Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,196 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Chevrolet Corvette steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #82

Dec 062006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,500 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the vehicle was been previously serviced under NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer December 2012 due to steering failures and the steering column harness was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 22,500.... updated 02/27/13

- Tequesta, FL, USA

problem #81

Jul 152008

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,929 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the vehicle continued to stall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer six times to have repairs performed under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V060000 (steering: Column locking; anti-theft device) but to no avail. The manufacturer advised that they were unaware of how to remedy the issue. The failure mileage was 52,929 and the current mileage was 65,000. Updated 7/26/12

- Monticello , KY, USA

problem #80

Jun 262008

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 79,988 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chevrolet Corvette. When starting up the vehicle, the steering column would lock up. It would occasionally be released if the key was removed and the vehicle was restarted. The steering lock was repaired twice according to NHTSA campaign id number 07V544000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device), but it currently needs to be repaired again. The current mileage was 80,500 and failure mileage was 79,988. Update 09/10/08 updated 09/15/08.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #79

Apr 042006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,501 miles


On april4, 2006, while parked in my driveway, my 1998 Corvette, when I tried to start my engine, the steering column failed to unlock and when I tried to drive the engine would shut down. I call the local Chevy dealer, bill branch Chevrolet located at 3980 fowler St, ft myers, fl 33901. They said they understood the problem and would send a tow truck to pick up the vehicle as I was unable to move the vehicle. They repaired the vehicle at no charge but billed me for towing. As the problem with this vehicle was listed under your recall, NHTSA campaign id # 00V111000, as of Feb 6,2004 why would I be charged for towing "??"

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #78

Nov 122007

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall on column lock system on GM/Chevy Corvette was performed on 2-14-05 & not done properly. The solution is to disable this anti-theft system as it can lock-up on you without warning while driving. On my Corvette this was performed but not disabled, my car locked up in my garage 11/07...lucky me! so for well over 2 years I was driving a car that was supposed to be fixed putting my life as well as my family members in danger. Now GM wants me to eat the cost of repairs because of the time & miles since. I'm talking about $371, not much really but it's the principle. They should be more worried that I'll sue for negligence!

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #77

Aug 012006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • miles
1998 Chevrolet Corvette customer states that the steering column suddenly locked up and was unable to steer the vehicle* the consumer was told the problem he experienced was a recall issue. The problem was corrected free of charge, however the consumer is requesting reimbursement for the towing charges. The claim for reimbursement was denied because the consumer didn't have the vehicle towed to a GM dealer.

- Livingston Manor, NY, USA

problem #76

May 182006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles


Started car, engaged auto trans and accelerated. Car moved approx 10 feet and stalled. Repeated several times. Car was towed to dealer. The repair was to re-install the parts removed on 3/16/06 as part of the electronic column lock system recall issued by Chevrolet.

- Ione, CA, USA

problem #75

Dec 112006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
: the contact stated after the recall remedy repair #04V060000 regarding the steering; column locking; anti theft device was performed on the vehicle another problem appear. While driving any speeds the vehicle stalled without warning. This occurred on three separate occasions. The vehicle was maneuvered off the road and restarted. The dealer was alerted.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #74

Mar 312006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 107,000 miles
I have a 1998 Corvette which has had the steering column lock recall performed twice. Now there is a updated recall for my car that I cannot get covered because the dealer says that one of the past recalls have been performed improperly. The car has never been serviced any where except authorized Chevrolet dealers. The dealer says it needs $439 worth of repairs that have been known to Chevrolet for eight years now as a continues safety issue. They continued to build the Corvettes with the same problems after the first recall was announced. That shows inability to solve this problem. If you had the problem fixed you would not continue to build new cars with the problem.

- Denison, TX, USA

problem #73

Feb 012006

(reported on)


  • miles
1998 Chevrolet Corvette steering column light comes on and shuts off engine. The consumer is requesting reimbursement because the repair shop installed the wrong part, which was replaced under recall. The consumer had to go another repair facility and get the work done

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #72

Dec 252005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 109,310 miles


I own a 98 M/T Corvette & I am an automobile expert. The C5 Corvette has an engineering safety defect with the electo-mechanical steering column lock system. There had been many instances of the steering column lock engaging while driving on these C5 & has happened 3 times on my C5 before the accident on 12/25/05. No fail safe system for the column lock exists and the BCM or body control module has total control over this column lock. Many vehicle malfunctions will cause this steering lock to engage while driving. Gms recall for vehicles equipped with an A/T the column lock was eliminated. Gms supposed fix for the M/T vehicles was to reprogram the PCM's with new software & this software change did not prevent the column lock from engaging; it just made sure that the engine shuts off should the steering lock engage. About 07/05 the steering column lock had engaged while driving & had left the car stuck in traffic. The recall was performed at his time. I was told the steering locking problem had been resolved. On 12/25/05 while driving on a wet road, without warning, my C5 skidded when the engine suddenly stopped & I was unable to correct the skid because the steering lock had engaged & the car went a crossed a divided roadway into oncoming traffic, stopped & then got hit. The other vehicles that hit my C5 were destroyed & the occupants were injured. This accident will happen eventually with all C5 S. if the steering lock had just engaged this would have of not caused an accident. If it had just locked, & the engine had not shut off, the car could still be stopped safely just blocking traffic. However, if the road is wet when the engine stops & the vehicle is rear wheel drive with a M/T the rear wheels will skid. If a skid occurs it can be easily corrected by turning the steering wheel to keep the vehicle in a straight path unless the steering is locked. If the recall had not been performed this accident wouldn't have happened.

- N. Highlands, CA, USA

problem #71

Sep 292005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,939 miles
Crane Chevrolet in wayne NJ performed the electronic column system recall and 1500 miles later it locked up again so the car had to be towed for the second time and to my surprise they gave me a bill for$382. They claimed it was ecl motor that had to be replaced and it was not under the recall, the system was supposed to be disabled so this would not happen again, shame on GM for putting a system on this car that keep failing and trying to make us pay for it.there are countless amounts of complains here also on every Corvette forum, why isn't the government stepping in and making GM take responsibility for this failure, until they do we can not drive this cars with confidence that we will not get stranded.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #70

Jul 152005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,500 miles
The caller stated steering column locks when in reverse. This did not happen every time. The caller had it fixed and paid for it himself. Dealer said repair was not under recall. The caller said a recall on the ignition lock actuator was issued. Manufacturer said they would not fix it under warranty.

- Vernon Hills, IL, USA

problem #69

Aug 082005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,000 miles
GM recall #04006A steering column lock up. My 1998 C5 Corvette is part of the recall - I had the column lock up while driving- towed it to the nearest dealer - they installed the so called recall kit - and it didn't fix the problem - they are now saying it is something else and I am liable for labor and parts. This is a factory defect/ flaw that should be fixed by GM! I feel GM does not know how to fix this problem as many "C5" Corvette owners have had this happen even after the so call fix was added. Major safety issue as the car will still run and drive when the column locks up!

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #68

Jul 292005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owned a 1998 Chevrolet Corvette. He received NHTSA recall O4V060000 concerning electronic column lock. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and recall repair work was performed, but it did not fix the problem. The dealership and the manufacturer were notified, and they were trying to force contact into some other type of repair that was going to cost him a lot of money. Contact felt he should not have to pay for this because it was a safety defect.

- Hialeah Gardens, FL, USA

problem #67

Jul 212005


  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The consumer received a recall 04V060600 approximately late last year and he received several more since then. The parts were on back order. When recall repairs were arranged, in April, they had to order parts, and the dealership was suppose to notify the consumer when the parts were in. Two weeks ago consumer checked on the parts and they were not in. He E-mailed Chevrolet, and was contacted and told the parts were on back order. He then got a call stating the parts were in. The vehicle was taken to be repaired July 20, 2005. The steering column lock would not release, it started around March. The vehicle would start, but the consumer did not notice until the vehicle was started that the steering was locked. The dealership thought they had fixed it. He had the same problem when he got in the vehicle last night. He called the dealership and was told it was a different problem and it was not covered under the recall. They problem was exactly the same, although the dealership stated otherwise.

- Mount Morris, IL, USA

problem #66

Jun 182005


  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Steering column will not unlock after starting vehicle. Vehicle was backed out of the garage and wheel couuld not be turned. Key was turned off, ten second wait (following instructions on the info center) and wheel still could not be turned. With the key off the wheel was turned back and forth against the lock and then restarted. After several trys the column unlocked. This vehicle has had both phases of the recall implemented. After this failure it was taken to the dealer who informed me that everything that he could do has been done. He said a possible low battery may have caused the problem. The battery was replaced and the problem reoccured 2 days later. There is no predictabality of the defect. It could be the next start or a month from now. The only sure thing is that with no action it will happen again. This defect could cause a accident when pulling out of a parking space or garage due to inability to turn the wheel even at low speed.

- Orane Beach, AL, USA

problem #65

Jun 082004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Early this year I got in my car and started it up and started to back up and the steering wheel locked up on me and the engine shut down.I had it toe in and repaired at a cost of over $500.I later found out about the recall on the inter-net contacted general motor's about getting some of my money back they refused.I will never buy another Chevy if that is the way they treat people.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #64

Aug 012004

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Problem with electronic column lock on 1998 Corvette. The consumer suggested that, if there was a problem with the ecl system, then it would need to be fixed, not removed due to the fact that it was a feature sold with the vehicle.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #63

Aug 262004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,050 miles
When trying to start the vehicle steering column locked. Vehicle was towed. A recall letter was received. Column lock was replaced by the dealer at a cost to the consumer. Column was still defective. Recall number 04V060000

- Plano, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?