Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,676 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments

problem #12

Feb 042013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 106,889 miles


Check engine light came on and car felt sluggish. Took to dealership and found throttle body asm/tps registers incorrectly. Replaced throttle body asm.

- Elverson, PA, USA

problem #11

Feb 242014


  • 85,000 miles
My 2007 Chevy Equinox is giving me problems when I am going up a hill. My car hesitates almost every time when going up a hill what I mean when I go up the hill it is like my car is going to shut off. I have had it to the garage several time in the last month for the replacement of the fuel pump and then the O2 senor went bad right after I had the fuel pump replaced is when the hesitation started. They just replaces the spark plug and that didn't help it and they can find anything else wrong with it.

- Dillsburg, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 192012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 95,201 miles
We were traveling 3-28-2013 and were about a hundred miles from our destination when the service stabilitrac, service traction control and check engine light came on. Less than a year prior to this on 4-19-2012 we had a similar incident, which happened to be the power steering control module. We made it home 4-2-2013 and took it to the shop and found out the egr valve need replacing. I replace the egr valve and cleared the codes. All was well till 4-7-2013 when the service stabilitrac and service traction control lights came on again. I have not had a chance to look into this.

- Marshall, MN, USA

problem #9

Aug 152012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 67,596 miles


I have had my Equinox since 2008; it is a 2007 model. I have had continual repairs on the electrical rear lights and the belt tensioner, but this next repair is by far the worst. When the car was in park position the odor of gasoline was strong around the perimeter of the car. When driving, the smell of gas circulated into the air conditioning system penetrating the inside of the car. The smell was strongest on the outer side by the gas tank. I took the car to get a diagnostic test and found a leak above the gas tank. Further inspection revealed the fuel pump was leaking gasoline, about six inches from the muffler. This defect could have resulted in serious injury or fatalities as I regularly carry children in the back seat. This car is only 5 years old and it seems to require too many repairs for the few years/miles it has traveled. As a thoughtful vehicle owner, I take precautions to preserve the life of my vehicle through regular maintenance and covered storage from natural elements. Certainly these kinds of defects are not an expected occurrence in this kind of vehicle. Disappointed Equinox owner :(

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 192011


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact smelled gas and took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer diagnosed that the fuel pump was leaking and was dripping onto the exhaust pipe, causing smoke to escape from the hood of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 022010

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 91,667 miles
My husband had hit a buzzard in February 2010 on a county paved road which tore some of the griddle on the front driver's side. Then on September 2, 2010 I was going to the store and the car got hot started to die which the computer told me to stop, turn off A/C and idle the car, allowing it to cool down. After 15 mins I proceeded to return home and the SUV got extreme hot, started to die. Called my husband and he told me to leave it there. He pull the 2007 Equinox to our home and look for reason for SUV to get hot. We called the dealer since the SUV was still under warranty and towed it to the dealer. Several days later we was told that a piece of griddle had rubbed a hole into radiator and engine would need to be replace. Stated that this was not covered under warranty so we contacted our insurance Agency. At first ins Agency was not going to cover the damages but we were able to provide receipts on every maintenance done which the last oil change was August, 2010, 30 days before this problem. There were never no puncture holes in radiator no overheating no signals at all. After repairs, the invoice stated that "sway bar plastic trim rubbed hole into radiator." Also we was ask by the dealership if we want the sway bar repair since it was in needed for repairs. Two weeks ago we discovered that the motor mount is broke. The SUV have been popping when backing up or turning since we got the SUV repaired in September 2010. We did called GMC after reading their warranty coverage 100,000 miles or 5 years that stated that these defects was cover under this warranty. We were told that the radiator was not part of the warranty nor was the sway bar; only the engine. We would like for someone explain to us why the radiator would not be cover under this warranty since the engine can not function without the radiator to keep the engine cool and if the radiator is not needed then why is it on the vehicle" what is covered under GMC's best ever warranty"

- Bennington, OK, USA

problem #6

Apr 282011


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving 45 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning and the steering wheel remained stuck. He was able to restart the vehicle and continue driving. The contact did not inform the dealer or manufacturer nor was the vehicle diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hamet, CA, USA

problem #5

Dec 082010


  • 76,200 miles
In October 2010 while traveling in Illinois, the vehicle "check engine" light came on. I was told by a dealership in Illinois that nothing was found to trigger the alarm after they ran a diagnostic, and drove the car for a while. A few days later, while driving from Illinois to Colorado, the "service stabilitrack" light came on, but went out after driving for about 60 miles with it illuminated. Again I was told over the phone by the Illinois dealership that it was probably nothing to be concerned with, and it should reset itself. In December 2010, I was unable to drive my car due to the loss of power steering. I received no alarms the previous day, and the car was working properly. The service stabilitrack light remained on at this point. I loss the ability to drive my car safely to the dealership I purchased it at in Colorado. After towing my car to the dealership, I was informed by the service department that the "power steering assist motor" had gone out, and would need replacing at the cost of $1000. I was also told that there were several history codes indicating back to October, that there was a problem with the car. I have just discovered that Chevy has recalled other vehicles with the same problem. This is a dangerous issue that should be addressed as soon as possible!

- Carbondale, CO, USA

problem #4

Feb 232010


  • 60,550 miles
Stabilitrack on the 2007 Chevy Equinox will reduce the power to the engine and the engine will cut off while driving, sometimes, leaving no breaks to completely stop. I was driving out to lunch the first time when I approached a railroad track whose barrier was coming down, as I was only going 25 mph, I started slowing down. My engine cut out but the car continued to go forward. The breaks wouldn't work and finally got it to come to a complete stop before hitting the car in front of me (who was right in front of the barrier). Took it to the dealership and had them clean out the area around the throttle sensor. Apr 08, 2010, I had my car die on my twice in less than 12 hours while driving it. The second time was right in the middle of a busy 4 way stop. Luckily, it continued to roll until it stopped a few feet away on the side of the road. Steering was difficult enough when upset that you might cause an accident. Now the dealership won't see me until Monday (this is my only mode of transportation) and I will probably have to pay them again to fix a problem that should have been solved less than 2 months ago!

- Great Lakes, IL, USA

problem #3

Jul 012009


  • 35,000 miles
Terrible odor that we cannot get rid of.

- Iowa, LA, USA

problem #2

Jan 122009


  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving 45 mph, a service warning indicator illuminated, which read "service stability track and engine power reduced". the vehicle stalls and stops and, when attempting to accelerate, the vehicle would not move. The contact has to wait and continuously apply pressure to the accelerator pedal in order for the vehicle to accelerate again. The vehicle would only travel approximately 20 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that there were no current failures. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer stated that no compensation would be made because there were no diagnostic codes displaying the failure. The manufacturer called the dealer and had the records checked for each time the vehicle was taken in for the failure. The failure mileage was 24,000 and current mileage was 50,000.

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 282007


  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the very first day he took the vehicle home, it broke down. All the instrument panel lights illuminated and flickered, and the vehicle would stall. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle would completely shut down and lost all power steering and braking ability. The computer would reset itself and then restart. The failure would occur intermittently. He took the vehicle to the dealer approximately 14-15 times and they attempted to repair the failure, but it was never remedied. After he stated that the vehicle was a lemon, the dealer stated that nothing was wrong with the vehicle. He consulted the manufacturer and was informed that if the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The current mileage was 6,025 and failure mileage was approximately 10.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?