Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,158 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 282015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles


2005 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle stops and steering locks up while driving. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled while at a stop sign. The manifold gasket, thermostat, ABS module and ignition were replaced over a period of eight years.

- Middleton, WI, USA

problem #15

Sep 092009


  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds, the engine overheated and the temperature gauge increased to hot. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The dealer replaced the head gasket and water pump three times. In addition, the alternator and catalytic converter were previously replaced. The failures continued after the repairs. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Hopkins, MI, USA

problem #14

Dec 212012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
First... my car all of the sudden started leaking like an oil tanker last January 2012, and the ABS/traction control lights came on. Took the car to the Chevy dealership, and had major repair work done on transmission, and engine for leaks. Spent $2100 and was quote $2600 to replace the ABS/traction control modulator for my ABS/traction control to work again. The code they pulled was C1218. Needless to say it has not been repaired yet. A month after spending this money, I had to replace the water pump, and almost a year later I had to replace a plastic elbow from the water pump to my radiator which was another $300. Then this past December 2012, my transmission all of the sudden jerked hard from 1st to 2nd and so on during local driving. Max speed limit is 40mph locally. Took it to Chevy and was told I need a new transmission, so I took it for a second opinion and was told code P1811 was coded for a long shift, but that my transmission was a 1/2 quart low so they filled it with trans additive. They suggested I try a "transmission shop" for them to check because maybe my trans solenoid was bad, which would still cost quite a bit for repair, but not nearly as much as a new transmission. My car has 122,000 long highway miles, not local; stop & go. I do not feel my ABS/traction control, nor my trans should be bad. I maintain my car, and based on my internet searches many people have had the exact same problems with these cars. I emailed Chevy and was basically told this is my problem and no concession was offered on their part to assist me with these repairs. I have been laid off from my job, and returned to school so needless to say cannot afford a new car, but this car is costing more than it is worth. Chevy needs to quit ignoring these problems, and take care of loyal customers before they lose them.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #13

Sep 182007

Impala 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


When shifting 1st to 2nd gear the transmission shifts hard, transmission is the 2nd one I have had in this car samething is happening to this one I have 95000 miles now.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 042011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a car from icarsnow (704-551-0990) on South blvd in charlotte on October 28, 2011. I drove the car for a week when the gears started slipping and the car started to stall and jerk the car had a 90 day warranty so I called southern warranty (704-282-1814) and they had me to take the car to carson automotive 10940 a E. independence blvd. Matthews nc they replaced the transmission and converter on 11/4/11. I picked the car up drove for a week or two and the car was still stalling and jerking. I called carson automotive and took the car back.. I also heard a noise in the engine. I took the car back to carson automotive they could not find why the car was stalling and jerking but the said the engine needed to be replaced because of a rod the engine was replaced on 12/27/11. That is when I found out that the 90 day warranty was 50/50 where if anything major happen to the car the warranty company would pay have and I would have to pay half. This is not how it was explained by the salesman at icarsnow. He told me after the 90 day warranty if anything happens major that the warranty company and I would share the cost. In order for me to not loose the money already paid on the car I have to pay half on the engine. After the engine was replaced the car was leaking anti- freeze I took the car back again carson automotive could not find anything. The rear window replaced because the defrost was not attached and sparked when you touched it. There was also a leak in the trunk that had to be repaired. After that the temperature gauge started to move up I took the car to my mechanic for him to check it out on 2/25/12. The problem was possible head gasket damage. I took the car back to carson automotive since they put the engine in. They told me that it was not the engine but a cracked radiator. Radiator was replaced on 2/27/12.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #11

Jun 082010


  • miles
The speedometer just stopped working, the transmission shift hard but when you shut off the engine and start it back up it stops shifting hard, and the car stalls.

- Harlem, GA, USA

problem #10

Jul 232011


  • 85,000 miles


The engine coolant temperature gauge malfunctions, with wild swings in indicated temperature, indication of overheated temperature (when coolant is not hot), or sometimes even no reading at all.

- Flourtown, PA, USA

problem #9

May 232011


  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the engine temperature gauge failed. The engine gauge rose while driving 60 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the engine head gasket. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer advised the contact th vehicle was not recalled and would not provide any further assistance. The failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 63,000.

- Markham , TX, USA

problem #8

Nov 102010


  • miles
2005 Chevy Impala: Rough shifting, lost some hp, speedometer isn't working, engine leaking oil.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 122009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds, the temperature gauge would indicate that the vehicle was running hot; however, the vehicle did not exhibit any related symptoms or failures. The temperature gauge was repaired warning light continued to illuminate on the instrument panel. The failure mileage was not available. The current mileage was 136,276.

- Henager, AL, USA

problem #6

Dec 122008


  • 49,000 miles


2005 Chevy Impala speedometer went out of no where..every repair place in town tells me they know about the problem with all GM cars between 2004-2006 but no recall so it will cost me $700 to get it fixed..also gasket in fuel line missing that's an other $280.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #5

Dec 182008


  • 112,107 miles
Transmission is faulty. I only have 100,00 miles on an 2005 Chevy Impala, I have to replace the water pump and radiator. Now in December I have to replace the transmission.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 312008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 96,542 miles
9/29/2006 I purchased a used 2005 Chevrolet Impala from mission automotive and an Eagle warranty. On 1/31/2008 the car had a "coolant" problem or over-heat problem of which I took it immediately to the certified Chevy. Dealer. Eagle warranty sent an agent to look at the car after I paid $600 to have it torn down. I also incurred a rental car during this time. The problem was diagnosed by the Chevy dealer as an "engine coolant" problem. The agent from the warranty concurred and would not pay for anything. I have that report. The chef 2005 Impala operators book states the cooling system in your vehicle is filled with dex-cool engine coolant. This coolant is designed to remain in your vehicle for 5 years or 150,000 miles, whichever occurs first. My car was purchased with 84,460 miles, the defect occurred at 96,542 miles.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 172008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,480 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The following day after the vehicle was purchased, the speedometer stopped working. A cluster was repaired and a new steering column was installed at the cost of $465. After the cluster was replaced, the speedometer began to work. While driving between 55-70 mph, the vehicle began making a whining sound. The whining sound could also be heard while driving at speeds between 35-45 mph. On four occasions, the vehicle would not defrost and heat up at temperatures between 45-59 degrees. The dealer stated that nothing could be done. On three different occasions, the vehicle stalled. While parked at a gas station and twice when attempting to start the vehicle, it eventually restarted. The dealer initially stated that the failure could be due to the ignition or the starter. The contact found a nail in a tire and went to a tire shop. She was informed that all four of the tires had cracks on the edge of the tread and were dry rotted. The current mileage was 65,480 and failure mileage was 64,480.

- Sumpter, SC, USA

problem #2

Apr 062008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,400 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Impala, currently with 22,320 miles. At my oil change and tire rotation, (~20,500) I was informed by repair place that they would not perform the tire rotation as I would be needing to replace the tires soon. I asked why they were wearing so fast- I was told, they noticed it on many Impala- premature tire wear between 18,000-25,000 miles. ~ 15 months ago, with only about 13,000 miles, when I had an oil change done I was informed me the engine was leaking oil from the rear of the engine, I should take it to the dealer for repair. The dealer had to replace (under warranty) several seals/gaskets- oil pan, drain plug, oil filter, plus replace the drain plug. The car is sometimes hard to start and have to hold the key in the start position, and/or lightly press the gas pedal to start it. About two weeks ago, I grinded the starter. Sometimes the car will start roughly and immediately stall, or will stall the first few seconds as I am backing out the drive way. Dealer about this they told me I was using cheap gas and to use a better brand, but I always use "brand" gas, I even use fuel injector cleaner dealer later told me I needed to have the fuel injection "flushed" with their system for $199, plus tax and charges, hearing it was not good for the vehicle, I declined. I have also noticed a "clunking/bumping/banging" noise when turning, especially hard turns. My brakes need to be replaced, the front brakes are starting to make a thump when braking, and yesterday when braking hard, I heard a squeal noise, (rear?). fuel gauge sometimes rapidly fluctuates, when driving, and at times when accelerating, (though not concurrent) I hear a "swoosh/gargling" sound. I was accelerating too hard. The fuel gauge will swing as much as a 1/4 tank when driving before recovering to the correct position. Gauge shows low fuel level, low fuel light comes on, I only needed 10-12 gals to fill it (~16 gals).

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #1

Jun 202007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 65 mph, the gauges on the instrument panel worked intermittently. The speedometer would drop to zero and the temperature gauge would become hot. The dealer stated that the instrument cluster failed. No repairs were made. The failure mileage was 39,000 and current mileage was 46,000. Updated 03/10/08. The intake manifold gaskets leaked as well.

- Wavena, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?