Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
323,476 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Aveo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Jul 022014

Aveo

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light came on and stayed on. Upon inspection at dealership it was suggested that the clock and wiring from the airbag component to the clock be replaced to fix a sensor malfunction issue. Warned that if issue was not fixed, it was possible that the airbag would fail to deploy in the case of an accident.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #12

Jun 112014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 171,000 miles
To whom this may concern, I recently replaced a defective ignition cylinder and a ignition housing in my steering wheel column costing over four hundred dollars including labor cost. I have owned many old used cars and several new vehicles. I have never replaced a ignition switch. I am the original owner and still own this vehicle today. I have spent thousands of dollars on my automobile. The most expensive was the $1600. Dollar timing chain breakdown. It is really a shame new cars are built so that they do breakdown. Being the ignition switch and ignition housing I believe this problem should be recalled on Chevrolet Aveos, as well. This part was deemed to have broken due to the extreme nature of GMC ignition problem. Thank you for your time and all efforts. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #11

May 212014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I received NHTSA campaign number 14V26 in my email messages. I registered to receive them. I am not sure if the message was for an individual car or all cars involved. The message stated that 218,000 cars were involved. I gave the customer service representative the last 8 digits of my VIN. I am confused. My car is one of the cars involved. Why wasn't recalled? I have enclosed a copy of notice 14236. Report receipt date: May 19, 2014 NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 component(s): Potential number of units affected: 218,000 all products associated with this recall details 2 associated documents manufacturer: General Motors llc summary: General Motors is recalling certain model year 2004-2008 Chevrolet Aveo vehicles equipped with daytime running lights (drl). In the affected vehicles, there may be heat generated within the drl module located in the center console in the instrument panel, which could melt the drl module. Consequence: If the drl module melts due to the heat generation, it could cause a vehicle fire. Remedy: The remedy for this recall campaign is still under development. The manufacturer has not yet provided a notification schedule. Owners may contact General Motors customer service at 1-800-222-1020 (Chevrolet). General Motors recall number for this campaign is 14236. I am confused. If I made a mistake explan the procedure. Is a recall for an individual car or all cars that are in the recall?

- Chicago Heights, IL, USA

problem #10

Jun 112012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a used 2008 Chevy Aveo in June 2011. Nearly one year later I started having issues with it. June 2012 - valve cover gasket was cracked and caused smoking after an oil change. Repaired at dealership. Sept. 9, 2013 - sputtering and stalling. Was told it was due to a hold in the exhaust pipe. Replaced at dealership. Sept. 16, 2013 - still experiencing power issues. Was told I needed new spark plugs and wires. Replaced at dealership. Nov. 7, 2013 - engine light came on. Was told it was a faulty cam sensor. Replaced at dealership. Jan. 23, 2014 - engine light came on. Was told the oxygen sensor had failed. Replaced at dealership. April 20, 2014 - TPMS light finally went off after being on for 3 months. Air conditioner stopped working the same day. Was told it was an electrical issue (ac clutch). During the same visit an inspection found the right front top bushing worn, left lower bushing worn, and rear cross member bushing broken. I sent a letter to Chevrolet, expressing my disappointment in the quality of the Aveo. My other Chevy vehicles had been great, but this Aveo fell short. After speaking to someone in customer service, who"in response to my statement "individuals who purchase these kinds of economy cars are typically on a budget and can't afford the repairs the Aveo has needed due to its poor quality""simply told me that it was not her fault that I couldn't afford a better car. I will never buy another Chevy again.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #9

May 012014

Aveo

  • 89,704 miles
Second time that the headlights went out while I was driving at night. Car smells like something is burning.

- Beaver Falls , PA, USA

problem #8

Mar 112013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
In March the vehicle shut completely down and the fan belt popped and wrap around the motor and had damaged the timer belt. Two months later the vehicle was driven to the post office and when cranking it up to leave it wouldn't start because it had shut down again. September 27, 2013 the vehicle shut down the steering wheel locked up and couldn't be guided and ran into a fire hydrant.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 112013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 10 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 26,000. The consumer stated the vehicle would not start. Updated 11/18/13

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #6

Sep 112013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 36,900 miles
Airbag light came on and has not gone off. I have had nothing but problems out of this vehicle. Mar 2010, I took the vehicle in to the dealer for making loud scrubbing noises when turning. I was told it was nothing. Oct 2010 it was electrical problems. I had 19,300 miles on the vehicle when the brake lights went out and check engine light was on. Oct 2012, it was electrical problems and the vehicle would not start at all. I had 30,300 miles on the vehicle and it cost $600 in repairs. June 2013, the A/C went out. I had 34,000 miles on the vehicle and it cost $573 to replace the compressor (first and only time I went to another mechanics shop). Sep 2013, the airbag light came on. GM wants $100 just to run a diagnostic to tell me why it's on. My goodness, as many times as I have brought the vehicle to GM haven't I paid enough in diagnostics? this is ridiculous! I am never buying anything with Chevrolet written on it again. I believe GM knows what is wrong with this vehicle. If I wasn't on a fixed income I would get rid of it.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #5

Oct 052012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 30,300 miles
I noticed my driver's side headlight was out and wires attached to the headlight underneath the hood had burnt out. The next day the vehicle would not start at all. I had it jumped off and had a diagnostic ran on the battery. I was told it was not the battery but the alternator. The next day, I decided to take the vehicle to a Chevrolet dealer so I had it jumped off again. Initially, both headlights came on and a minute later; both headlights went out. The dealer kept the car two days before telling me sockets melted, the battery would have to be replaced along with bulbs and wires. Never once did they mention that there was a problem with the 2002-2008 Chevy Aveo electrical system. The dealer initially wanted to charge $1027.42 and they said they had no idea how this problem had occurred. I only had 30,300 miles on the vehicle. The dealer later charged me 563..44 but they cut many corners. After some internet research, I discovered that these type of problems have occurred with the Chevy Aveo for years! when I contacted GM, their response was that the 3 year warranty had expired so there wasn't much they could do. GM didn't even mention the electrical system problem!

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The driver airbag sensor malfunctioned, and the airbag is no longer engaged, which is indicated by the driver air bag light remaining on while the engine is turned on. The dash light, passenger tail lamp and the passenger fog light all stopped working simultaneously. Passenger tail lamp doesn't work even after replacing the bulbs, which suggests there is an electrical issue.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #3

Oct 052011

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While parked outside where my husband works, a fire occurred in the dashboard of the car. The heat was so intense, the windshield shattered. A giant hole - bigger than a bowling ball was left in the top of the dashboard. The car was a total loss and we still had 23 payments on this car. Since the electrical system was destroyed, no diagnostics were run, and no assistance with trying to find out why this happened or if it was due to a manufacturing issue was offered. Prior to this, nothing indicated a problem. I'm just glad we weren't driving the car at the time or I might not be here to write this. Updated 05/17/12

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 012011

Aveo

  • miles
Since purchase of my 2008 Chevy Aveo I have experienced strange and inconsistent electrical issues. I am no longer driving the car, and GM never figured out the cause of the issue. I would like an investigation that would lead to you guys taking the car, finding the central issue (because nobody can) to find out if it is worthy of a national recall!

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #1

May 182009

Aveo

  • miles
Chevy Aveo 2008 bought brand new in May 18 2009 still under warranty when I bought the car there was a defect in it and the car salesman did not report it to us when we bought the car. The failure is the instrument panel and shifter indicator lights are not working. I can not see at night how fast I am going, can't see my gauges, or when I am shifting into drive etc. I feel it is very unsafe especially driving at night. I did read that Chevy Aveo have electrical problems which I did not know until after buying the car. The consequences of the failure is that it is unsafe and it will not pass safety inspection here in the state of Hawaii. The failure to fix the needed repair can result in an accident and be danger to others. Correct the problem......I reported it to the salesman on May 20 and was referred to service the car. The dealership closed down and 2 months later the service dept. Open. The wrong part was ordered and it is over 3 months the car still not fixed...the service dept will close down this Friday on Nov. 13 2009. I have been in contact with costumer assistance several times and the service dept locally but they can't do anything as it might take several months or a year no time frame according to customer assistance from GMC. Please let me know what to do. Thank you.

- Hilo, HI, USA

Not what you are looking for?