Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,774 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jun 172015

HHR

  • 65,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ignition switch was replaced under recall in Nov 2014. On date of failure it was not possible to turn the key, but it could be removed and reinserted. Because the ignition key couldn't be turned, the steering wheel was locked and the transmission was locked in park. Vehicle had to be towed to chev dealer that advises they will replace it under warranty.

- Southport, NC, USA

problem #28

Feb 172015

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The dealer repaired the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) in November of 2014. After the repair, the key became stuck in the ignition and the battery was drained. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the battery was replaced and the switch was replaced. Also, the floor shifter needed to be replaced. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 07/13/16

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #27

Feb 282011

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR. Unable to remove key from ignition. Had to get car towed. The shifter and power steering fuse was replaced. The consumer is seeking reimbursement.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #26

Sep 192014

HHR

  • 58,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Approximately 6 weeks ago, I was driving my Chevrolet HHR 2007, (40 mph), when traction control light came on, and the info showed traction control off, and then service traction, at the same time I could hear and feel the car was shifting hard. It was like kicking. I parked, turned off the car and turned on again, and the light disappear but after few hours, it was there again, shortly after the engine light came on with the info check engine, and stayed on with the traction control light, then this disappear but the engine light stayed. Also the car has made noise since 2008 when my husband bought it.I don't know if both problems are related. On 10/15/14 I went to the dealer because my car has 5 different recalls to fix, and the service traction light was on, they didn't check it, they said if I want them check it, I have to paid for the inspection. Looks Chevrolet it doesn't care about their customers safety!

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #25

Aug 082014

HHR

  • 102,806 miles
The power steering feels stiff not able to make right turns without the stiffness. Power steering lights constantly on since this problem occurred. My power steering is electrical and for some reason I believed that the ignition recall my have something to do with this not sure.

- Columbus, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Aug 012014

HHR

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle headlight and tail light issues. Consumer also has seat belt problems. The consumer stated the tail light went out so often, he carried spares with him. The over head light shorted out. Also, the key would hang up in ignition, which made it difficult to disengage, the shifter would also become stuck in park. The gears did not match up with the gear shift lever.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #23

Jul 252014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 85,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The gear goes easily without pressing button from reverse to neutral or drive. And the rear view mirror light won't shut off by pressing button. It worked fine before I took it for the recall of the faulty ignition switch.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #22

Jul 232014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 133,142 miles
As I was heading out to work my car dinged power steering on the dic and became very hard to control and the panel shut down. The past week the car will surge in and out, as if it's racing. The car has lost all power steering to the vehicle and is in need of replacement, this is just two weeks after it came out of the dealership for the recall fix for the ignition, I find it very odd I've had no power steering issues until the ignition was replaced. The dealership is aware. I also called GM who is aware and cannot do anything.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #21

Apr 212014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I would like to file a complaint about my 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The power steering is not working anymore and this is very unsafe for me to drive. I understand that there are 2009 and 2010 GM vehicles that have been recalled for this same reason, but my car has not. I found this on the GM website. media.GM.com/media/us/en/GM/news.detail.html/content/pages/news/us/en/2014/Mar/0331-power-steering.html.GM recalls older model vehicles to fix power steering.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #20

Nov 012007

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and power steering problems. The consumer stated he had three accidents. The first accident, he hit a light pole and damaged the right side of the vehicle, the second accident, he hit a tree and the third accident, someone backed into him. The consumer stated the air bag did not deploy, in any of the accidents. The consumer felt he lost power steering in the first two accidents. Since December 2010, the steering light would illuminate. Also, the consumer experienced problems with the shifter as the vehicle was difficult to shift when first starting out; it was difficult to shift from park to drive. Updated 07/03/14 updated 08/07/14

- Haines City, FL, USA

problem #19

Aug 192013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering turns off while driving. It makes the car extremely difficult to steer and maneuver. Turning the engine off, resets the module and it will work for a bit. There is a click just before it goes out. Twice the click occur has occurred while turning a corner. In both instances the engine turned off. No warning, except a click, and then no ability to drive the car, because it has completely shut off. I have complained to the dealer for several months. They tell me there are no issues, but now they issue a recall for power steering. My vehicle year is not within the recall. I do not understand why a car shutting off while driving is not an issue. It was very concerning for me. It is extremely difficult to maneuver the vehicle when the power steering shuts off, but impossible when it stalls in a turn.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #18

Apr 102013

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving various speeds, the power steering would stop working sporadically. While driving 65 mph, the clutch caught on fire and disintegrated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for the clutch failure. The technician diagnosed that the clutch assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #17

Feb 142014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 74,860 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to shift from park. The contact was taken to the dealer where it was found that the gear shift assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 74,860..updated 03/25/14.

- Jamestown, TN, USA

problem #16

Jan 022014

HHR

  • miles
I have a 2007 Chevy HHR the shifter is stuck in park and will not move can hear a clicking near steering column, was also having trouble with ignition turning and sometimes key could not be removed, this is been going on for a while its getting worse.

- Slaton, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 312013

HHR

  • 88,000 miles
The powersteering message displayed on the dash and the wheel locked up on the expressway, luckily I was able to pull over to the side of the road so that it would not cause an accident.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #14

Jun 192013

HHR

  • 91,675 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy HHR and few months ago my traction control light come on and engine light. Then shortly after my power steering went out. The power steering has been going out periodically...last time was on a exit ramp on the curve. I almost put it in the ditch. I understand that the cobalt had recalls on these items but not the HHR. Which makes no sense because of the same chassis and all. I took it to ed schidmt Chevy in perrysburg Ohio and they said I need a steering column (because power steering module is in column), power steering motor, camshaft valve actuators, left lower control arm, and front struts. I have read a lot of internet forums and there has been many complaints on same issues. Chevy should take care of this. Dealership wants $2300+ for the repairs.

- Monclova, OH, USA

problem #13

Sep 012013

HHR

  • 125,000 miles
I was driving home and got into the turning lane to turn across two lanes of traffic. My speed was about 25 mph and I heard a "ding" and looked at the information panel on my dash. It said "power steering". I wasn't aware at the time, but once I tried to turn (once traffic cleared) I realized I had lost power steering. I was only 2 miles from my house, so I continued home---manhandling the steering wheel through each turn until I arrived in my driveway. It has happened three more times since then, and I continue to drive until I get to a red traffic signal, turn the car off, and restart it. Luckily, (so far), it has reset itself and the power steering works again. I am concerned as to why there has been no recall on this, as there are tons of issues on this make, model, and year. I have a 1 1/2 yr. Old son and all I can think of is how fortunate I have been that each time this has occurred, he hasn't been in the vehicle with me. Come on, Chevrolet, please fix this issue! we also own a Chevy trailblazer and love our Chevy products, but I am concerned now as to whether I will buy another one when it's time.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #12

Aug 222013

HHR

  • 171,669 miles
I bought my car a week ago. Drove it home with no incident. Then drove it was on the highway to take my elderly mother to an airport 40 miles away. After seeing her off, I went to get my new car washed. Then got back onto the I-5 and drove about 3 miles, when I heard a tone and the dash board under the speedometer lit up, stating I had lost power steering. I was in the middle lane of six lanes, going 60 miles an hours in a brand new to me car I was not used to driving, in congested commuter traffic. I am not strong. I was scared out of my mind. Luckily I was on a straight away. I put on my hazard lights and people eventually let me over. I took the next off ramp and managed my way home on frontage roads and side streets, which of course took forever. Arriving home I turned the ignition off and cried with relief and frustration. Then I turned the ignition back on to see what the message on the dash was again and it was gone. I'm terrified to drive this car again. And everything thing I've read online since, said that if the shop doesn't see the message or duplicate the problem, they can't fix it, equalling money wasted. This problem is not new, highly dangerous and recalled in at least one of Chevrolet's other cars and recalled on the HHR in Canada. Why not here"?? aren't americans as valuable as canadians??? please make this a recall and contact me when you do. I have a car I can't drive without fear and can't sell in good conscience. I am older, in poor health and without much money, I feel that I have been cheated. No one should be allowed to sell unsafe cars any where!!! I also feel this problem is why Chevrolet is discontinuing the HHR, and leaving us out in the cold with their mistake. Does someone have to die for a recall??? I feel it was close in my case!!! will begrudgingly be taking it to a dealer for repair. What else can I do"

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #11

Feb 282012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 22,590 miles
Ignition key stuck in ignition. Couldn't remove it. Took it to dealer, friendly Chevrolet to have them look at it. The Chevrolet mechanic found the park lock switch defective on the transmission shifter. The transmission shifter assembly had to be replaced. The service writer said it's a common ocurance on coblt and Hhrs. An internet search provided the same results; a common problem with these cars. If you can't get the key out you can't leave your car.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #10

Nov 142012

HHR

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the gear shifter was able to move from park to drive while the key was still in the ignition. The failure also occurred when the key was in the ignition and the vehicle was powered off. The dealer was notified who advised that there were no recalls and offered no further assistance. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- West Portsmouth, OH, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?