Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,976 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Apr 202014

HHR

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the key would become loose in the ignition. The contact had also received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) however, the dealer stated that the part was not going to become available for a minimum of 3-4 weeks. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #20

Mar 072014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system), however the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #19

May 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to a defective part installed in vehicle. The consumer was upset over the recent recall, and cover-up by GM.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #18

Nov 122013

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and during accident air bag malfunction. The consumer stated she rear ended. She was hit so hard, the other vehicle's license plate, left an imprint in her bumper. The air bags did not deploy. Shortly after, the power steering would go out. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop, where a part was replaced. However, the steering issued returned, while driving, the steering wheel started moving back and forth, and she was unable to control it, and consequently, the vehicle flipped over.

- Cedarburg, WI, USA

problem #17

Sep 012012

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch problems. The consumer stated when she arrived at her place of business, she could not turn the ignition off. She was forced to drive to the local dealership for a diagnosis. According to the invoice, the ignition lock cylinder and shifter were replaced. The consumer S seeking reimbursement, of in light of the widely publicized recall.

- Alpena, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Apr 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and air bag malfunction. The consumer stated he was involved in an accident last year and the air bags did not deploy. The consumer stated he was rear ended and he was hit so hard, that his head hit the steering wheel.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #15

Nov 012007

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and power steering problems. The consumer stated he had three accidents. The first accident, he hit a light pole and damaged the right side of the vehicle, the second accident, he hit a tree and the third accident, someone backed into him. The consumer stated the air bag did not deploy, in any of the accidents. The consumer felt he lost power steering in the first two accidents. Since December 2010, the steering light would illuminate. Also, the consumer experienced problems with the shifter as the vehicle was difficult to shift when first starting out; it was difficult to shift from park to drive. Updated 07/03/14 updated 08/07/14

- Haines City, FL, USA

problem #14

Oct 302013

HHR

  • 106,000 miles
About 2 weeks after giving my son my HHR in October of 2013, he was rear ended with the other driver going over 35 mph and the air bags did not deploy. I am curious to know why?

- Orion, MI, USA

problem #13

Mar 112014

HHR

  • miles
I was informed by mail that my vehicle was recalled and I was to contact GM to fix the issue but I don't know where to go they have not contacted my back concerning this issue. I do not know what else to do.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #12

Jan 012014

HHR

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact was driving 40 mph and crashed into a ditch. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was taken to a hospital for treatment of back injuries. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Franklinville, NY, USA

problem #11

Apr 022007

HHR 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the one owner of this car. Since day one nothing but problems. Air bag lights on dash illuminated, driver and passenger, warning have remained on no matter if your buckled in or not. It is supposed to signal if not buckled in, I have only heard it do this twice in the past seven years. I wear my seatbelt 99.99% of the time but have to tell my husband to put his on, I wish it would beep or do what is supposed to so I wouldn't have to beep. We took to dealer at about 1000 miles and was told " not to worry about it " when seatbelts are engaged the airbag warning signals on dash and center console still will be flashing. Airbag warnings never turn off ! I feel GM should include this in the airbag recall, same parts- we all know.

- Fairfield , OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 142014

HHR

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HH6. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph in snow, the driver lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a tree. The vehicle then flipped several times. The air bags failed to deploy and both the driver, and a passenger sustained minor injuries to the shoulders from the impact of the seat belt. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired or inspected to determine the cause of the air bag failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #9

Jan 052012

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the engine stalled and could not be restarted. The failure was recurring. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure after 24 days and the manufacturer installed a computer board in the vehicle to register any failure codes but to no avail. The failure persisted. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) but the vehicle was not serviced per the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000...updated 04-24-14

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 022014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 116,284 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to guide the vehicle to the shoulder, restart the engine and resume normally. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact indicated that the vehicle exhibited the same failure that was listed in the recall under NHTSA campaign number 14V047000(air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was 116,284.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #7

May 012011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The service airbag light is on all the time as of approximately 30,000 miles, the vehicle has never been in a crash. I have done some research online and it appears I am not the only one with this problem.

- University Place, WA, USA

problem #6

Feb 012012

HHR

  • 32 miles
I was recently in a front end collission with a Chevy HHR lt 2007 where my air bags deployed. Due to the airbags being deployed my seatbelts locked to prevent me from hitting the steering wheel and window. However my passanger seatbelt ( no one was in the passanger seat)locked and due to the pressure of the lock/combustion chamber the plastic cover of the seat belt became projectile in the car and hitting my right arm causing abrasions and burn marks. I now have a perminate scar due to the force of impact from the seatbelt cover.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 232011

HHR

  • 21,658 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving 50 mph the power steering malfunctioned while making a turn causing the vehicle to crash into a wall. When the crash occurred the vehicle was destroyed and the contact was wearing his seat belt but the air bags did not deploy. The contact suffered injuries to the neck, back, and chest. The contact was not taken to the hospital. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the steering and reported the failure. The manufacturer sent a investigator to inspect the vehicle. The report from the investigator did not include any information regarding the power steering. The contact noticed numerous complaints regarding the steering system for his year, make, and model vehicle. The failure mileage was 21,658. Updated 08/11/11 updated 08/12/11.

- Medley, FL, USA

problem #4

Oct 012007

HHR

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated the steering wheel would violently shake when the brakes were applied while driving at various speeds. The contact also stated the entire vehicle violently wobbles during the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated the passenger side air bag light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to have this failure diagnosed or repaired. An authorized dealer was made aware of the failure and the contact was advised not to worry about the light. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Fairfield, OH, USA

problem #3

Oct 172007

HHR 4-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
The service air bag warning comes on in my 2007 Chevrolet HHR. I found that this problem exists on other late model GM vehicles and there is a service bulletin addressing this problem as well as NHTSA #10020881. My concern is that this is a recognized safety problem that puts the consumer at the mercy of the dealer who may or may not properly diagnose and service vehicles with this safety issue. There is the potential to replace the air bag (at great cost to the consumer) for unsuspecting consumers. Additionally, if this problem is so prevalent why is there not a recall or at least some protection for the consumers when we try to get this safety problem repaired? my understanding is that this warning is related to the passenger seat so there is the serious matter of child protection. Thank you for any information or course of action you have for the consumer's safety regarding this matter.

- Midlothia, VA, USA

problem #2

Aug 062008

HHR 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 44,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle has been repaired according to a recall for the air bags; however, the air bag indicator continues to illuminate. He believes that the repair work was insufficient and the vehicle is still unsafe to drive. The mechanic explained that the indicator illuminating was not an issue; therefore, it would not be repaired. The failure mileage was 44,200. Updated 03-06-09 updated 03/09/09.

- Pon Tonn Beach, IL, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?