If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,819 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Jul 202009

Cavalier

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier. The left tail light turn signal was inoperable. The bulb had not blown therefore she speculated that there was an electrical failure. The vehicle was previously repaired according to recall campaign id number 04V524000 (exterior lighting:turn signal), therefore she was ineligible for a free remedy. No further repairs had been made to remedy the failure. The current and failure mileages were under 77,000. The vehicle identification number was unavailable.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 082005

Cavalier

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier. While driving approximately 20 mph, the turn signal failed to activate after several attempts. The failure occurred intermittently and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician discovered that the vehicle was previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 04V524000 (exterior lighting:turn signal); however, the remedy was insufficient. The turn signal module was replaced, but the failure recurred three weeks later. The vehicle has not been repaired again. The failure mileage was unknown and current mileage was 100,000.

- Burlington, ND, USA

problem #28

Jun 142008

Cavalier

  • 62,011 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier. The contact's vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 04V524000 (exterior lighting:turn signal) in 2006. Two years later, while driving at an unknown speed, she noticed that the passenger side brake lamp and turn signal were inoperative. She repeatedly replaced the brake light bulb, but it continued to fail. The manufacturer stated that because her vehicle was previously repaired under recall, she would be responsible for the repair costs. The contact is in the process of taking the vehicle to an authorized dealer for a diagnosis and repair. The failure and current mileages were 62,011.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #27

May 152006

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated though the recall work on NHTSA recall # 04V524000 was performed on two occasions, the rear turn signals on the vehicle continued to fail. The service dealer manager was contacted, who informed the contact that there would be a 100 dollar deductible charged to diagnose the problem. The manufacturer was contacted, who informed the contact that they had completed the recall agreement and were under no further obligation to offer assistance.

- Middlefield, CT, USA

problem #26

Aug 012005

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Cavalier rear taillight and turn signal assembly failed.** answer required***. the consumer requested compensation the ongoing problems with her vehicle.

- Aurora, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Jan 312005

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 34,797 miles
On January 28th 2005, I took my 2003 Chevy Cavalier to my GM dealership for service on a recall issued by you and GM, recall #04083. This recall is one of the most blatent disreguard for human life. You gave Chevy options! options, that shouldn't have been given because with these options human life is still at risk! this recall allows Chevy to apply grease before replacing the rear lamp bulb sockets, not just to replace them and insure my saftey as a comsumer. My car was serviced on January 28th 2005 for this recall. Grease was applied and with in 3 days my passenger side rear lamp failed and had done so with all signs listed on the recall. But because the dealer had "done" the recall they tried to tell me it was a burnt out light bulb. Which in the end proved not to be. The whole socket was then replaced on January 31st 2005. Fast foward to April, my warranty has since expired. When my drivers side rear lamp fails, also with all the signs listed on the recall, but because the dealer had "done" the recall they tried to tell me it was a burnt out light bulb. I check the lightbulb, which was fine. I called the dealership and spoke with the service manager and addressed the situation. Why were both the sockets not replaced at the time the passenger side failed" the answer I received made me take a step back. I was told, Chevy does not allow them both to be replaced unless they are both broken or in this case have failed. Chevy will not replace something unless it is broke….even if it is a saftey recall! to clarify the situation I contacted Chevrolet customer service line and received the same information. The dealearship ended up fixing the recall at no charge to me, on April 30th 2005. Why was Chevy given any options? why was my life put on the line for a mere $100, if that" this recall needs to be recalled itself and Chevy needs to be made to replace each and every rear lightbulb socket on every Chevy Cavalier it produced in 2003.

- Boone, IA, USA

problem #24

Jul 212003

Cavalier

  • 5,407 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier experienced problems with brake lights, turn signals, and tail lights.** answer required***. the brake lights and tail lights shorted out many times, the tail light socket was also replaced. The consumer received a recall letter #04V524000. The consumer took the vehicle to have the service performed, however that did not seem to remedy the problem. The vehicle has been in the shop on numerous occasions regarding this problem, the consumer did not believe her vehicle was satisfactorily repaired. The cd would not eject. The right side power window made a noise when it was rolled down.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #23

Mar 012005

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,666 miles
Chevrolet Cavalier Z 2003, multiple failures. The defroster would not clear the windows, the heater did not work, the air bag light illuminated because there was a split in the center of the steering wheel. When the consumer made a right turn a noise was heard. The left rear turn signal bulb was replaced, the right rear brake light bulb. There was a noise coming from the front of the vehicle, the dealer lubed the front sway bar bushing. The tires were over inflated, so the vehicle would sway when going over bumps, the blower motor, and heater control was replaced. The ABS lamp illuminated. The vehicle needed brake pads. There was mold on the drivers front door. The ac compressor was replaced. The window went down extremely slow, the dealer lubed the window track and regulator. The fog light bulb was inoperative, the door latch was inoperative.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #22

Aug 122003

Cavalier

  • miles
Chevrolet Cavalier 2003, problem exist with the passenger side blinker/brake light continues to operate incorrectly. The starter cylinder was replaced. The dealer replaced the brake light bulb and blinker bulb on several occasions.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jan 172004

Cavalier 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
04 V 524 000/rear light bulb socket assembles: The consumer stated, the recall remedy was performed three times on the left rear tail lights socket and two times on the right tail lights socket and the bulbs continued to fail. The dealer was still unable to locate the problem.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #20

Dec 302004

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear turn signal on 2003 failed for 5th time in 5 months. Problem is described in NHTSA campaign 04V524000. Dealer and GM customer service at 1-800-222-1020 says my VIN does not apply to this recall campaign. My VIN is [xxx]. updated 07/24/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #19

Jun 012004

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
I have researched the information regarding GM recall 04083, regarding the 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier having faulty tail lights. My 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier has the same exact problems described in this recall. I have contacted GM and have finally been told that my vehicle's VIN: [xxx] is not involved in the recall. Is there any thing that I can do short of paying for the repair parts myself? updated 07/24/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Holmen, WI, USA

problem #18

Nov 222004

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Right rear brake light and turn signal turned on intermittently which caused cruise control to work sporadically.

- Ansley, NE, USA

problem #17

Sep 232003

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,600 miles
On 2 separate occasions the turn signal went out while turing, almost causing a rear end collision. This occured due to the defect as described in recall 04V524000 concerning rear light bulb socket assembly. However, this vehicle wa snot included in the recall due to VIN.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #16

Oct 172003

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • miles
The left and right signal and markers lights failed due to corroded sockets.

- Felton, DE, USA

problem #15

Oct 072004

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,484 miles
While turning on the turn signals the turn they failed to come on. Consumer took vehicle to the dealer for inspection, and the mechanic replaced the bulb and socket. The consumer informed the mechanic that this problem occurred more than once and had not been resolved. The right and left rear turn signal failed, there was shaking in the dash when the blower was on due to the A/C accumulator.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #14

Sep 212004

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
One day the left rear blinker light stopped working. We replaced the bulb and one month later the blinker went out again. The blinker blinks really fast to notify you that the bulb is out. A week later, the blinker does not work and the bulb is fine.

- East Rockaway, NY, USA

problem #13

Feb 012004

Cavalier

  • 10,602 miles
While driving. The rear right and left signal lights went out. The flash will rapidly blink indicating which side is not working. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer. Problem has not been resolved.

- Pembroke, MA, USA

problem #12

Aug 202004

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The signal indicator and brake lights failed.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #11

Aug 132004

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Turn signals failed to stay on. Turn signal could turn itself on/off. Turn signal system was replaced seven time by dealership. But problem was not solved.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?