Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 2
Average Mileage:
72,532 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #173

Nov 202016

Impala

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dash lights went out, replaced light switch, blows fuse if dash lights are turned on, horn will come on when car is off.earlier brake peddle wore wires behind it down, caused short, car would die while driving.low tire pressure light on, tires are fine.

- Lynd, MN, USA

problem #172

Mar 102016

Impala

  • miles
The ignition key comes out with car running.

- Hawthorne, FL, USA

problem #171

May 232011

Impala

  • 45 miles
Blinkers & hazards do not always work.

- Lagrange, GA, USA

problem #170

Jul 042016

Impala

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. While making a right turn at 20 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 10/18/16

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #169

Sep 152014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V400000 (electrical system) and 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #168

Jul 312014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer requests reimbursement for ignition switch recall repairs. The consumer stated in late July 2014, she was unable to start the vehicle, because the key would not turn. A local repair shop replaced the ignition switch at cost of $289.74. Two months later, the consumer received a recall notice regarding the ignition switch. GM denied the consumers request for reimbursement, because she did not have the work performed at a dealer.

- Harrodsburg, KY, USA

problem #167

May 212016

Impala

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact did not receive a recall notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V400000 (electrical system) and 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). While parked in the driveway, the vehicle erupted into flames near the instrument panel and in the engine compartment. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hampton, CT, USA

problem #166

Apr 222016

Impala 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
I waited for recall parts (ignition and oil leak) and had them completed 4/13/16. On 4/22/16 my car started smoking coming off the freeway, I pulled over and the engine stalled, people yelled to get out it was on fire. The fire started in front of engine and proceeded though engine compartment burning all plastics and wiring. Dealership says I'm responsible for the damage since I didn't have full insurance coverage. How can that be, my car was fine until they worked on it. Dealership was also very rude and condescending. I hope all Chevrolet dealers aren't the same. I gave dealership 7 days to resolve the problem, however they basically told me no one can help me. I almost burned up in this vehicle.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #165

Apr 012016

Impala

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle was difficult to start after it was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the key had to be manipulated in the ignition for the vehicle to be started. The contact stated that several attempts had to be made before the vehicle was started. The contact stated that there was no difficulty starting the vehicle until the vehicle received the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #164

Jan 152016

Impala

  • 0 miles
Key turns in ignition but car will not crank.sometimes wait 10 minutes and it will start some times it won't.security light comes on while driving.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

problem #163

Sep 292014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the ignition key was able to be removed from the vehicle while the ignition was in the on position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Mexia, TX, USA

problem #162

Mar 102014

Impala

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the horn failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the horn was replaced three times but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) and the dealer was unable to determine when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 03/09/16

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #161

Nov 232015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that there was a progressing failure in which the radio stayed on when the vehicle was turned off. There was an error message on the radio display panel, indicating "check cd". the vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine) and was unable to determine when the parts would become available to receive the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was not able to determine a reasonable time frame of when the parts would become available to supply to the dealer. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 03/09/16

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #160

Sep 012015

Impala

  • 184,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. After activating the turn signal, the vehicle suddenly shut off and the air bag sensor light illuminated. While driving, the key was removed from the ignition switch and the vehicle continued to operate. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 184,000.

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #159

Dec 042015

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
The ignition keeps locking out the cars ability to start. On numerous occasions this vehicle would not start after entering the vehicle. The lights would come on and when the key is rotated to the start position nothing would happen. Upon waiting for 10 to 20 minutes this vehicle will then restart. When taken to the garage to have maintenance done this vehicle never failed for them on twenty times of starting in a row. Took the car home and it sat and now it failed again. My daughter is about to be dismissed from her current job because of this constant failure to start. Lately, the time has grown. My daughter took a video of the incident and have taken it back to the dealer and they are not able to duplicate the problem. They said they had to jump it to start it and when questioned about it they stated it took them 10 to 15 minutes to gather all the equipment to get it to start. The problem would have resolved itself in that time. This is now becoming life threating as the vehicle stalls in traffic and an accident could happen. No codes are showing for this according to the dealer. This has been going on for approximately 5 months now and getting worse. In my opinion it is something to do with the ignition or security system. I hope nothing serious happens while my daughter is driving. This is the only vehicle she has for transportation. I am submitting this on her behalf.

- Shorewood, IL, USA

problem #158

Oct 172014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to fuel line and ignition recall problems. The consumer stated 5-10 after exiting the vehicle, he was informed his vehicle was on fire. The consumer stated he received a recall letter several months prior. However, the letter stated the parts were not available.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #157

Sep 042002

Impala

  • miles
The security system shuts down for about ten and sometimes 20 minutes making me late for work, meetings and emergencies without warning.. the vehicle is stationary when it happens and it use to happen far and between, but the security light comes on very frequently. I work at night and have been stranded in an empty parking lot a number of times. Very dangerous.

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #156

May 012015

Impala

  • 200,000 miles
The ignition recall was performed on my 01 Impala 3.4 recently. This recall was meant to fix the issue of the car shutting off while driving due to the key moving out of the run position to the off position. However, this has not fixed the issue. I have been to several repair shops with concerns about the car shutting off while driving and no one has been able to diagnose the issue. The car is running perfect except for this issue. I believe this issue is due to the ignition recall. I have read the reports concerning this recall and understand that the solution is to modify the key but I would look into other options since this has not fixed this issue. Their is absolutely nothing else wrong with the car according to 4 repair shops and 4 diagnostic scans that have been ran on the vehicle. While driving, the car will shut off, it will restart without any issues but this is becoming dangerous for my children and I to be driving in. Their is absolutely no warning on when this will occur so I have no way to prepare for this issue. I just wanted to bring this to your attention so you may look into this recall once again. This issue has been happening more frequently since may of this year. You may feel free to contact me anytime for any information you might need from me. Thank you

- Melvindale, MI, USA

problem #155

Jan 312003

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the key in the ignition switch released while the vehicle was still running. The contact mentioned that the failure also occurred when driving over speed bumps. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) but was not serviced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #154

Jun 152015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 128,182 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start. The contact mentioned that the vehicle did not restart after waiting for 10 minutes. The failure recurred four times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 128,182. MA 10/6 updated 3/28/2016

- Doylestown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?