Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,293 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Camaro seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Camaro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Camaro Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Sep 022013

Camaro

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the passenger's present detection sensor needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000.

- Texico , NM, USA

problem #21

May 032014

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
Approaching a three-way intersection with a stop sign with intent to stop and turn right. Vehicle suddenly accelerated without accelerator input from driver. Driver was unable to brake/stop vehicle or effectively control steering/path of travel. Vehicle, according to state patrol, gains an estimated speed of 65 mph through intersection and collides with embankment/mountain hillside. At this time, car became airborne to an estimated height of 28' and landed on front driver side of vehicle first. Front airbags failed to deploy upon impact. Driver sustained a serious tbi(traumatic brain injury) & concussion due to blunt force trauma to the head due to lack of airbag deployment. Owner still continues to suffer from side effects of the tbi injury and wants to notify the public that life-threatening issues exist with this vehicle. To date, GM has issued two major recalls on this vehicle pertaining to what lead/caused the accident.

- Cascade, CO, USA

problem #20

Apr 262012

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 23,406 miles
I purchased a brand new 2011 Chevrolet Camaro in March of 2011 from a Chevrolet dealer in Georgia. Since that purchase, the airbag service indicator light/alert system has activated three (3) times. I took the vehicle to the service center at the dealership where I purchased the car on all three occasions for repair (04/26/12, 09/8/12 and 10/5/13). As of today's date, the airbag service indicator has now activated again for a fourth (4) time. The car has not been in an accident at any time during my ownership.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #19

Apr 012014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I woke up one day to find the air bag light on. I didn't think anything of it until I went to get the car inspected. The car was rejected due to the light being on. The dealership, who has done all the service since the car was purchased, told us it would be $90 to figure out what was causing the light to be on. It turns out it is the passenger side air bag sensor until the seat, the car has less than 32,000 miles on it. The passenger seat has not been used enough for it to be worn down. The cost to cure this is $729! from my understanding this car is not the only one with the issue. My dealership said they have had another vehicle which had the same thing. I have looked on the internet and have seen other Camaro owners who have had similar issues. I have filed a compliant with GM and I am awaiting their findings.

- Locust Grove , VA, USA

problem #18

Sep 302013

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 27,500 miles
The airbag light came on intermittently, and now, stays on all the time. I don't know if the airbags will deploy in an accident.

- St. Albans, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Feb 112014

Camaro

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact's vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained back and knee injuries. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 19,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #16

Jun 022014

Camaro

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated in the vehicle. The dealer stated that the air bag modulator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #15

Jun 142014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 34,478 miles
While riding in the passenger seat the air bag light switch from on to off setting several times riding down the road, it would stay on the off position for sometimes and then switch to on setting, you would have to touch the menu button in the car to get the alarm from beeping. I check and found there are a couple of service bulletins out on this issue. I called the dealership where the car was purchase and they wanted to charge me a service fee of $110 because the car just has went out of warranty. I feel this is a safety issue that should be taken care of by GM. If I am riding in the car with the air bag off this is a safety issue, I do not want to loose my life over something that GM should repair and has known about since 2009. There should be a recall on this defect to repair the air bag, this is a safety issue and lives are at risk.

- Sharpsburg, GA, USA

problem #14

Mar 012012

Camaro

  • miles
My air bag light has been on for 2 years now. I have took my car to the dealership 7 times to get this problem fixed. My vehicle was under warranty when I took it in so I didn't have to pay any money for the services. Out of all seven times they never fixed the air bag. Now I brought it in again and they are charging me $109 for services to fix my airbag. The air bag light has been on for 2 years, meaning if I get into a wreck my airbag won't work. Every time my car was released from the service department my air bag light immediately came back on after the passenger seat was adjusted. I suppose all they did was wiggle the wire under the passenger seat to get the air bag light to go off in order to return my car to me knowing that it wasn't fixed. Now they are charging me money to get the air bag fixed when it's not my fault the airbag doesn't work. I believe the manufacturer should be at fault for this problem. In addition, while my car was in the dealership services department they provided me with a rental from enterprise. But they used my insurance company instead of paying $17 a day for enterprise's insurance company. I believe this is wrong because it is the manufacturer's fault that my air bag system doesn't work properly and they should pay for enterprise's insurance on the rental car I was provided with. The trunk of my car also is broke and they are charging me $182 in order to get it fixed but I have full coverage warranty on my vehicle.

- Plaquemine, LA, USA

problem #13

May 152014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 87,456 miles
The airbag need service alert came on while my husband was driving and I on the passenger side. The next morning I called ivory Chevrolet and was told the earliest I could be seen was Monday @ 8:30am, because they only had one person that could fix the problem. I arrived @ 7:45am. At 9:00am I was asked, what's my issue and at 11:00 I asked why it was taking so long for a diagnostic and was told someone will check. Guy approach me @ 12:00 and advice me that they reset the sensor and to keep my purse out of the car seat. Three days later the airbag alert & tire alert came on. Onstar system do not show data for the front passenger side tire. I spoke with a serviceman @ ivory and was told to come back in. I really don't understand why there isn't a recall on this issue and request an explanation.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #12

Aug 142012

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 22,975 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 4 different occasions, the service airbag indicator has turned on in my car. It has been in the service department each time with work listed as connections cleaned, sensor checked, warning reset.....but no replacement parts and nothing noted as defective. I've been told putting a lap top on the passenger seat could set off the sensor.....a blue-tooth call could set off the sensor, but not why? most recent trip (#5) to hendricks motors was 04/24/2014. We picked the car up, ran errands (appx. 40 miles) and the light is on again - the same day! I have been told the air bags will still deploy, the air bags might deploy, and the air bags will not deploy, as long as the service light is on. What is my next step? I am trying to document everything in case there is an accident and the bags don't deploy.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #11

Feb 152014

Camaro

  • 56,000 miles
I was leaving work one day with no one in the passenger seat... I got a error saying service airbag. I called the dealer ship and they said my car was out of warranty and there was nothing they can do.. this is the only dealership in my town the next dealer is 250 miles away.. when a passenger gets in the car I get the error every 2 minutes it works then it doesn't it will state the airbag is on and seconds later it says it's off and a passenger is buckled up in the moving car... I'm afraid it will deploy with my young children in the car... please do a recall on the 2011 Camaro I searched recalls and there is a recall for all 2010 and 2012 Camaro airbags... why skip 2011 if something is wrong with the previous and following year then there is something wrong with the 2011 as well..

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #10

Feb 152014

Camaro

  • 56,000 miles
I was leaving work one day with no one in the passenger seat... I got a error saying service airbag. I called the dealer ship and they said my car was out of warranty and there was nothing they can do.. this is the only dealership in my town the next dealer is 250 miles away.. when a passenger gets in the car I get the error every 2 minutes it works then it doesn't it will state the airbag is on and seconds later it says it's off and a passenger is buckled up in the moving car... I'm afraid it will deploy with my young children in the car... please do a recall on the 2011 Camaro I searched recalls and there is a recall for all 2010 and 2012 Camaro airbags... why skip 2011 if something is wrong with the previous and following year then there is something wrong with the 2011 as well..

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #9

Feb 152014

Camaro

  • 56,000 miles
I was leaving work one day with no one in the passenger seat... I got a error saying service airbag. I called the dealer ship and they said my car was out of warranty and there was nothing they can do.. this is the only dealership in my town the next dealer is 250 miles away.. when a passenger gets in the car I get the error every 2 minutes it works then it doesn't it will state the airbag is on and seconds later it says it's off and a passenger is buckled up in the moving car... I'm afraid it will deploy with my young children in the car... please do a recall on the 2011 Camaro I searched recalls and there is a recall for all 2010 and 2012 Camaro airbags... why skip 2011 if something is wrong with the previous and following year then there is something wrong with the 2011 as well..

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #8

Mar 062013

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 30,028 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the driver and passenger side air bags deployed inadvertently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensors needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 30,028.

- Bridge Port, CT, USA

problem #7

Apr 062013

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 20,988 miles
I was turning right while driving the vehicle and then by mistake the back right tire and wheel hit the curve and that made a little damage to the wheel and the wheel is little bit diagonal. Worst case scenario the bearings is broken. My complaint is why would the airbags deploy that moment while the impact is only on the wheel? also my friend was sitting on the passenger seat and after the airbag deployed the powder that comes out from it got on his skin and he got burned from it, since that is a very dangerous and can cause burns if it gets on unprotected skin, and it can severely irritate the lungs if inhaled. The main point is the airbag shouldn't deploy in a small damage as this, I have said that because I experienced it with 2010 S600 Mercedes Benz, the damage was way way worse then the one on the Camaro. The damage on the S600 was to wheels broken and the body got effected and the accident was very similar to the Camaro and the airbag on the S600 didn't deploy and Mercedes have better quality and more safety then Chevrolet. I went to the royal Chevrolet in West broad street richmond, Virginia. They didn't treat me well they were talking to me as child they didn't even inspect the car they just the airbags did what it suppose to do that was by the service manager. I told him the damage was very minor and the deployment of the airbag shouldn't happen he didn't even say anything he was trying to flip the whole thing on me. He told I have nothing to do go call GM.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 122012

Camaro

  • 11,000 miles
Just picked up car. It was in shop for two days. Car had a grinding and squealing in the steering. GM technical assistance told them the disconnect shaft to see where noise was coming from. Dealer had to replace angle sensor and SRS coil for the air bag. Pick up car and was like new again for about 35 mile. I was backing into drive way and heard a snap from the steering. Now the noise is back and steering is wobbly and clunking along with a strong smell of power steering fluid! I have to take it back tomorrow for their 4th attempt, next step lemon lawyer!

- Mount Laural, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 282011

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 1,475 miles
[xxx] March 7, 2012 GM po box 33170 detroit, mi 48232-5170 re: Case [xxx] greetings: I wish to file a formal complaint regarding my 2011 Camaro 2ss/rs convertible. The safety critical passenger air bag (inflatable restraint) does not work properly and reads off when a passenger in excess of 160 lbs is in the passenger seat. This problem is intermittent, about 50% of the time, but reproducible. It has been acknowledged and reproduced on multiple occasions by certified GM mechanics at freeway Chevrolet in chandler, Arizona, with multiple employees of freeway Chevrolet of varying weights in the passenger seat. I have summarized the repair attempts below: Datedays out of servicemileagecomments 6/28/201131,475module replacement 9/15/201122,246sensor and module replacement 10/19/201122,856sensor replacement 12/21/2011143,916reprogram module. Service rep able to reproduce problem on this car but no other identical models with multiple passengers and weights. 3/5/201224,854reproduced connected to odbc interface at freeway Chevrolet with 160 lb passenger in car (my wife). Level 4 indicated on odbc (non adult passenger present). Wife exited and re-entered passenger seat. Level 6 indicated on odbc. Wife sat in identical car on lot and problem could not be reproduced. The latest response advised by shane schmitt of GM is the vehicle is functioning as designed. This response is unacceptable because: 1.a 160 lb adult passenger must activate the air bag sensor. 2.the issue is intermittent (about 50% of the time). The same person should not be classified as level 4 and level 6 with the seat in the identical position and no change in body position. 3.this intermittent issue could not be reproduced in any other GM vehicle, including an identical model. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #4

Dec 082010

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
The first failure was at 4500 miles in the middle lane as car pulled infront and when I hit the brakes the car when into a skid and the steering wheel locked up at approx 40 mph.this defect did not crash the car. The second incident was at approx 70 on the free way as a car came through the triangle at a junction I hit the brakes the steering wheel cranked all the way to the right and locked up as did the braking system throwing me head on into a guard rail at approx 60. The air bags did not deploy as well. The following day at the car yard while the key was inserted by the technician the car said that airbags depleted need replacing.

- Highland, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 152011

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 1,700 miles
"service air bag" warning light is on in instrument panel. Dealer has made three attempts to repair by using zip ties on specific electrical connections. Problem has not been resolved.

- Buna, TX, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?