Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 1
Average Mileage:
46,831 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Camaro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Jun 282016

Camaro

  • 51,142 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check airbag light is on. Chevrolet dealer service department inspected and found codes B0081-00 & B0074-00, noting that the passenger presence pad shorted out and that pad controls the passenger side air bag. They recommend to remove and replace passenger presence pad (part #20972507). We have extended warranty but they are stating anything safety system related is not covered and should be under a manufacturer recall.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #46

Jun 042016

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 84,000. Updated 08/30/16 updated 10/26/16.

- Westcovina, CA, USA

problem #45

Aug 142014

Camaro

  • 80 miles
I have three issues for my Camaro 2010. First and most important is the the timing chain, the chain moved and activated the cam sensors. The cost to change it is princely. Second, the air bag light on the passenger is on. Took it to the dealer and paid and still they couldn't find the issue so they wanted more money. Third, three of the tire sensors when on and dealer wants more money. The car runs with poor performance so I stop using it.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #44

Apr 082016

Camaro

  • 37,291 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just notice 2 days ago that my service repair airbag light is on. The car has 37291 miles. I have seen that this is an issue with other Camaros on the internet. Also the consumer is paying for these repair. What is going on and why should "we" pay for this?

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #43

Mar 142016

Camaro

  • miles
Air bag light is on and when taken for service at don mealey Chevrolet in clermont, fl they charged $115 for diagnostic and asked $816 for replacement part as the airbag might not deploy in the event of an accident.

- Clermont, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

Feb 062016

Camaro

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While driving at 55 mph, the contact rear ended another vehicle. As a result, the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a head concussion and cervical spine injuries that required medical attention. In addition, the driver and the passenger in the other vehicle both sustained injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent body shop. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #41

Oct 012015

Camaro

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at highway speed "service airbags" light came on for no apparent reason. This car has never been in an accident and did not come in contact with anything. Light is still on and repair "estimate" is between $750 and $1500. Car had approximately 32000 miles on the odometer when this occurred but because the car is 4 years old Chevrolet will not warranty this safety problem.

- Millville, MA, USA

problem #40

Jul 062015

Camaro

  • 42,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that while parked, the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the failure occurred when driving or parked along with a chime. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor and module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,600.

- Sherman, TX, USA

problem #39

Sep 152015

Camaro

  • 41,000 miles
My airbag service light keeps coming on. When someone sits in the passenger seat, my airbag light keeps going from on to off while someone is sitting in the seat. Safety issue is that if I get into an accident, more than likely the airbag will not deploy as expected. Faulty sensor or bad wiring I dont know but I see this issue in alot of Camaro forums and online in general.

- Fort Knox, KY, USA

problem #38

Aug 272015

Camaro

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. When the vehicle was started, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was started. The contact also stated that when the passenger seat was occupied, the service air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred each time a passenger was seated in the passenger seat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the sensor in the passenger seat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired; however, the dealer deactivated the air bag on the passenger side. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #37

Jul 062015

Camaro

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While at a complete stop, the vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle that was traveling approximately 50 mph. On impact, the steering wheel and the steering column fractured and landed in the contact's lap. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 131,000. Updated 09/18/15

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #36

Jul 102015

Camaro

  • 61,150 miles
After driving home from work, I parked my car in my driveway. I went inside my house to grab something. After 3 minutes, I went back to my car to start it. All of a sudden the service airbag message appeared. This has never happened before. I researched online and I saw numerous complaints about the 2010 Camaro and how the airbag sensors are faulty. I took my car to the Chevy dealership in bridgewater NJ. They determined that the SDM needs to be replaced on the car. They are going to charge 950 dollars for the repair. They stated that my airbags do not work. They also stated that they were unsure if the airbags could deploy on their own. This is clearly a known issue by GM, but yet no recall. Why is there no recall on this? how is GM allowed to make money off this, from 800-1000 per car. This is clearly dangerous. I have to drive with no airbags until I can afford the fix. Please investigate. Clearly this is an issue for the 2010 Camaro.

- Dunellen, NJ, USA

problem #35

Apr 012015

Camaro

  • 140,000 miles
Passenger air bag sensor keeps going off on the Camaro when driving. Even with nothing on the seat, the "service air bag" message appears on the dash, but after driving for a short distance, it goes away. Then it comes back intermittently, again with nothing on the seat. The issue started appearing on its own. I've searched in online forums and see that a lot of owners are having the same issue, and when they take it to the dealer, the dealer expects folks to pay a high price to get the issue resolved. I've verified that there are no cables unplugged under the passenger seat and even verified that all cables are plugged in snugged to the module. If the issue exists with so many people reporting the same thing, why hasn't the manufacturer done a recall on this" are they expecting a fatality to occur before this gets addressed"

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #34

Oct 012014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag failed to illuminate when the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat occupant mat sensor failed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 28,000. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the manufacturer offered to assist with less than half of the cost for repairs. The consumer declined the offer stating the manufacturer should pay in full. The manufacturer refused to pay in full due to the vehicle being out of warranty. Updated 10/1/2015

- Minocqua, WI, USA

problem #33

Oct 112011

Camaro 6-cyl

  • miles
For the past three years there has been a tear in the top of the dash on the passenger side and it appears to be something under the dash is pushing up to create the slit in the dash. I am concerned that it is the airbag and I do not know if it is getting ready to go off on its own or exactly what is going on with it as it is growing. The slit or tear is aprox. 4 inches long and the bump up is to the right of it.

- Moneta, VA, USA

problem #32

Jan 142015

Camaro

  • miles
Air bag sensor began going off on my 2010 Camaro about 2 months ago. I took car to dealership and they said it would cost almost $1000 to replace the sensor. They could not tell me which airbag sensor was defective. They also could not tell me if the air bag would deploy if vehicle is hit. They did look for air bag recalls and found none; however, the fact that they could not determine if they air bags would deploy is a serious safety issue that I am asking you to look into. A car this new should not be having any safety issues. All service on the vehicle has been performed at the GM dealership where it was purchased.

- Canyon, TX, USA

problem #31

Feb 252015

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 24,356 miles
2/25/15 - (Camaro 2010 SS2, auto) upon startup the "check airbag " alarm sounded and displayed for about 5-8 seconds, and then normalized. I drove about town 15-20 miles with no further incident. 3/3/15 - while driving unto city street, the "check airbag" alarm sounded and flashed a momentary notice to have airbag serviced. I drove about 350 miles, stopping and starting at various times without further incidence. 3/14/15 - while driving on city street (about 2 miles from home), the same occurrence as above was noted. I keep my Camaro spotless and mostly in the garage. I've dismissed these incidents, but after reading other reports of similar responses, I feel compelled to make official note thereof.

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

problem #30

Feb 022015

Camaro

  • 42,000 miles
Driving down the highway and the airbag sensor came on. It goes on/off at will. It appears after reading other post, that this is a faulty sensor in the seat and the dealers know about it. Why hasn't there been a recall? I am not sure if airbag will deploy accidentally or if it won't deploy during an accident. Either way, if someone is sitting in the passenger's seat, they are sure the get injured.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #29

Feb 012011

Camaro

  • 33,000 miles
We told dealer about trouble air bag before warranty and they checked free under warranty claimed due to oversize tires after we used tires up to milage and got new back to factory size tires and advised this did not clear up the notice on panel - check airbag as there was no light on at that time they want 1,000 to fix although we tried and even went back before the 36,000 went out to explain after warranty etc and they said no worries after tires are used and replace and realigned if it doesnt clear they would take care of it rivergate tom bannen is now serra we purchased a 2012 Camaro and noticed the recall in 2012 although we continued to drive with the check airbag code the dealer assured we were in no danger and the airbag will deploy although we are fearful it will not especially now we know there is a recall for the 2012 we know it should apply to the 2010 also fyi - we also will complain on another affected part we have paid $800 for recent that also should apply that only applies to 2012.

- Goodlettsville, TN, USA

problem #28

Dec 122014

Camaro

  • 50,000 miles
My service air bag light came on so I took it to the dealership to get it looked at. They told me it is just a sensor and you need to pay $900 for us to fix it. I don't have $900. About a month later I notice my dash on the passenger side starting to crack a bit and then a few weeks later a see my dash is now starting to bulge and it has a outline where my air bag is. I am terrified that it is going to deploy while I'm driving and my wife or a child is in the seat when it blows. I have read numerous blogs concerning the exact same issue with the air bags and I can't figure out why this is not already a recall issue.

- Kyle, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?