Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

4.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,950 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Impala accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Jan 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle was parked, all the doors failed to unlock electronically. In addition, all the doors failed to open manually intermittently. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the door lock mechanism needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 10/18/16 the consumer stated the doors unlocked randomly. Updated 10/25/16.

- Gaston, SC, USA

problem #15

Nov 012015

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. After shifting into the park position, the rear driver and passenger side doors failed to automatically unlock without warning. The passengers were able to exit the vehicle after manually unlocking the doors. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Clio, MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 012015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that all four doors on the vehicle would not unlock and lock. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The technician stated that the door lock mechanism would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- E. St Louis, IL, USA

problem #13

Oct 042014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the driver's door key fob failed to operate. The contact had to manually lock and unlock the driver's side door. The contact mentioned that weeks later, the both rear doors failed to lock and unlock. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 6/8/15 the consumer stated the problem was diagnoses as dis-functional lock actuators. Updated 06/18/15

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #12

Oct 152014

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
At first it was just the passenger rear door lock that would not unlock all the time and then the driver side rear lock started to be intermittent but as of February 2015, neither will automatically unlock even using the door handle. We have to roll down the windows and unlock. Once unlocked they then rarely lock with the key fob. Why is this a problem, in case of an accident, we would not be able nor would first responders be able to quickly extricate any passengers in the rear seat. This worries us as we do take people in the back seat. If there was a child or infant, it would be horrific we have friends with a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu and their rear locks are intermittent and one is getting worse. I will bet there a number of cars just like ours. I have had cars as long as 15yrs and never had a door lock problem. We currently have a car that is 31 yrs old and the door locks do not fail - and it is a Chevrolet also. The dealer has told us our car is now almost 6 yrs old and that we will just have to suck it up and pay to have them fixed. We think it is a deficit in the manufacture of the door locks and that Chevrolet should pay for it. Please look into this before some child gets killed or adults get trapped.

- Marietta, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Jun 302014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While attempting to exit the vehicle, the doors failed to unlock automatically after the vehicle was shifted into park and turned off. The contact and the passengers had to manually unlock their doors to exit the vehicle. The failure persisted for three months. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000. Updated 11/20/14 the consumer stated the repair would cost approximately $300 per door. Updated 5/5/2015

- Shenectady, NY, USA

problem #10

Jan 142014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My drivers side door lock I have to manually lock and unlock with key.. and now passenger side back seat where my 2 yrs old sets., the lock on her side sometimes doesn't lock and she can open the door.. also when it does lock I hafta crawl thru front seat into back and pull the latch up to unlock door... also I have to use a screwdriver to push in some solenoid on my shifter to get my car into gear.. it sucks big time!

- Newton, IL, USA

problem #9

Feb 102014

Impala

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that rear passenger door failed to unlock and the driver's door would not lock. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,000 and the current mileage was 26,000.

- Onalaska, WI, USA

problem #8

Feb 012012

Impala

  • miles
The actuators in all four of my electric door locks have malfunctioned. The car can only be unlocked manually, which is a major issue since the driver door is the only one that will open from outside the car with a key. We have three children using car seats which makes it impossible to reach one of the doors from the front seat, since one of the seats is rear facing (by law). The children are not capable of unlocking the doors on their own or unbuckling their own car seat restraints. If we were to need to evacuate the car in an emergency, it would take entirely too long for me to have to climb around the back seat to try and get all of my children unrestrained and doors unlocked. I have spoken with the dealership and was told this is not a safety issue. That is 100% incorrect. This is much more than a convenience issue. I have already paid to have the first one that went out repaired, but am quite saddened by the fact that all three of the other doors need the same repairs. Please reconsider recalling these malfuctioning parts, because the safety of passengers is at stake.

- Maumelle, AR, USA

problem #7

Mar 012013

Impala

  • miles
Driver door lock does not lock/unlock with key fob intermittently. Driver door also does not unlock when car is shifted into park and must be unlocked manually by pulling on the lock. This does pose a safety concern with an event that would cause a need to quickly evacuate the vehicle.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #6

Mar 032014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 74,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tried to lock doors with key fob and both rear doors and sometimes passenger side would not lock. Attempted to lock from inside vehicle and would still not lock or unlock.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #5

May 152012

Impala

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the rear passenger's door would not unlock. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the door lock mechanism would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. After the repair, the rear driver's side door then failed to unlock. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- South Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #4

Dec 122012

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that both rear door locks could not be locked or unlocked whether using the keyless entry or manually. The contact stated that the door latch and the lock had to be replaced. The contact also stated the vehicle had always been parked indoors. The failure and the current mileages were 27,000. Updated 01/30/13 updated 1/31/2013

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #3

Jan 262011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 243 miles
The automatic door locks on these cars don't operate correctly. Currently the rear door locks don't open or close with the automatic locks. This seems to be a common problem with similar models of Chevy Impala's. so far I have had 3 of the 4 door locks repaired by Chevy, but the rear ones went bad again. Read this website for more info chevroletforum.com/forum/Impala-14/2008-Impala-rear-door-locks-non-functional-45920/.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #2

Jun 012011

Impala

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air conditioner would only blow air from the windshield vent, and as a result, the windshield would freeze. The contact also stated that the front driver's side door latch would not allow the door to remain open, and would sometimes close on her leg. The vehicle was not taken to have the failures diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 16,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- New Middletown, OH, USA

problem #1

Dec 022009

Impala

  • 8,165 miles
A dead battery at the airport parking lot in a 2009 Chevrolet Impala may not seem like a problem, however there is no mechanical trunk release from inside the vehicle and my back seat doesn't fold down, so I couldn't crawl into the trunk to trip the emergency release, I was unable to get to my jumper cables. Then when I tried to get the key out of the ignition to lock the car to go make a call. Guess what with the battery dead I couldn't get the key out of the ignition either. A huge concern of mine is this; if that car was involved in an accident, where the battery was destroyed, there would not be any means to access the trunk where emergency equipment is stored, such as first aid kits, fire extinguishers.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?