Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,915 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments

problem #20

Apr 202016

HHR

  • 166,054 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car started smelling gas inside when driving and have to open the window to get some fresh air. A clicking noise, too much noise from the front suspension when turning or driving..L took the car for oil change and the dealer tech did not want to drive the car stating that it's safety issues. They said the lower control arms has been wear out and that the "sway bar"is shorter wearing my tires. In just this year L have change the 4 tires twice. Discount tires said they have not seen such a thing before the wearing occures in the inside part of the tires... the entire front suspension is collapsing. GM need to issues a recall for these issues.... the dealer gave me a repair quote of almost $3000...GM need to take responsibility of all these issues and offer a credit or repurchased the car back... L have children that L transporter back and forth to school and to hospital...and need a safer car...

- King, NC, USA

problem #19

Feb 182016

HHR

  • 106,000 miles
While driving this vehicle, the power steering light flashes on dash board and I lose all the function of the power steering. It has now happened 4 separate times in two weeks, the last when I was turning a corner and nearly hit a car on the side of the road because I could not steer the vehicle. I have a safety recall letter from General Motors stating that I had to pay out of pocket to fix and then they would determine if it fell under there recall. When the letter states to bring it to the dealership should the power steering light ever comes on the dash panel, which it has done know 4 times when the power steering failed. I could been killed if I had been going faster or killed some one. This is an issue with the GM faulty mechanics. First it was the ignition having to give my vehicle up for nearly 6 weeks to have it fixed. This is a serious issue that needs to be addressed by General Motors and paid for by General Motors, not the consumer. What is it going to take, another death because of the mistakes. Even after they notified me that is a safety issue via letter, but I first pay out of pocket and then determine if they will reimburse me for it. The first time I was in downtown la going to work and once again when I turned left while driving, the second on the 405 in rush hour traffic, just as I was accelerating and changing lanes, the light flashed on the dash board (power steering) and I lost all power steering capability. The third was the week of February 15, 2016. Turning left again and the fourth time just yesterday again when I turned left.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 052014

HHR

  • 37,500 miles
A "clunking" noise from the front suspension when turning into a driveway or dip in street at 3 or 4 miles per hour. This problem has been taken to the Chevrolet dealership and to an independent auto repair shop where I was told the "lower control arms rear bushing was torn (rubber) and therefore allowing the arm to move to where it contacts the frame of the vehicle. This is dangerous, and could very well cause the steering to malfunction at a most inappropriate time resulting in a collapse of the front end suspension. I would like GM to correct this defect in engineering, and if they cannot to repurchase my vehicle so I can purchase a safe and more reliable vehicle.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 022014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 138,765 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At a red light and was rear ended which cause me to it the rear end of the car in front of me.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 182006

HHR

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph over railroad tracks, a noise emitted outside of the vehicle. The failure also recurred when encountering a bump or pothole. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on three separate occasions where the stabilizer link, sway bar and bushings, and front struts were replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 8/19/14

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Jun 022014

HHR

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall and power steering and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated two days after getting the vehicle back from the dealer, the vehicle had to be flat-bedded back to the dealer, because it wouldn't start. It was determined the ignition switch needed to be replaced. Also, the right passenger outside mirror fell off, the right passenger wiper arm broke, the rotors were replaced twice in two years, and the rear shocks were replaced.

- Kirkville, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 012009

HHR

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There appears to be a large amount of cobalt and HHR owners with complaints about suspension clunking noises. Research shows there is an issue with the stabilizer bar parts and also the intermediate steering shaft. These problems occur at many intervals of mileage ranging from 10,000 miles and up. GM has since sued the manufacturer of the intermediate steering shaft for those replaced under warranty equaling $30mil. I am unlucky as my vehicle was out of warranty (3yr/36000 miles) and could not get any of my suspension and steering problems fixed by a known issue from GM. They have stated that the intermediate steering shaft is not a safety concern. Now, if a part that is vital in connecting the steering column to the rack and pinion system is not a safety concern, then I believe GM executives are more concerned with cost of doing the right thing than safety of their customers. These are parts that keep a vehicle from flipping over during sharp turns at highway speeds and that keep the car traveling in the direction the operator determines using the steering wheel. After replacing the parts to correct my issues, the problem has re-occurred. The parts were not changed so even after "fixing" it, it would eventually return.

- Hamilton, IL, USA

problem #13

Feb 062014

HHR

  • 180,000 miles
Fuel leak in front of drivers side rear wheel. This is completely unacceptable in an 8 year old vehicle. The fuel line corroded and leaked heavily, cost me $254.22 to replace this faulty gas line. I am obviously not the only person this has happened to. I have also had all the other typical problems such as the key will not release from ignition, bad rotors, loose front end bushings and excessive front end vibration over typical street cracks. Broken drivers side interior door handle, cracked windshield...... updated 10/22/2014

- Woonsocket, RI, USA

problem #12

Dec 032007

HHR 4-cyl

  • 33,837 miles
We have had several problems with our HHR since we bought it in August of 2007. The first problem occurred just after purchasing it, when we were driving it out on a highway for a first time outing with it, when I noticed the front wheels seemed to be floating back and forth. I slowed down and immediately took it home. We contacted our local dealer, and had the car brought in to be checked out. We were told the front bushings were bad & needed replacing. The dealer replaced the bushings. (under warranty) in September of 2007, we had to replace our cars remote control, even though it was only 1 years old. Our dealer replaced it but we had to pay $81.82 out of our pocket. October 2007, I brought our car into our dealer because it had a rough ride and groaning sounds. The dealer looked at it and said the sound was coming from the steering column. They replaced our steering column under warranty. December of 2007 my wife, mother & I went to a christmas light parade in our town; when we got home I turned off the ignition & when I attempted to remove the key, it would not come out. That Monday I called our local dealer & they had us bring in the car on 12/3/07. They reported that there was no power to the inter lock2 and a fuse had brown. They found that a wire harness was pinched under the column cover & repaired the harness (under warranty) January 29,2008 I brought our 2006 HHR into our dealer again complaining about squeaking and popping noise with clunking in left front. They said they heard noise from stabilizer links pivot joint at link tires miss-matched. They replaced both stabilizers links under warranty. Continued on next report

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #11

Apr 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I was driving in the right lane going westbound approaching a stop light when I applied my brakes it did not slow down, I pressed the brake hard an car kept going into the rear of a truck that was stopping at the light. My car was not stopping. Like it had no control. The airbags did not deploy. Im concerned that the ignition turned off when I went over some pot holes in the road. My car is one of the vehicles on the recall list for the ignition switch, I had replaced ignition switch months ago due to same problem. What are my options to get this problem resolved?

- Vallejo , CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 132007

HHR

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the gear shifter could not be engaged into any gear. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the gear shifter. Additionally, the contact stated that the front tires were wearing prematurely. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the front end was rebuilt. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Jacksboro, TN, USA

problem #9

Apr 102013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My 2006 HHR has had to have the front and rear end struts replaced and now, the power steering motor and drive shaft. The vehicle only has 80K miles on it. I don't drive it that much so it shouldn't be having all of these issues. Why hasn't GM issued a recall on this vehicle for all the problems it has? I've read countless similar stories on the internet. This vehicle needs to be recalled to address these issues.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 132012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
This is an ongoing safety problem that Chevy/GM doesn't care to worry about. My cars steering wheel shakes when I am driving. Sometimes to the point of the car to be uncontrollable in addition to this the traction control light goes on along with the engine light. I have brought this in to the dealer every two months and have been told a combination of what the dealers mechanics feel the problem is. I have had steering columns replaced, cam shaft solenoids, bushings, rotors. The list goes on. Nothing has fixed the issue. Today bringing back to the dealer I am now told that I am lucky to be alive as both control arms in the front are seconds from breaking along with the links that keep the car stable.. the mechanic shared that had I hit a pothole I would have died as the car would have spun out of control and impossible to recover as I would have no way to control the steering wheel. Now having two kids, and this being an ongoing problem one would think that Chevy/GM would pay for the replacement of their faulty part. I cant afford a new car, and I can no longer afford to pay for GM's mistakes. My car is paid off and now I don't feel safe driving it. To "fix it" and I say this loosely it will cost 1,800 out of my pocket.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 152011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
When I come to a stop, there is a rattling sound and makes the stop increasingly bumpy. It is coming from the driver's side quarter panel. Sounds like a steering column issue just as a mechanic told me.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #6

May 152012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 90,150 miles
I am a 35 year old mother of 3 and I recently had a dangerous close call while driving my 2006 Chevy HHR. I was driving with my children on board and I suddenly lost power steering. I quickly managed to control my vehicle but it was a close call. I took my vehicle to my nearest Chevy dealer for inspection. I was told what was the exact problem with the steering column and the estimated cost of repair would be $1600. I went home and quickly researched into the problem. I found out that I was not the only owner of a Chevy HHR to have this similiar problem. I found out also that the Chevy cobalt (which also has the same steering column) has a recall on it but not the Chevy HHR. It is only logical that the Chevy HHR should have a recall also because the steering column is identical. Public safety should be the number one concern.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #5

Feb 072012

HHR

  • 63,000 miles
I have owned this car from day one they have replaced my shock or strut on the front passenger side at least 4 times and it needs to be done again. Can you tell me why?

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #4

Nov 302011

HHR

  • 47,000 miles
It began with my key getting stuck in the ignition, would have to try to place in park multiple times to release the key. Found the panel in the steering column and the release button to remove key. Now the gear shift button is stuck in the pressed position, making the car vulnerable to coming out of gear. This is extremely unsafe and costly to fix. From listening to service representative at a former dealer, this is a common problem with HHR and cobalts. Additional personal research has indicated this is a common and known issue with the manufacturer. This defect is unsafe and should be recalled and fixed by the manufacturer on their dime, not mine. In addition, the rotors knock and have had to be replaced. I had one replaced under warranty, they would not replace both front rotors. Now the opposite is knocking and is no longer under warranty. This is also a very common problem with the cars and not something that should have to be replaced on any car with less than 50,000 miles. GM needs to own up to their mistakes and make the necessary recalls.

- Baldwin City, KS, USA

problem #3

Aug 102011

HHR

  • miles
I am scared, for my family's safety fear that this vehicle will stall and we will crash or be hit by some one...when a vehicle stalls you loose all power...that is power steering, brakes.....the ability to maintain control of your vehicle I am attaching a link that GM should review.....danger this vehicle is an accident waiting to happen !!!!!!!!!!!!! copy this link to your web browser http-//abclocal.go.com/wtvd/story?section=news/abc11_investigates&id=6811236 if you would prefer I can send a typed transcript (word for word) of this news broadcast? I will not allow my wife and kids life to be put in danger, by letting them ride in this vehicle this vehicle is unsafe and should be recalled the link I am attaching shows a news broadcast in raleigh nc. On channel 11 news !!!!! involving number 12 issue on my long list below with the Chevy HHR stalling while driving..... I purchased a 2006 Chevy HHR lt, in 2007. Since I have purchased this vehicle the following issues have occurred. Mileage on car 33,346 1) the key locked up in ignition..9/06/07 2) shifter froze up and would not come out of park.. 9/06/07 3) headliner trim ? energy absorption capability 4) front end and whole car started to shake when applying brake..9/06/07 dealer turned rotors( but did not fix issue) 5) replaced driver side running board..9/06/07. 6) got in vehicle one morning tried to take kids to school, vehicle would not go over 15 mph, had towed back to lawson Chevrolet. Working on getting date/mileage..this issue occurred twice before.

- Cosby, TN, USA

problem #2

Jan 012011

HHR

  • 38,000 miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer states several problems with vehicle the consumer stated his sons vehicle had a severe shimmy in the steering wheel and became progressively worse when the brake was applied. The pads and rotors were replaced twice and the third time the rotors were machined, but the problem continued. There was also a strange noise coming from the front suspension, but the dealer was unable to pinpoint the problem. At 42,000 miles the air condition made a loud screeching noise for 2 minutes, then stopped working. At 68,000 miles, a metal skid plate had fallen from underneath the vehicle. Soon after, the exhaust was very loud. The vehicle was taken to the repair shop and the consumer was informed the catalytic converter had cracked. The vehicle lost power and a cylinder had to be replaced, the check engine light would come on and then go off, the temperature gauge did not work, so the air condition only worked if the check engine light was off. The door locks did not work, the radio worked intermittently, the sun visor would fall down at random times. There were times when the vehicle would not start. The consumer stated even with an alignment, new struts, shocks and good tires, the vehicle continually pulled to the right.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #1

Aug 192010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR ls. Consumer states that vehicle has worn struts which needed to replaced after only 33,000 miles and dealer has been unable and unwilling to assist with defect

- Miami, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?