Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,762 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 1 of 10)

problem #191

Oct 172016

HHR

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated the power steering had malfunctioned. The power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where they diagnosed that the power steering motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle failure mileage was 120,000.

- Tahlequah, OK, USA

problem #190

Jul 052016

HHR

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving at any speed, the power steering indicator illuminated and the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic. The vehicle was diagnosed that the electric power steering motor failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #189

Sep 032016

HHR

  • 85,000 miles
My power steering cuts out and display on dash says power steering. Contacted Chevrolet and brought vehicle to my local dealer and was told electric steering motor needs to be replaced and I would have to pay for this. This is a widespread problem with several GM vehicles with electric steering and many have been recalled but I was told that not all HHR's were recalled just certain ones and mine was not on the recall list. This is a safety issue that GM should own up to and stand behind there vehicles.

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #188

Jun 102016

HHR

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving various speeds, the steering became very difficult to maneuver and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was confirmed that the failure was related to a recall for the loss of electric power steering assist; however, the VIN was not included. The recall details were not provided. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the torque sensor and eps motor controller unit were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 10/13/16

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #187

Jul 082016

HHR

  • 72,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 30 mph, the power steering failed and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle had to be manually restarted for the vehicle to be briefly operated. The failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 72,700.

- Altamonte Spring, FL, USA

problem #186

Jul 272016

HHR

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving various speeds, the power steering warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the power steering module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Gainesboro, TN, USA

problem #185

Jul 032016

HHR

  • 59,375 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering light recently has started comings on resulting in the power steering going out while I am driving. Initially it went out when I was turning a corner, today it went out while driving straight down the highway. This is dangerous because I have a hard time trying to steer it off the road anytime it happens. I have already had the ignition switch recall taken care of and am now wondering if this is a related problem. I've really enjoyed my HHR but am very unhappy that this is going on and am now very nervous to try to drive it to a auto repair, the nearest being 75 miles away. This started happening 5 days ago on July 3, 2016.

- Rocksprings, TX, USA

problem #184

Jun 172016

HHR

  • miles
Financed HHR 2010 from bloomington Lincoln August 2014. December 2014 traction light on. Snowing. Car sliding dangerously. Went to nearby tires plus. Arms replaced and 4 new tires. $1800, tires plus. 2015 total check at Chevy dealer gave car overall appoval. Did not mention arms. 2016 June. Arms are worn and loose, and hazardous to driver and within warranty to have total repair at tiresplus.. the arms disfunction caused front tires to blow out. June 2016 driving on hwy 694W. Left front tire blew. Towed to nearby tiresplus a different one. They found faulty arms caused tires worn beyond expectation. The 2 front tires. The back tires are nice. Tires are within tires plus warranty also. Tires plus will not comply and blames faulty parts manufacter responsible. Please check this as possible recall. I filed small claims litigation. June 23, 2016 and will target all of them. Manufacturer 1st. My final pymt is due 11/2018 on this car. I beleive car dealer should of been fair to me when I brought it back 3 days later. Dealer denied me because I did not get a warranty. Tiresplus seems valid of decision not to fix due to recall possibility. I agree. The manufacturer and Chevy need be investigated.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #183

Jun 102016

HHR

  • 67,000 miles
My power steering motor went out while driving down a busy street. I was lucky at the time to be able to pull safely over with much effort. I checked recall list and although 2010 was listed as recalled steering motors, my VIN # was not listed as one. I had to pay over $300 to replace. Why not my VIN for that year? defective!

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #182

Jun 092016

HHR

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 35 mph, a chime sounded inside the vehicle. There was a complete loss of power steering and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver. The failure recurred numerous times. After the engine was turned off and restarted, the vehicle operated properly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering motor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Shelbyville, IL, USA

problem #181

Jun 112016

HHR

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 10-25 mph, the power steering assist warning light illuminated and the power steering failed. The contact stated that the steering required excessive force to operate. The contact also stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the power steering torque sensor assembly and eps motor controller unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 08/17/16

- Orangeburg, SC, USA

problem #180

Apr 202016

HHR

  • 80,120 miles
Power steering assist fails..started randomly but now happens every time I drive..can drive approx. 1 mile each time when the power steering light comes on and the power assist fails....dealer informs me my VIN number is not part of the recall...this started happening shortly after breaking 80,000 miles on the vehicle...the mileage seems to be concurrent with most other complaints for this problem..I am leary of dealer repairing this as they told me to check my power steering fluid, but this vehicle does not use power steering fluid.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #179

Apr 132016

HHR

  • 68,500 miles
Takata recall 2010 Chevy HHR looses power steering assist while driving. This happened on 4/8/2016 and 4/13/2016. NHTSA issued recall bulletin 14115B July 2014 but local dealership says it does not affect my specific vehicle since it does not come up when VIN is searched.

- Maceo, KY, USA

problem #178

Mar 102016

HHR

  • 116,687 miles
My car was recalled and repaired for bad power steering motor and it has broke again and dealer wants me to pay for repairs I was just driving to work that morning and the steering became hard to turn and no warning lights the lastime it happened the car had 84,117 miles

- Burtchville, MI, USA

problem #177

Feb 132016

HHR

  • 161,100 miles
Steering column locks up. Car is very, very, very hard to steer. Power steering goes out at any time and I am afraid to drive because of potential accident. I have already called,02/15/2016, and complained about power steering lock up.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #176

Feb 192016

HHR

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The power assist warning light illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) and stated that the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #175

Apr 062015

HHR

  • 70,000 miles
Steering wheel is locking in place as it should when you park, turn the car off and remove the key, but then the steering remains locked when you insert the key and attempt to restart the car. The wheels are not in a turned position and the steering wheel is in it's appropriate position. It takes wiggling the steering wheel as much as you can until the key catches to get it to start. The key will completely turn to the "on" position, but if that steering wheel is locked there is no connection and the steering must be wiggled until the key engages. Also, the steering does not respond as well as it did before the 1st recall for the ignition switch. It feels as if the wheels are not responding appropriately when I am driving. It's harder to maintain control and stay in my lane. I do not know if this has anything to do with the recall on the steering that was previously performed but it is becoming progressively worse.

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #174

Dec 202015

HHR

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 70 mph, the power steering failed. When the brakes were applied, the pedal pulsated and the electric power steering warning indicator illuminated. The contact was able to operate the vehicle with the power steering after switching to a different key. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000.

- Urbana, OH, USA

problem #173

Nov 152014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the electric power steering (eps) warning light illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The contact also stated that the failure recurred on every occasion where the vehicle was restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.....updated 01/13/16 updated 01/22/16.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #172

Nov 202015

HHR

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle was turned off and restarted but the failure persisted. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Bates City, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?