Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 2 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #337

Mar 302016

HHR 4-cyl

  • 93,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 65 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering became very difficult to maneuver. The failure persisted intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,600. Updated 05/18/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was finally repaired. Updated 06/22/16.

- Central, SC, USA

problem #336

Mar 012016

HHR

  • 120,000 miles
Power steering continue to go out while driving and I have to use my own power to drive.

- Farmersville, CA, USA

problem #335

Feb 132016

HHR

  • 91,286 miles
While driving on a city road the power steering went out so that it became very hard to steer the vehicle. There was a smell of an odd type also noticed. An indicator light on the dash board also came on at that time indicating power steering problem.

- Milan, MI, USA

problem #334

Nov 242015

HHR

  • 8,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - when in motion, on a city street or a highway, driving straight, going into a turn or just turning at any time my power steering light comes on and the power steering goes out. This makes it very difficult to operate my chevey 2007 HHR safely. I have researched this and find on youtube there are a lot of HHR owners with this same problem. Please advise.

- Martindale, TX, USA

problem #333

Oct 052015

HHR

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Bartow, FL, USA

problem #332

Jan 082016

HHR

  • 75,000 miles
Car will lose power steering suddenly with a message displayed on the information center "power steering". does not matter speed or length of time car has been driven. At this point, the power steering returns to normal when you turn the car off and then restart the car. Recall from GM has only 2009-2011 HHR, but many other older HHR 2006-2008 have exact same issues according to HHR forums. Chevy even sent us a notice in January 2015 stating the potential of the power steering failure, but offered no date for a recall to fix. The HHR has 75,000 miles and dealer was notified, but was rude about even looking the car up for recall information or helping us. This car has only seen a Chevy dealership for any service related issues.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #331

Dec 272015

HHR

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the road and heard a warning chime and the dic showed power steering. I pulled over, turned car off and back on it was fine. Was looking to SE what it would cost to replace and see all these people having same trouble. It's very dangerous and should be looked at by Chevrolet if it's that big of a problem!!

- Berrien Springs, MI, USA

problem #330

Dec 162015

HHR

  • 91,000 miles
Cars power steering goes out while driving and comes back when I turn it off and back on again.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #329

Nov 202015

HHR

  • 66,200 miles
Power steering stops working. When I restart the car power steering will resume to work. It may hrs or days before it stops again. This only happened will driving. Stereo some times flashes and unable to turn stations. Some times my inter-lights will flash and not work afterwards. Both of these issues happens whenever.

- Elsie, MI, USA

problem #328

Nov 252015

HHR

  • 90,000 miles
Power steering suddenly goes out resulting in total loss of power steering. This happened while driving on a city street,

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #327

Nov 072015

HHR

  • 81,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering went out while driving on the highway. Chime sounded, "power steering" appeared in the dic. When I turned off the car and turned it back on, the power steering was fine. According to all the research I did to try and diagnose the problem, it seems that this is typical of a defective power steering motor and is common to this model which has yet to be recalled.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #326

Nov 072015

HHR

  • 115,140 miles
On Nov 7, 2015, my family returned to our car after eating, when my husband started the car he commented on how hard it was to steer, then the warning light for power steering came on. He turned the car off and back on and the steering was fine. There are numerous reports of this happening..why is nothing being done"?" this is a serious safety issue. I have to use this car daily to travel back and forth from work and according to the other reports the power steering goes out at any time. There is no way I could control this car at freeway speeds without power steering.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #325

Oct 312015

HHR

  • 119,200 miles
I paid 947 dollars to fix the power steering module when it went out on Oct 8, 2015. I took car to get fixed at sisbarro in las cruces, nm. Like I said I paid 947 dollars to get it fixed. Now today I stopped to say hello to one of my neighbors and when I started to drive again and the power steering went out today October the 31, 2015. It's good thing my wife was not driving the car she could have been hurt or hurt someone else. So again I took the car back to sisbarro in las cruces, nm. I'm just wondering what kind of excuse they are going to give me this time and probably charge me another 947 dollar again.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #324

Oct 292015

HHR

  • 0 miles
Vehicle keeps blowing power steering fuse. Did not occur until after I have ignition recall work preformed. I am smelling in the cabin like hot wiring smell.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #323

Aug 072015

HHR

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to steer. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normal operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #322

Oct 142015

HHR

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle failed to accelerate. In addition, an unknown warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was not available.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #321

Oct 162015

HHR

  • 10 miles
I was driving last week and I suddenly lost all power steering. I had to pull over (as I was on a side street) and put on my 4 way flashers shut off my car and then start it. When I started my car I suddenly had my power steering back. Just a couple of days ago I was once again driving on a busy road near the intersection of the highway) and the same thing happened. I'm wondering if there is some time of defect with the power steering. Ever since I had the ignition switch recall fixed, I've been having problems.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #320

Oct 082015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 119,004 miles
Thursday October 8, 2015 my wife got ready to go to work got in the car and backed up from the porch and then she noticed that the steering was real hard to turn. So she drove the car back into the porch and noticed that there was a warning on the dash that said power steering. She honked the car for me to go outside, she told me what was going on with the car and I too noticed it said power steering. I glad this happened on my porch because I had just arrived from phoenix, AZ on October 7 at 8pm, 2015. We could have been killed on the highway. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #319

Sep 012015

HHR

  • 142,000 miles
Steering randomly turns off and

- Aransas Pass, TX, USA

problem #318

Aug 152015

HHR

  • 61,000 miles
While attempting to turn a corner, the power steering cancelled out in the car and vehicle almost hit the median and another car in the next lane due to the fact that the power steering goes away making it very difficult to turn the vehicle; I am not a young woman so it is not easy to manuver the turning of the car when the power steering goes away and live on a limited budget so the manufacturer of the vehicle should make the necessary repair as the problem was not divulged to the public when these automobiles were put on sale and this is a bad problem which is now occurring more and more;

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?