Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 3 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #317

Sep 052015

HHR

  • 59,048 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Second time this has happened within a week. Both times at a stop. First time stop sign, second time stop light. As soon as I reached the stop light I loose power steering. Each time I turned on my hazard lights, put the vehicle in park and restarted it. The power steering returns.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #316

Aug 162015

HHR

  • 183,401 miles
Driving my 2007 Chevrolet HHR on 8/16/2015 when the power steering message came on and I lost all power steering in the car. I pulled over and turn the car off. Then I started it again and had power steering back; but after few minutes driving, the light came on again.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #315

Aug 152015

HHR

  • 120,000 miles
While driving, the power steering message came on and I lost all power steering in the car. I pulled over and shut off the car. Then I started it again and had power steering again! this occurs sporadically now.

- Heflin, AL, USA

problem #314

Aug 142015

HHR

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While traveling on the highway at 60 mph, my power steering light came on and I lost power steering this was on the August 14, 2015. Thought I had blown the fuse replaced it. Did not drive the vehicle again until Monday, August 17, 2015 and again while travelling on the highway at 60 mph the power steering light came on and I lost power steering. Made it home parked the car, Tuesday morning August 17, 2015 turned the car on and the power steering was fine.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #313

Apr 052014

HHR

  • 60,000 miles
The power steering quit working. Have had this problem intermittently ever since. Now happening more often this month (August 2015). Need recall as I know lots of HHR owners are having same problem.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #312

Jul 182015

HHR

  • 192 miles
Started the car to move it up a little bit and the power steering failed, very difficult to turn. This car has been a lemon since day one when I bought it from the dealership, front end shakes when you go 60 mph. Now I see there are over 300 complaints of steering problems! what am I supposed to do with this heap" will the dealership fix the faulty parts "

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #311

Jul 162015

HHR

  • 143,720 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2007 HHR, the power steering went out, a chime sounded and the words power steering came up on the display. I pulled over and shut the car off and then started it back up and it was fine. This started yesterday (7/16/2015) and it done the same thing again today.

- Athens, TN, USA

problem #310

Jul 042015

HHR

  • 198,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the power steering seized without warning. The failure occurred intermittently. The contact stated that there was a recall for the steering failure, but the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 198,000.

- Dandridge, TN, USA

problem #309

Jun 242015

HHR

  • 103,000 miles
While driving my 2007 Chevrolet HHR the warning chime came on and the warning on the dash board" power steering". immediately there was no power steering on the car. I stopped the car and restarted and everything was fine. Now it is happening at least two or three times a day. There is a GM recall for this exact problem. Why isn't my 2007 Chevy HHR on the recall list? I should not have to pay to have this problem fixed. This is a terrible safety issue that all GM Chevy HHR's should be covered under. What if I killed someone or even worse myself. Very scary! I want this covered under the recall. This is a problem on most all Chevy HHR no matter what the year of the vehicle. Enter "HHR power steering" problem on "google" and see what you will find! do the right thing!

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #308

Sep 012014

HHR

  • 120,000 miles
It doesnt matter what speed I am driving or how long I have been driving, my power steering will randomly go out. Sometimes I can make it an entire trip without it going and sometimes I cant even get out of my parking space before it goes. The only way to get it to to work is to shut off the car and turn it back on. Ive taken it to a mechanic and he said that the power steering motor was dead. I cannot afford this part and I dont understand why some of the newer Hhrs are being recalled and the 2007 is not when there are plenty of complaints and issues of the same nature. My car is near about impossible to drive and I live near a high volume population and I am afraid that my lack of being able to safely drive my car could result in an accident.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #307

Apr 172015

HHR

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. Once the vehicle was started, the power steering malfunctioned and failed to work. In order to get the power steering to work, the vehicle had to be restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed by an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #306

Jun 172015

HHR

  • 65,500 miles
Ignition switch was replaced under recall in Nov 2014. On date of failure it was not possible to turn the key, but it could be removed and reinserted. Because the ignition key couldn't be turned, the steering wheel was locked and the transmission was locked in park. Vehicle had to be towed to chev dealer that advises they will replace it under warranty.

- Southport, NC, USA

problem #305

Jun 042015

HHR

  • 130,000 miles
As I was driving the power steering warning light came on and the power steering went out. Very hard to drive. I turned off the car and when I restarted it; it ran fine but after about 30 minutes the light came back on and the power steering went out again. I noticed this has been a problem for other Hhrs of other years and they were recalled. Anyway this year can be as well?? I just bought this car 2 months ago and really can't afford issues with it already.

- Troy, IL, USA

problem #304

Jun 222014

HHR

  • 200,000 miles
In June of 2014 my cars ignition turned off as a result I almost impacted with another vehicle. Also after this my temp guage no longer worked. Took it to bill holt Chevrolet where they replaced my ignition switch after I got it back my drivers door will not lock or unlock consistently not even with the key, my service airbag and power steering lights keep coming on, and now radio and instrument panel lights go off. I have to stop turn the car off and restart they might come back on and they might not. I am reluctant to take the car back to bill holt Chevrolet as they kept the car for 3 and a half months to repair the ignition. Also I can get no satisfaction out of them when I picked up the car the last time my temp gauage still wasnt working they said it had nothing to do with the recall. I am reluctant to drive for any distance as the power steering fails often. I have contacted GM on several occasions and can get no satisfaction from them either. Are they not goverened by an Agency that makes sure these repairs are done and done correctly. Please email me who I need to contact to get these issues resolved. Carterbrenda53@yahoo.com

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #303

Jan 062015

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 3 mph, the steering wheel seized. The contact crashed into a large rock and the power steering warning light illuminated. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering needed replacing. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000. Updated 6/25/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised the failure occurred frequently. Updated 9/18/15

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #302

Apr 012015

HHR

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving at 30 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and force was required in order to turn the vehicle. The check engine warning light illuminated and the power steering was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the fuse needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure recurred while the contact was driving at 35 mph. As a result, the contact lost control of vehicle and crashed into a building and a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Greenfield, OH, USA

problem #301

Mar 272015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 72,200 miles
Car parked in garage. I turned on ignition and I get a 'power steering' in display. I backed out of garage and the I could hardly turn the wheel. It was difficult to drive but I was careful. I drove to the dealership and was told they didn't have time to look at it but I could go to another dealer. I got back in my car and turned the ignition and the power steering was back. So I drove back home and searched the internet to see what the problem might be. I was shocked to find that there are a lot of people with HHR having the same problem. I am now afraid to take a trip in it until it can be repaired. I can see where if this goes out while driving.... big time accidents.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #300

Mar 122015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Chevy HHR when the power steering light came on. I stopped and turned the car off. When I started the car again it fine, but after a mile or 2 the light came back on. I have stopped and started the car again several times and the same thing keeps happening. That tells me that there really isn't anything wrong with the car. I wonder how many other people are having the same problem.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #299

Mar 052015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
We put the car into park. Dash notification for power steering. Restarted vehicle. Power steering briefly returned. Power steering dash notification appeared again. Restarted & drove to dealership.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #298

Feb 032015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Cruise control set at 70 on highway, dry pavement, daylight hours and no precipitation occurring. Vehicle suddenly started drifting to the left and as I went to correct it, my steering wheel did not respond as it should have and my car continued to go off the left side of the road hitting the guard rail several times. All this happened instantaneously at high speed. Six days later I received the bulk mail form letter from GM dated January 2015 informing me that my vehicle "may experience a sudden loss of power steering that could occur at any time while driving". I can only speculate that such prior knowledge might have equipped me to handle the situation with any sort of readiness, which GM is assuming it would do by this letter. They need to do more! I am posting here because GM customer service rep never asked me what happened and when I attempted to tell her, she did not accurately understand what I was saying and did not accurately or completely take my statement.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?