Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,064 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Apr 142016

Corvette

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. While driving 15 mph, the contact heard a thump sound on the roof of the vehicle. The contact pulled the vehicle over to inspect, but found nothing. While proceeding to drive again, the contact heard the same noise and air whistling. The contact thought the convertible roof was not latched properly and pulled over once again. The contact stated the roof was latched correctly and he decided to remove the top. Upon further investigation, the contact noticed that the frame for the top was separating from the body panel. The dealer diagnosed that the roof needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #30

May 012014

Corvette

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette Z06. While driving approximately 40 mph, a loud popping noise was present. The locking mechanism for the roof top malfunctioned, causing the top to eject from the vehicle. During the incident, the passenger in the vehicle suffered a laceration to the face. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Riolinda, CA, USA

problem #29

Nov 032014

Corvette

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette Z06. While driving 30 mph, the hard top cover detached from the vehicle. The contact stated that the active handling control for the brakes automatically engaged, which caused the vehicle to crash into a guardrail. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 4/13/15

- Rio Linda, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 112006

Corvette

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. Whenever the contact drove the vehicle at any speed including approximately 45 mph, he heard a cracking sound on roof. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The contact has noticed the failure since the day the vehicle was purchased. The current and failure mileages were 57000.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #27

Nov 252009

Corvette

  • 29,000 miles
I have a 2005 Corvette. Chevrolet has recalled 22,000 Corvettes for the roof panel. They said that the roof will break loose and could blow off. My top has broke loose because air is leaking threw. There is so much air coming in that you can not here the radio. I have called the 800 number they said my Corvette must not be on the list. I am afraid to drive my Corvette over 50 mph. Can you help me?thank you. Please E-mail me or call me.

- Alexandria, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

Oct 032005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. Whenever there is any torque present, the contact hears a crunching and popping noise coming from the roof panel. The failure occurs intermittently because the laminated part of the roof is separating. The vehicle has been to the dealer six times for this failure, with the most recent occurrence on January 17, 2008. The failure has since worsened. The contact does not believe that there is a repair available for this failure. The current mileage was 22,900 and failure mileage was 3,000. Updated 05/20/08. The seat belt buzzer would go off at times, the passenger side door made a popping noise when it was opened. Updated 05/20/08

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #25

May 292007

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Corvette coupe with the painted removable roof panel roof came apart last year was replaced and repainted with complete removable roof second roof panel flew completely off the car this may now the third roof counting the original is on the car.

- Lanoka Harbor , NJ, USA

problem #24

Jul 062006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Delamination of the roof panels.

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #23

Sep 282005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,500 miles
2005 Chevy Corvette. Has removable roof top, that has failed many times, local dealer does not want to replace with new part but wants to "squirt glue" into it to make right, which will not fix the problem. Have asked GM for new top, or glass top so I do not have to worry if I will kill someone with the top flying off! GM is no help or will return my phone calls.

- Weirsdale, FL, USA

problem #22

Aug 122006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
I wrote to you on 5/17/2006 about my Corvette top that flew off of my car on 4/05/2006, ODI # 10157709. Now, the second top they gave me came apart. Luckily this time I saw what was happening before it blew off. I know they have recalled this top, but to have it happen 2 times is terrible!

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 062006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle's roof had separated and flew off while driving 40 mph. This was the second time, the vehicle had problems with the roof. A NHTSA recall, # 06V181000 was performed in 05/06 regarding, structure body: Roof and pillars, however the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #20

Aug 072005

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
: the contact stated the roof on the vehicle has flown off four times. There was a recall # 06V181000; pertaining to the structure: Body: Roof and pillars. The contact was unsure if a recall letter was received. The first three times the roof flew off, the dealership replaced the roof. During one incident, there was an accident, however the vehicle was able to get out of the way and no one was injured. There was not a police report filed.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #19

Jul 282006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,750 miles
Roof separation. Roof was replaced 3 months ago due to delamination and the replacement roof has now delaminated.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #18

May 282006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,000 miles
: the contact stated recall work was performed on the vehicle and although no failure has occurred, the contact is not satisfied with the solution. The recall is #06V181000 concerning the structure; roof and pillars.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 122006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
On 7/12/06 at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle's painted top became detached striking a following vehicle causing minor damage to the second vehicle. Both drivers were able to pull to the side of the road with out further incident and with no injuries. There were no warning signs of the incident, other than the noise made at time of separation. The latch was still intact. Owner alleges having no prior notification of recall 06V-181, and that dealer has yet to be able to replace the top. The vehicle was purchased new in November 2005; recall campaign initiated in May 2006.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 162006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,500 miles
I have a 2005 Corvette coupe. The top is separating from the body of the car. The dealer refuses to replace the top even though the panel has completely separated from the frame and the car is unsafe to drive because the repair performed by the dealer has already failed once. The only solution is S new top, and they refused to provide me with one. X.

- Lakewood, OH, USA

problem #15

Jul 122006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
My 2005 Corvette removable top panel is delaminating. It could fall off at any time at speed. GM is being slow, at best, in taking care of this problem.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #14

Jun 092006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 8,500 miles
: the contact stated, the interior heat caused the removable roof to warp and separate from the body of the vehicle, on 3 separate occasions. The dealer service technician stated the manufacturer has not provided a repair solution. The manufacturer offered an alternate style replacement roof at a discount. The contact purchased the replacement roof.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #13

Jun 092006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,500 miles
GM has issued a recall on roof that potentially separates and could cause accident; this recall affected my car. I submitted my car for inspection in June 9th, and the dealer stated that the roof could not be repaired - it had to be replaced. The roof was ordered and after a month the wrong part was sent. Now I am told the part will be available in 60 to 90 days; no precise delivery date. In total it could be 90 to 120 days total with me owning a vehicle that potentially could be a hazard, on top of producing a very annoying cracking & popping noise while driving. GM customer assistance & dealership said they could not do anything about the situation. Meanwhile nobody knows how safe the car is on the road at highway speed.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #12

Jun 192006

Corvette 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,393 miles
I went to the dealer to complain of wind noise on my vehicle. They told me I needed a new windshield. A day before the part was scheduled to arrive, while driving 40 mph the roof panel of my 2005 Corvette separated and flew off. The part is on national backorder, and GM needs to "review" the case with "internal GM parties" before they will provide me with a rental car. I have not had a roof for 3 weeks... no eta on part... no rental. Customer service rep not helpful, refused to let me speak with a supervisor because she was a manager and they were "not available".

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?