Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,231 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier Owner Comments

problem #19

Nov 152014

Cavalier

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car would just not turn over. Can not hear fuel pump running.

- Trenton, OH, USA

problem #18

Nov 242012

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
While accelerating on an on-ramp onto an interstate, I was using my multi-function device (signaling my merge into traffic, then once at 65mph setting cruise control) when the car lost power. I was able to turn the steering wheel slightly to the right before the wheel locked. I turned my emergency flashers on and coasted/braked my way to the shoulder of the road. The car was towed to a mechanic who tried to find the source of the problem. The incident was on a Saturday. On Monday when the shop was open for business, they tried the car and it started/ran just fine. They couldn't duplicate the problem so they charged me for the tow only. Previously, the car would fail to start. Similarly dead. I have been told it was the ignition - replaced that twice. I was told it was the fuel pump - replaced that. I was told it was the multi-function switch-replaced that three times. Winter 2013 the car started fine and then a block from home all power went out and engine failed to start up again. Towed car to electrical specialist. They ran diagnostics and found that there was a rusted out wire. Replaced the wire. It happened again six months later. They replaced another wire. I've notice the car will think a blinker is out before the whole electrical system just fails.

- Robbinsdale, MN, USA

problem #17

Jul 122013

Cavalier

  • 116,872 miles
Purchased vehicle from dealer 7/12/13 with the following issues: Non-working odometer, blinkers, brake lights that frequently "short" out & a non-working windshield fluid function. I was informed by the dealer to take vehicle home & return it the following day for the repairs of all the above notations that were discovered during a test drive. Upon the time of return, I was sadly & rudely approached by the dealer. He stated that he did not claim to fix these issues? on 7/17/13, I filed a "complaint" with the better business bureau regarding this poor business transaction. All of which, I have proof. Despite my endless efforts to correct this issue, nothing significant has been done on my behalf. I have been pulled over a number of times, because of my failing brake lights - which have been replaced on multiple occasions. I have had close encounters of potential dangerous situations, where my blinkers have failed & being stuck "not" knowing how much mileage I have on my car. This is a major safety issue I cannot get resolved & am hopeful that you may assist.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #16

May 092010

Cavalier

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When the cd player have been on for a few minutes it will stop playing because it have got over heated. An I cannot used it for a long time.

- Newton, MS, USA

problem #15

Apr 202011

Cavalier

  • 162,000 miles
My 2002 Cavalier had the fuel pump go. When the garage fixed it they said the cluster doesn't work. They kept trying to imply that it was already broke but it wasn't. I had 2 light bulbs gone but that's it. They replaced it and within a week the same 2 light bulbs are burnt out and the odometer numbers now flicker constantly. There must be a wiring problem. Seeing fires starting in a couple cavaliars makes me really concerned. For a few years now, the radio changes everytime I turn the car on and the light by the heater control doesn't work unless you tap on it. Somethings not right and I'm trying to find a solution. I can't afford to pay a garage to tear my car apart.

- Acton, 00, USA

problem #14

May 072002

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier. The contact stated the vehicle had been parked for approximately 4 hours when a fire started under the dashboard. The contact stated the vehicle was removed by his insurance company and he could not confirm if the vehicle was destroyed or what started the fire. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 80,000. Updated evoq 06/08/10.

- Natchez, MS, USA

problem #13

Jan 012005

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both rear tail lights do not function properly. When using the left turn signal it will blink for a short time then go stationary. New bulbs are put in regularly but the socket is loose and will not hold the bulb securely resulting in the blinkers not working most of the time. My husband is a mechanic so I had him replace the bulbs when it first happened, he did this in the evening, the next day I used the blinker if worked fine for my first turn then the second turn it was a fast blink which indicates that one or more bulbs are burned out which was not the case when he looked at the bulbs again later that evening. I can't tell you how many times we have changed these bulbs and still nothing is working. I am afraid of having an accident due to the fact that most people don't recognize hand signals for left and right turns. I have called the dealership but they want over $100 for a new socket. I don't feel like I should have to replace them at my cost when this has to be some sort of manufacturers defect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 032006

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 45,000 miles
According to the overland park police department an electrical fire started near the passenger floor board on my sons 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier Z model. The car was totally engulfed before fire/rescue could arrive. I want to make sure that this is not a problem with the vehicle that can injure others.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #11

Jan 012005

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
: the contact stated the displays on the instrument cluster intermittently go off while driving. The display that goes off most frequent is the electronic odometer. The vehicle was taken to the dealership however they have been unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 8/16/2006 -

- Lititz, PA, USA

problem #10

Aug 202004

Cavalier

  • miles
Trac off warning light ets (electronic traction system) came on. Repairs did not correct the problem with the ets. Nar this caused the vehicle to completely shut down while in motion. The consumer was informed that the fuel injection system had to be replaced an cleaned but could not guarantee that this would correct the problem in which it did not. The consumer requested reimbursement for the repairs.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #9

May 062005

Cavalier

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Going to the bank to use an atm machine...rolled window down, but the window would not roll up...earlier I had my car worked on due to cracked dash...when I first bought the car spoiler was replaced, but it is starting to crack again...when I drive it in the rain and go to use the brakes it slide to the right and seems to lock up on the front passager side...nothing was done to fix the brake, because the dealer looks at me as if I am crazy...the dash was replaced...

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 202004

Cavalier

  • miles
The consumer experienced problems with the vehicle's enhanced traction system (ets). When the traction light would come on the vehicle would completely shut down, which occurred on numerous occasions.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #7

Feb 012005

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Power windows fail - this is the third time that I am returning my car to the dealer, nessinger chevorlet, medford, NY for the same issue within a timeframe of less than a year. This time it's for the drivers side window, for the second time. The first time they told me it was the motor that failed, can't wait to see what they tell me the problem is this time, I'm sure it will be something else for them to charge me with. This window is open and will not close. This car is only three years old, I don't understand why this keeps happening. I find this totally unacceptable not to mention a major inconveinence.

- Middle Island, NY, USA

problem #6

Aug 202004

Cavalier

  • miles
The traction off warning light illuminated which caused the vehicle to shut down. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the fuel pump and fuel injection system but the repairs made did not correct the problem with the enhanced traction system. The consumer feels that since the repairs did not correct the problem he should be reimbursed the full amount.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #5

Dec 122004

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Since purchasing my 2002 vehicle I have had to already put a new battery, new alternator, new tires (acceptable) two sets of brakes and the check engine light still is on and no one can find out why so therefore I can't get an inspection of the vehicle until light is off. Help.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #4

Oct 012004

Cavalier

  • 39,517 miles
Vehicle shut down on highway, other vehicle on highway exceeding speed of 50 mph. The consumer is suing turnerville auto complex for repairs made to an unsafe vehicle. The vehicle defect in the enhanced traction system or ets system. The vehicle had to be towed to the nearest dealership.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #3

Nov 062003

(reported on)

Cavalier

  • miles
Consumer noticed while driving on wet pavements enhanced tracking system came on. This caused the driver to lose control of the vehicle.

- Walnut Grove, MO, USA

problem #2

Dec 212002

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • miles
Compressor never worked when the car was bought. Left rear turn signal continually shorted out, a wire needed to be replaced. Driver side front window motor had to be replaced.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

Jul 142002

Cavalier

  • miles
While driving the electrical system shuts down, making the vehicle inoperative. Dealer notified, the first time dealer stated it was a fuel sensor problem. The second time they said the problem would be unable to duplicate. The third time dealer stated that they were still working on repairing the problem.

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?