. There were no warnings prior to the failures. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the failures were contributed to malfunctions of the instrument cluster, which needed to be replaced. The service warranty was expired and the vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer has been notified of the failures. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown. The current mileage was 51,000.

- Fulton, IL, USA

problem #17

Feb 152009


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Buick Rendezvous. The contact stated that the speedometer and fuel gauge display inaccurate readings. The gauges show the incorrect speed and fuel amount. The failure has been occurring for approximately one year, but the vehicle has not been diagnosed. He feels that it is a safety issue because he does not know how fast he is driving or how much fuel is in the vehicle. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 70,000.

- Amherst, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 182009


  • 38,000 miles
Speedometer and fuel gauge goes nuts and not working.

- Ashland, OH, USA

problem #15

Dec 152008


  • miles


The speedometer goes nuts and at times the fuel gage does not work.

- Ashland, OH, USA

problem #14

Oct 052008


  • 75,000 miles
A complete electrical system failure occurs periodically without any warning on my 2004 Buick Rendezvous. This is the exact same problem in the recall notice issued by NHTSA 05V157000. I contact GM about this problem and their position is the recall is not specific/covered by my VIN number. I suggest all 2004 Buick Rendezvous be considered for this recall as this is a potentially serious problem.

- Pacific Palisades, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 082005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,685 miles
1) upon running the air conditioner on hot days, it would make loud moaning sound when ignition was shut off 2) compressor has gone out for the second time and air conditioner will no longer blow cold air. 3) 03/05 replaced valve core and 08/05 R&R or replaced case.

- Rossville, TN, USA

problem #12

Jul 192006

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
2004 Buick Rendezvous quits running. Engine shuts off while driving. Dealer replaced PCM and some part of a wiring harness. Car was good for 3 months and then the problem came back. Had it towed to a garage that disconnected and reconnected modules and whatever. Car was good for a month and then today it quit running again. It is a dangerous situation that needs to be addressed.

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #11

Apr 252005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,545 miles


My 2004 Buick Rendezvous has been in the shop 8 times in 10 1/2 months. Currently I am experiencing a loud noise (much like an air raid horn) while I am stopped in traffic and when I turn my vehicle off. It started back in April, the dealership could not recreate the noise, in the shop again 11/4/05 and again 11/11/05. I just do not feel safe in the car. I it is getting progressively worse, louder and more frequent, lasting longer. I purchased my vehicle 17 Dec 04 and the very next day had a break problem. My service record is as follows: 1) 12/20/04- ABS light on - all wheel drive disabled 2) 01/27/05 - ABS light on - all wheel drive disabled 3) 4/25/05 - ABS light on all wheel drive disabled would not drive over 40 mph - 3) 4/25/05 - passenger side mirror clicking when vehicle is put into reverse 3) 4/25/05 vehicle makes a loud air horn noise when vehicle is turned off 4) 5-19/05 - ABS light on - all wheel drive disabled 4) 5/19/05 - vehicle looses power when making left turns or on incline 4) 5/16/05 installed rear lift gate latch 5) 7/15/05 driver side mirror glass came loose 6) 9/01/05 - drivers side power window inoperative- 7) 11/4/05 - very loud acceleration - exhaust manifold leaking right exhaust manifold 7) 11/4/05 loud noise while driving vehicle, stopping in traffic and when vehicle is turned off 8) 11/11/05 wobble in left front tire- reface front rotors out of round 8) 11/11/05 took vehicle in for the loud air horn noise while driving, stopping in traffic and turning vehicle off - had a 5 minute discussion with service person about this and it did not even make it on the invoice.

- Ft. Washingon, MD, USA

problem #10

Sep 082005

Rendezvous 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle's manual states 18/25 mpg, vehicle average 13.0 mpg. Service department at rydell (dealership) stated 18 mpg after 40 miles test drive, service department at Vermont Chevy/Buick (dealership) stated 27 mpg after 25 (freeway) miles test drive. Both service departments are wrong: Vehicle averages 13.0 mpg under normal driving conditions & normal driving habits on city streets and freeway. Dealer could not duplicate problem, I was advised that vehicle checked ok after scan. Problem persists. Service advisor/service manager advised that this high mpg is normal for this type of vehicle: 3.6 L engine. Door locks sometimes work, sometimes don't. dealer could not duplicate problem. Scan and check system after recall. Problem persisting. Passenger side mirror moves inside mirrors housing at highway speeds (65 M/H) and have to be re-set upon reaching destination. Dealer could not duplicate problem. Problem persisting. Audio system could not read all cds. Dealer replaced radio/cd player twice. Problem persisting. Driver's seat moves back and forth. Dealer replaced seat adjuster due to excessive loosening. Replaced seat track assy. Vehicle went to rydell's service department three (3) times due to excessive alignment/steering issues: Vehicle currently still pulling to right side of road, steering wheel off center. Dealer did not resolve issues after three attempts, alignment now out of warranty (7.5 K miles only), problem persisting.

- Toluca Lake, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 232005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,350 miles
Purchased 2004 Buick Rendezvous 6/22/2005 and while traveling to work on busy belt-line waiting in traffic, the vehicle just shut down completely and battery light came on. Put vehcile in neutral and it restarted. Later found that presets in radio had all been erased which would indicate a complete loss of electrical power. This has the potential to be a serious safety concern due to the possibilty of rear end collisions. Have read of similar complaints from other owners of this vehicle with out resolution. Will contact dealership if problem continues to happen.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #8

Oct 102004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I brought a Buick rendevouz on July 17,2004. From the very first week I had it I told the dealer the gas gage doesnot work properly. They checked it over and still cannot find ahything wrong with it. And it still not working properply now but theat is not the biggest issu with this vehicle. The first incident 10.10.04. I was driving on the highway to work when the vehilce just stalls out. I didn't know what was going on. The car get rolling for a couple of sceonds and then I applied the brake put the car in park. A couple of seconds later I started the truck up and begin driving. I dropped the truck off to the dealer and told them what had occurred. They replaced a apart and sent me on my way. Since then the vidhilce hase stalled out over 10 times. And someday it stalls out twice a day. I have brought it back to the dealer and they keep changeing and replacing parts but its not fixing the stalling out. I am scared that me and my daughter will killed from it stalling out. They just changed something witht the transmisson and now it back in the shop with the same problem.

- Bklyn, NY, USA

problem #7

Apr 062005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,523 miles
My second complaint (10110658). I was driving down the highway at speeds between 55 - 65mph; when I slowed down as I was approaching the light, the car cut off. I shift the gear back to park and restarted the vehicle and proceeded. The car had been warm for 20 minutes and it was around 7:40 a.M. in the morning. This is at least the 8th incident where I've been in the middle of traffic and having to restart my vehicle. I'm concerned about a possible accident in the near by future. After taking it back to the dealership in February, they suggested that I tried using fuel from more reputable gas stations such as shell, texaco, amoco. Using better gas has not resoved this problem.

- White Plains, MD, USA

problem #6

Jul 122004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle stalled in traffic sometimes with cruise control on and sometimes with cruise control off. While on the highway at 55 mph vehicle just stopped and was almost rear ended by a tractor trailer. The ignition and the computer were changed. Dealer stated there was nothing defective. On several occasions while driving with no warning the vehicle came to a complete stop. Consumer could hear other vehicle applying thier brakes and the car following swerved to the right to avoid hitting the vehicle, whice could have resulted in a serious accident or/and death.

- Thornville, OH, USA

problem #5

Oct 012004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving, the vehicle would just shut down. This caused all the functions of the vehicle to become inoperable. There was no warning. The vehicle would not start again for a couple of hours. The consumer contacted the dealer. However, the problem recurred. In attempts to correct the problem the ignition relay #59 in the fuse box and the dampness/corrosion on the terminals to the body connector of the fuel pump were replaced on two separate occasions.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 182004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
Purchased the vehicle on 7/15/04, 3 days later upon startup the security light on the dashboard came on and stayed on until the vehicle was restarted. Dealer replaced a body control module and that solved the problem. In October 04, the engine stalled while pulling into a parking space; as the engine stalled the check engine light came on. Vehicle restarted and check engine light turned off. Had vehicle towed to the dealer and several body control modules were replaced. During this time had an intermittent problem with the radio not holding presets, also upon startup the radio would randomly pick a station that was not preset. I will have to return to the dealer in the near future for a possible problem with the anti-theft; the dashboard light does not flash to show that it is armed, also a rubbing noise coming from the right front area just as the vehicle starts to move either forward or rearward. Worst american car I have ever owned and will never buy another GM car again.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #3

Sep 232004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,205 miles
Vehicle stalled while stopped at intersection - occurred twice in 2 days. Subsequently vehicle experienced excessive cranking to start - twice. Orange Buick serviced the vehicle and repaired a wire harness that had been worn. 2 days later while driving the vehicle at 30 mph the vehicle lost all power (engine and electrical), I had to turn on the flashers and pull on to the shoulder. Once the vehicle was stopped I put it in park and it restarted. However, the 'traction control off' light was on and after pressing the button it remained on.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 212004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
Suddenly about 3 months ago the vehicle began to stall in traffic while being driven. The dash board lights all go off, the radio washes out the presets, when the engine is turned off sometimes the radio presets are erased. Many times the auto locks and unlocks when sitting in the lot. The dealer has worked on it at least five times, two engine control modules, a new wiring harness, the auto has had its radio "recalibrated" this thing is dangerous because it keeps shutting off while driving. Dealer says he has had multiple problems with similar cars, and that they continue to behave irrationally. Obviously an electrical problem, GM denies there is anything wrong, but when it shuts off going 0-60 mph on the highway there is a problem. Not to mention that when the dash board lights shut off, or the radio starts to act unusual it is very unsafe especially at night. One time the steering wheel radio button were switched, seek was band, and band seek.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?