Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,487 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Impala lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Mar 312016

Impala

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My back lights and dashboard does not work

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #47

Mar 112015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 152,653 miles
This particular issue occurs at random times and conditions. As I'm traveling at night and I pull back the dimmer switch lever, the headlights will go out and leave me totally in the dark. The only way that I can get the headlights to come on again is to continue to manipulate the dimmer/turn signal lever until the lights come back on.

- Richfield, UT, USA

problem #46

Oct 172014

Impala

  • 120,000 miles
Turn signals work intermittently. And just in the middle of the way you see that your turn signals do not work and sometimes they work!

- Potsdam, NY, USA

problem #45

Feb 022014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had 1 turn signal switch replaced due to a wire that fried and started smoking causing white smoke to come out near the steering wheel. The high beam head lights were stuck on the on position killing the battery. That was last year. These switches cost about $500 bc they are dealer parts. Now, 10/21/14 I was driving down the road at night and lost my low beam headlights. Mechanics tell me same problem. I need another turn signal switch replaced. I've been driving on only high beams now until I can afford another 500 bucks. To expensive for me to keep replacing.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #44

Jul 162014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
My blinker switch and high beam doesn't work at all you have to mess with the flasher button if you want to single a turn. Other times it works but still no high beams its been worked on lights changed everything still nothing. I was told a factory defect but heard nothing on this. I carry my small children and my wife in this car and I almost got rearended a few times so if its a factory defect they should fix it. I heard other owners with the same complaint so its not just parts wore out it was no good in the beginning then they should pay for it since the fault is at the factory.

- Lockhart, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #43

Jul 072014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle intermittently failed. In addition, the contact was driving approximately 35 mph when the service engine soon warning light illuminated and the A/C system failed to activate. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the cause of the failure was unable to be determined. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 08/27/14 updated 09/18/2014

- Macon, MS, USA

problem #42

Nov 202013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 142,396 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the interstate and my headlights went out. I flashed my brights and they came back on. It has done this multiple times since.

- Sarcoxie, MO, USA

problem #41

May 152006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the headlights malfunctioned and when switching from the low beam lights to the high beam lights, the lights would shut off. The contact would switch the lights on and off, but the lights would not remain illuminated. The failure recurred continuously over a three year period. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the light switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 05/29/14 MA the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 06/2014

- Zim , MN, USA

problem #40

May 072012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Hazard flasher switch is bad. The turn signals will go out intermittently. If you press the hazard buttons over again the turn signals work again. This has been happening since 2012 when my vehicle had 70,000 miles.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #39

Sep 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My turn signals work intermittently. Sometimes not at all and sometimes have to activate flashers on and off. Sometimes lites won't turn all the way off when I park they will make a chiming sound and I will turn them on and off til it stops.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #38

Jul 072008

Impala

  • 101,008 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at night on I127 highway, with my dim lights on and cars passing me, my dims go blank. Nothing. I had to quickly pull over and make adjustments to find the problem. After about a dozen episodes of these I find that my bright lights would still operate. After I'd get home I would shut the engine off and wait a few minutes and restart the engine and my dims would come back on !!!!! I have cleaned the little signal switch on the front dash but they still go off at any time of the night. I have come close to a few accidents. Please help ! I have talked with several mechanics and rookies but they were stumped. This is a safety issue and should be addressed.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #37

Jul 072008

Impala

  • 101,008 miles
While driving at night on I127 highway, with my dim lights on and cars passing me, my dims go blank. Nothing. I had to quickly pull over and make adjustments to find the problem. After about a dozen episodes of these I find that my bright lights would still operate. After I'd get home I would shut the engine off and wait a few minutes and restart the engine and my dims would come back on !!!!! I have cleaned the little signal switch on the front dash but they still go off at any time of the night. I have come close to a few accidents. Please help ! I have talked with several mechanics and rookies but they were stumped. This is a safety issue and should be addressed.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #36

Dec 022009

Impala

  • 159,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the head lights and the instrument panel lamps failed. The failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 159,000.

- Falmouth, KY, USA

problem #35

May 122011

Impala

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the headlights malfunctioned when switching from low beams to high beams. The manufacturer was notified, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was now experiencing another new safety concern in regards to the pass lock, where the components were wearing out. The security system would not recognize the key when it was inserted into the ignition. This locked the contact in the vehicle and prevented it from starting. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle had not been driven since this pass lock failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 102,000.

- Milbrook, AL, USA

problem #34

Mar 262012

Impala

  • miles
The turn signals stop working on its own. Then started working again. The signal does not work all the time.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #33

Feb 062006

Impala

  • 35,000 miles
Turn signals work intermediately. This is a very common issue with Impala. Very dangerous when I signal I don't know if it is going to work. I have almost caused multiple accidents because of this issue. I complained multiple times to the dealer but they claimed nothing was wrong. As soon as I hit the 100,000 mile mark they all of a sudden have a solution. This should be fixed by the dealer because of the number of times it's been reported. There is obviously something going on with the switch.

- Grrensboro, NC, USA

problem #32

Jul 312008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I bought this car 4 years ago and I did not have problems till this happened, the car don't want to star in several times, im already pissed off and I don't really know what to do with it, cuz I know that nobody is going to buy it like that; I like the car but this is inoperable!!!!

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #31

Mar 252009

Impala

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at night approximately 65 mph, the low beam headlights failed to illuminate without warning; therefore, the contact activated the high beam headlights and continued to drive. The vehicle was previously repaired twice in 2009 for the similar failure where the dimmer switch assembly was replaced each time. The contact planned to take the vehicle to an authorized dealer to be repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 77,936.

- Monroe , CT, USA

problem #30

Jun 142011

Impala

  • 98,000 miles
I have a 2002 Impala and my turn signal works sometimes and other times it doesn't. my mom has a Chevy Malibu and hers was doing the same thing and they recalled it due to defective parts so I looked it up on line and GM has recalled other models but not Impala. So I took it to a GM location and the guy told me they know its a problem but until they recall it there's nothing I can do but pay for it. It started at around 98,000 miles and I would almost get hit when I slowed down to turn after a while the problem went away I guess about 135,000 now its back again im at 182,000 and still no recall.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #29

Mar 072010

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 60 mph, the headlights failed without warning. The failure occurred intermittently and when the turn signal mechanism was slightly jolted the headlights would operate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they informed the contact that the universal light switch would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000. Updated 04/15/11 updated 11/21/11

- Wilton , ND, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?