Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

May 022011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the key came out of the ignition independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition lock needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 121,000. Updated 01/07/14 the consumer stated the ignition would lock making it difficult to remove the key. The passlock light would stay on. The consumer owns 2 Chevrolet with the same malfunction. After having the vehicle repaired the failure recurred. Updated 9/28/15

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #23

Apr 132009

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle independently steered to the extreme right. The failure caused the contact to drive through a ditch, across traffic, and through another ditch. The contact had no control of the vehicle, but did not crash the vehicle. The failure occurred twice in one day. The contact also stated that the key became stuck in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and the ignition and middle drive shaft carrier bearing were replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 10/09/14 updated 05/18/2015

- Custer, SD, USA

problem #22

Nov 012012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The key becomes loose in the ignition and came out while car was on or in motion. Spent over $400 to repair it and now GM has made a major recall in the area but not on the 2005 Equinox. I had it repaired in or around November 2013.

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #21

Jan 142011


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact had to turn the key in the ignition several times in order to start the vehicle. Additionally, while driving various speeds, the key would detach from the ignition. The failure occurred daily. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but the failure could not be duplicated. The dealer made a new ignition key, but the failure recurred six months later. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #20

Jul 152013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I have had an ignition problem with this vehicle for approximately a year or more. When I put key in ignition, I have a hard time getting it to turn to start vehicle. And then, when I want to turn car off, it is difficult to remove key from ignition. I took to Chevy dealer in kenosha, wi and was told that my vehicle is not on recall list and I would have to pay for it myself. I just wonder with all these recalls going on with Chevy for the same issue that I am having with my Chevy, why they won't fix it and cover expenses? please help!

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #19

Apr 172014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The dealer informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 04V302000 (power train). The contact has experienced a failure. Updated 9/18/14 the consumer stated the ignition lock cylinder failed. The vehicle would sputter to a stop need to be restarted. The vehicle eventually failed completely. Updated 02/12/2015

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #18

Jun 052013


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that her key became stuck in the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. The current mileage was 146,000.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #17

Oct 312004


  • 70 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 70 mph on the highway, the contact noticed the key was detaching from the ignition. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 04V302000 (power train). While driving 35 mph, the contact was involved in a crash and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact was injured and received medical attention. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 70.

- Twining, MI, USA

problem #16

May 222014


  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the key was difficult to remove from the ignition intermittently. The key was stuck in the ignition on more than one occasion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and to be repaired. The dealer stated that the time frame had expired to receive the recall repair for NHTSA campaign id number: 04V302000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #15

Mar 102014


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the ignition switch failed to turn preventing the vehicle to start. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. T he vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 66,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 192014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles


I can start my car and then pull the key out of the ignition while the car is still running. This issue started in November of last year (2013) and my Equinox only has 40,000 miles on it.

- Beloit, WI, USA

problem #13

Apr 032006

Equinox 6-cyl

  • miles
I can pull the ignition key for my 2005 out of the ignition or it can fall out while the car is driving down the road. The keys wear out. This has been happening since the car was about 2 years old. I bought it new in April 2004. I discovered this when I accidentally knocked the key out (fortunately directly into my hand so I was able to reinsert it quickly.) I have to replace keys about 2 years because they always wear out. So far nothing has happened when this occurs but I am petrified that the car will shut off which will lock up the steering, etc. I don't intentionally take the key out while driving, but what if it falls out? it's so loose in the ignition that it could.I know I am not the only Equinox owner with this problem. I contacted GM when it first happened. Their reaction was basically, "oh well, try a new key." I did, and the dealer ripped me off for a whole bunch of money to "program" keys that don't need to be programmed (I didn't find this out until a couple years later when I bought the next set of keys online and didn't need to program them.) now, I just buy keys on line when the old ones wear out. Given the problems GM had with ignitions in this time span, I think this should be looked at closely. Who knows what problems (deaths?) may have or will occur because if it. I have always been a bit afraid of this problem, and now am even more so. Updated 06/09/14

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 202007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I contacted Chevrolet early on about this problem to no avail, they claimed it is not covered. Yet, online I was able to see that numerous consumers had the same problem. Recently, it seemed that GM was recalling vehicles with a similar ignition problem. I contacted them and was told my vehicle is not covered simply because it does not shut off. This was all done over the phone which is an amazing diagnostic tool they have. I was advised to take my vehicle to a dealer service technician and have them check it out. When asked what the cost would be, I was advised that would be normal service fees which is a waste of money since it would be cheaper to repair it at my mechanic without any dealer diagnostic fees. Its definitely a manufacture defect yet no one will admit it.

- Wildwood Crest, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jan 052008


  • 50,000 miles
I bought my car brand new with 4 miles on it. I have been the only owner. Since I purchased my vehicle I have had to have the fuel pump replaced in 2007 ($1400). My car has been in the shop numerous times for costly repairs. My key comes out of the ignition while driving, and it is hard to start. I have to wiggle the key every other time I try to start my car. I've also had problems with my car starting. When I go to crank it up it sounds likes it tries to start then dies. This happens often. My car is not in the shop due to water leakage. There a large collection of water with my spare tire, and the floor in the back seat is soaked. I was told from the GM service department they see this often in my model vehicle but no recall for it at this time so it's out of my own pocket. Also I have taken my vehicle to the dealer several times for my steering wheel. It makes a loud sound every time the wheel is turned and they cannot seem to fix the problem. I have had to replace my headlights and brake lights very often.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #10

May 012005


  • 6,000 miles
2005 Equinox, issue with ignition. Starts normally after two or three tries. Key sticks in ignition switch, on second key now. Have to order a third key for when the one I am using wears out. Took vehicle in to certified service station they could never find anything wrong until it was out of warranty then the say I need a new shifter which is over $500 to replace. Issues with brakes and rotors... no on E can seem to replace them without the vehicle making a noise when trying to stop and while driving, ever the certified GM service center. Issue started early 2005 appros 2 months after purchase.

- Uniontown , PA, USA

problem #9

Jul 142009


  • 48,000 miles
2005 Chevy Equinox ls. Can take key out of ignition while vehicle is traveling down the road. I'm afraid the key could fall out of the ignition and the steering wheel would lock up. Or, if in an accident, the key fall out while the motor is running and you won't be able to turn off the motor, which could result in fire. Had the key replaced once, about 1 year ago. It is happening again. I bought the car new, so I know there has been tampering or replacement with the ignition switch. GM's solution is go to dealer. Dealers solution is replace key. Obviously replacing key is not a long term solution nor one that fixes the problem. It is, however, and expensive one that could be is fatal if not fixed in time. It also appears to be extraordinary. I have driven for 42 years and owned many, many cars. I have never had to replace a key because I can pull it out of the ignition. Now, it appears I'll have to do it every year.

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #8

Jan 012008


  • 36,000 miles
I bought a new 2005 Equinox back in March of '05. Over this year-2008- I have problems just getting my key to turn in the ignition. I have to wiggle it back and forth for a few minutes until it catches and turns over. I can't get in and just start my car. I can turn my key maybe an inch and I have to turn it back and keep wiggling it until it "gives" for me to turn all the way. Of course, my warranty was up at 36,000 miles which I have surpassed a few thousand miles ago. I am trying to get some $$ together (things are very tight as everyone knows!) to get it looked out. I don't know if the lock is misaligned or what? I feel there should be a recall on this to be fixed because I have seen a lot of feedback on internet from people that have same issue with this type of car. I am not taking it to the dealer because I don't want to pay hundreds or possibly thousands of dollars. I will take it to a local reputable mechanic who is very trustworthy and reasonable.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #7

Feb 292008

Equinox 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Issue started around in early 2007 that every once in a while the vehicle wouldn't start on the first attempt. Now in 2008 this happens more frequently. When I go to start the car it sounds like it tries to start then the engine light lets me know I did not crank the car. Occurs more so after I have had to run errands and start the car a number amount of times in a shorter period of time. I have taken to the GM dealer and have had it checked a number of time. They have cleaned the injectors, reflashed the computer, and updated the computer to the latest levels. The answer is always the same no codes generated no problem found.

- Portland, CT, USA

problem #6

Sep 102007


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
It started around the summer of 2007 that every once in a while the car wouldn't start on the first attempt. As it got closer to the end of the year and now into the beginning of 2008 this happens a lot more. When I go to crank the car it sounds like it tries to start then the engine light lets me know I did not crank the car. This happens more so after I have had to run errands and crank the car a frequent amount of times in a shorter period of time.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #5

Nov 092006

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,950 miles
Lemon/auto failures, too many items to lst 2005 Chevy Equinox lt.

- Dorchester, MA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?