Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 14 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #97

Nov 212012

HHR

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving various speeds or at a traffic light, the steering wheel locked. The contact had to stop the vehicle and allow it to cool down before restarting it. The dealer advised him that they were familiar with the failure and informed him of the repair cost. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was approximately 25,000.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #96

Nov 012012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 40,270 miles
Driving home from work on evening I heard a "bing" and a warning message came on in my dash reading "power steering" and I immediately lost the power steering assist on my car entirely making it very difficult to maneuver. I was barely able to get off the road I was on and safely into a parking lot. If I had been traveling at higher speeds or in the middle of a turn when this failure occurred it would have almost certainly ended in a crash. The power steering motor (the same part recalled on 2007 Chevy cobalts, which share a power train and chassis with the HHR) failed and had to be replaced at only just over 40,000 on a well maintained vehicle. I would suggest further inquiry into whether the recall on this part has been comprehensive enough and should perhaps include other makes and models such as the HHR. I have been in contact with GM regarding this safety issue and have received little to no help.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #95

Nov 092012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 58,264 miles
I was driving in heavy traffic on a major city street in fort myers Florida trying to make a right hand turn when all at once my power steering went out on my car. It was so hard to steer the car but I was able to get my car semi off the street. The power steering light lite up on my dash panel. I turn the car off and went for help. A gentleman was kind enough to stop look at my car and could not find where the power steering was. He then got in my car and restarted my car and it was working just fine. He advised me to take my car to auto zone and have it checked out as they would hook it up to their equipment and fined the problem. Once at auto zone they told me it was a recall problem and to take it to a Chevy dealer to get it fixed. It cost me $278 and was told by the service department that it was not on a recall notice but that it was a problem with the HHR's. they advised me to contact GM and see if they would take care of the cost. Guess what I was told it was not under warranty or a recall problem and it was on me. After reading about all the problems reports on this with the power steering it scares me to think it could go out again as I have read that some have had it to happen more than one time to them.

- North Fort Myers , FL, USA

problem #94

Jul 262012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 87,809 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failure started in early 2012 and increased in frequency and duration until repair on 7/26/2012. Initially coad Chevrolet dealer of cape girardeau, mo, said it would be covered by recall, and on the their invoice #547639 it is printed "customer requests a factory recall be performed, or viss print shows this unit to be open for a particular campaign. Special policy #10413 pwr steering in dic. No power steering at times." Along with "perform recall as per bulletin; inspect/replace as needed", but then they added "replace power steering motor as per estimate" and charged $281.59. Their explanation was that VIN really was not covered, but GM might cover and reimburse for the repair if we contacted them directly. GM customer service was contacted many times starting on 8/17/12 or earlier and on 9/19/12 stated they would not cover repair. In Canada this failure was identified and covered for this model year and others. I want GM to reimburse me for the obvious and dangerous defect that they are aware of and are selectively covering. I have the invoice containing the above information.

- Cape Girardeau, MO, USA

problem #93

Jul 062012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 52,708 miles
While on a highway entrance ramp my wife lost power steering almost hit the guard rail. After restarting the car the power steering returned, but a few days later it happened again. Over the last three months it has reached the point it's happening multiple times a day, this will become a major problem in the winter. Contacted a dealer and was told this the same power steering system that was recalled on the 2007 cobalt's, but not the HHR. The cost to fix this problem that G.M. knows about is more then I can afford right but why should owners of this vehicle have to pay to fix a defect in a manufacturers product. Please have them fix this before someone is hurt or killed !

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #92

Feb 012012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at 35mph the power steering failed and the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnose that the power steering motor was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000 and the current mileage was 72,187. Updated 11/13/12 the consumer stated as of 10/15/2012 the vehicle has been repaired. Updated 11/21/2012

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #91

Jun 042012

HHR

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while traveling 5 mph, she attempted to make a turn when the power steering warning light illuminated and the vehicle became very difficult to steer. The vehicle was able to be driven to a private mechanic where it was confirmed that the power steering had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #90

Oct 012012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 62,300 miles
I was driving on highway about to turn when the power steering just shut down. The vehicle became hard to steer and almost caused an accident. After going to dealer they replaced the power steering motor but this issue has not been recalled by Chevy. Very dangerous. Many complaints made about the same issue.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #89

Sep 062012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The HHR has electric power steering. The steering assist fails and makes the car almost impossible to steer. This is an interment problem. Shutting the car off and restarting will reset the fault and allow the steering to have power assist again. It seems GM has recalled all cars with that steering system except the HHR. This is so dangerous because you never know when you are going to loose assist. I can happen in a turn and you will not be able to steer through the turn. Someone is going to die due to this issue it is very dangerous. Called my local GM dealer and was told I'm on the hook for the expense to repair this issue. Canada did recall this make and model for this issue. How is it a safety problem in Canada but not in the us?

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #88

Jul 212012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
My power steering motor keeps going on and off...it works for a bit when starting car but then the power steering message come up on the dash board and it becomes hard to steer. Apparently this is a major issue with the HHR and this needs to be corrected before someone becomes seriously hurt. GM appears not to care and have not done a recall on this. I am sure I'm not the only one who has reached out to you for help but please do just that..help!!!!

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #87

Jun 012012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering on my 2007 Chevy HHR keeps cutting in and out. It has happened numerous times at all speeds. This is very dangerous as I had lost control of the car on the highway when this occurred. Why is there no recall on this> same motor as the Chevy cobalt and they recalled that!! same motor as the Canadian HHR ( and same plant) Canada recalled!! yet nothing for hte us consumer--and we bailed them out with our tax money. This is pathetic will never buy another Chevy. Now im stuck with a dangerous car.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #86

Aug 152011

HHR

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 40 mph, the front end of the vehicle began to shake abnormally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact also experienced a steering failure while making a turn in which the vehicle would not respond to the steering wheel movements. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #85

Sep 012012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
While driving the power steering sign come on and unable to steer safely, and its becoming for frequently..

- San Tan Valley , AZ, USA

problem #84

Sep 082012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 93,989 miles
My son was driving the car, the "power steering" info light flashed in the info area, and then the power steering went out, making the car difficult to steer. After turning the car off, and then later restarting the car, the power steering acted fine at first, then later it did the same thing with the power steering, the same evening. I am aware that there is a recall on this same power steering unit, on the Chevy cobalt.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #83

Jun 012012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Power steering motor goes out and generates an error in high temperatures. Restarting the car causes it to function again, but it will continue to go out randomly in high heat. This exact same component has been recalled in other Chevrolet cars and is recalled on the HHR in Canada.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #82

Jul 302012

HHR

  • 150,000 miles
I was operating my vehicle at highway speed when my power steering failed. I heard an indicator sound and then 'power steering' appeared in my driver information center/odometer area. At this time, the vehicle became extremely difficult to steer because the power steering had failed. I slowed to a complete stop, turned the vehicle off, and restarted it. The power steering began to function again. Approximately 5-10 minutes, the power steering failed again while I was at highway speed right before a large curve. I was unable to stop and turn the vehicle off and had to steer with great difficulty to a location where I could turn the vehicle off. This has occurred 3 times in the past 2 weeks. I am no longer operating the vehicle and have it schedule for maintenance. I believe, if the vehicle were to be operated at higher speeds and this occurred it could be dangerous because the vehicle is extremely difficult to operate and their is no warning that a malfunction is about to occur.

- Merryville, LA, USA

problem #81

May 042012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
I had just left work and had just entered the freeway driving 55 mph when I heard a chime followed by a warning message on my dashboard that read power steering. It wasn't until I began to turn through an overpass when I realized that the power steering had completly failed. I had to turn to the right and hold the turn using a strong pull of the steering wheel. This was the first time that it went out. I called the dealer to see if there was a recall. They said no. I checked the internet and found that the Chevy cobalt which was built on the same platform uses the same part and that vehicle was recalled for the power steering motor. My wife refuses to drive this car. She can barely turn the wheel at a dead stop. In an emergency situation, it will be almost impossible to turn the wheel left then right to avoid an accident.

- Mckinney , TX, USA

problem #80

Jul 202012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
My wife nearly lost control of the vehicle while driving the HHR on the sawmill parkway during a rain event. The power steering stopped working. The curvy nature of the road and the posted speed made it extremely difficult for her to control the vehicle. The HHR is built on the same platform as the Chevy cobalt and has the same steering system. It is my understanding that the cobalt has a recall for the same issue. It does not make any sense that the same issue being identified by countless HHR users on the internet would not be included. The results could have easily been tragic.

- Derwood, MD, USA

problem #79

Jul 042012

HHR

  • 55 miles
On-going despite several repair and/or replacement attempts. The rotors have been replaced four times. I just did the rotors and brakes 3 weeks ago. When it is cold the suspension seems like the car is going to fall apart. The power steering comes and goes. The first time it happen I was trying to make a U-turn and was almost rammed from the passenger side door. These cars are a death trap. All my issues has been going on for about nine months.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #78

Jun 302012

HHR

  • 66,100 miles
While idling, the power steering light came on and when I moved forward there was no power steering, I reached a destination and cut the car off. The power steering came back on when I restarted the car some time later. It worked okay for a day or so then began to go off and on while driving. Now it is more off than on. The Chevy HHR has the same power train as the Chevy cobalt which is under recall. I contacted a dealer this morning who said there is not a recall at this time for the HHR.

- Wakefield, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?