Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,801 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Impala drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Aug 012013

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the gears were difficult to switch when the vehicle started. When the engine warmed, the failure was not experienced. Also, the key was difficult to remove from the ignition at times. The failures recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Hemingway, SC, USA

problem #19

Jun 132013

Impala

  • 50,000 miles
This has happened on numerous occasions. While driving my vehicle will turn off. Sometimes me vehicle will have trouble starting. Turning the key will not engage the starter, there will be no attempt of the motor to turn over. This continues to happen even after the removal of all key rings from the ignition key. Today (11/18/14), my Impala died while driving and the engine light turned on. The code stated that there was a faulty ignition switch.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #18

Nov 032014

Impala

  • 92,158 miles
Driving on highway when check engine light came on followed by alternating "service stabilitrak" "service traction control" "reduced engine power" messages. Additionally, while driving the transmission began to shift hard from first to second. By the time I got home and parked in the garage (approximately 3 miles from start of incident), the vehicle was making a loud clanging noise. Vehicle delivered to kool Chevrolet in grand rapids Michigan on 11/4/14. They have had the vehicle since. The only thing they have found is that the computer indicates the codes went off while the car was parked. Otherwise, they cannot duplicate problem. I am worried about driving the vehicle and this incident happening again. I do a lot of highway driving and the sudden reduction in speed is a hazard and could lead to an accident.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #17

Feb 012012

Impala

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the traction control and ABS indicators illuminated. The dealer performed a diagnostic test, which located a failure code at the hub bearing wire and the wiring harness. The contact also stated that the transmission was rebuilt twice and the power steering rack and pinion was also replaced; however, the rack and pinion failure recurred and the power steering fluid was leaking. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #16

Jan 012014

Impala

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle jerked uncontrollably when it was started. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000.

- Keyser, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Feb 012010

Impala

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 30 mph, the rear of the vehicle made a rattling noise. As time progressed, the rattling noise changed to a banging noise. Also, while driving at high speeds, the transmission suddenly downshifted to a lower gear. The dealer stated that the wrong coil springs were installed on the vehicle and a valve must be replaced on the transmission. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 4,000. Updated 10/30/14

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #14

Sep 042014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the street and suddenly I heard a popping sound and I noticed the car wasn't accelerating normally so I made it to my destination and I started the car up went to put it in drive and it wouldn't accelerate is was though the car was in neutral so I put it in reverse and it went into reverse put it 3rd gear wouldn't accelerate the I tried 2cd gear and it drove kind of ruff so I then tried 1st gear and and I was able to make it home at 15 mph so I took the car to the Chevy dealer I bought it from and to my surprise they say there were some defective parts in the transmission and they could rebuild the transmission for 2100 dollars and I would have to pay 850 to have it fixed because my car is out of warranty as 7/23/14 the car has the airbag service light and tire sensor light that appears on the dashboard.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #13

Feb 102014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 52,835 miles
Loss of power, service stabilitrac, service traction control started flashing...the car lost all power, shifted extremely hard and would only go about 5 to 10 miles per hour. I was on a main road with a lot of traffic when this happened, extremely dangerous situation. I took the vehicle to the GM dealer the first day, they could not find the code and the car ran fine on my way home from work. The next morning it did it again, took it back to the dealer and they had to replace the throttle body which costs almost $700. That was in February, I am now 400 miles from home and it is doing the exact same thing again....going to call a dealer today and hopefully it will be taken care of at no cost. I called GM about this issue and their response was that there is no recall on this VIN# at this time, yet I know there are recalls out due to the throttle body.

- North Salem, IN, USA

problem #12

Apr 022012

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
1) airbag light intermittently has gone on and off for months. I asked dealer about it, they said it would be expensive to diagnose because they would have to trace the wiring harness, removing seat and dashboard. Labor would be expensive. I complained to GM on a couple of occasions and was given a case#. I was told car is out of warranty, therefore, it would be my expense to have this diagnosed and fixed. Dealer said airbag would not deploy if light is illuminated. This a major safety defect. Fall 2013. 2) the rear window defroster stopped working last fall 2013. I had to pay for total repair as it was not covered under warranty. They said it was a wiring issue. Impala's have been known to have issue. Oct 2013. 3) the gas pedal fell off while I was driving. Dealer said they never experienced anything like that before, but would have to replace the entire assembly. Not covered under warranty, therefore, entire cost was mine. Safety issue. Sept 2013 4) the evap vent valve and solenoid had to be replaced. System leak pressurized evap would not hold. Apr 2012 other issues have been reported/repaired, however, do not have paperwork at time of this complaint.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #11

Jan 282014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the gear shifter became stuck in park. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 69,000.... updated 03/24/14 updated 03/31/14

- Markham, IL, USA

problem #10

May 152012

Impala

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while stopped, the vehicle became hesitant upon acceleration. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the second clutch plate was replaced. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 3/19/14

- Washington , DC, USA

problem #9

Jun 082013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
While driving, reduce power in engine. Check stability trac, and lost acceleration. The car shut off in the middle of the freeway. Restared after a 10 minute wait. Check engine light was on, but now off. Happen from time to time.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #8

Apr 012013

Impala

  • miles
I own a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. I have had my housing gear replaced and other suspension items in the last year. Since my last major job (housing gear), the car has been making a click when turning the wheel and when going up hill. When the car is going uphill and shifting gears it make a click/pop sound. I have taken my car to the Chevy dealer and they constantly act as though they can not hear the sound, which makes it so easy for them to not repair. I have taken my car in for this over 5 times and leave with the problem still being. On two of those occasions they found other issues which resulted in the warranty paying for the problems. My warranty includes a $100 deductible. So I have paid a deductible to get one problem fixed and it has not been repaired to date. I am truly frustartaed, as I am not a mechanic and need my car fixed. I drive a toddler around daily. I feel insecure with my cars driveability. My car needs to be fixed.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #7

Aug 282013

Impala

  • 28,320 miles
Trying to pull into heavy traffic the transmission slipped and had to let off accelerator to get transmission to shift. This left me half way out into traffic for just a second.

- Saint Marys, OH, USA

problem #6

Jun 162013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles
While driving on the highway and accelerating to merge, the car felt as if it dropped a gear or two and the power was noticeably reduced. The service light on the dash came on and the error message "service stabilitytrac- service traction control" came across the dash. Now the car when it accelerates "jerks" as if it's having trouble making it to the next gear when moving between 20-30mph on the speedometer. The power in accelerating after 30mph is dramatically reduced the faster you wish to go.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #5

Mar 012013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
townhall-talk.edmunds.com/webx?14@@.F215E7E/381 I have attached this link as a reference so that you can see that I am not the only one going through this. I have been experiencing the same problems as alot of these people as far as the car jerking and with the car reducing its speed (service stabilitrak warning). I have been to the dealer 3 times already, which I had to replace transmission lines and an accelerator sensor (which they replaced the whole accelerator). Please note my complaint is no reflection to the service dept at that dealer for they were extremely courteous and as helpful as they could possibly be. I was very happy with the dealer, but I am not at all happy with the way GM is not handling this. As you read through the comments on that link, this is a very dangerous problem and it needs to be recalled asap. I travel on major expressways 4 days a week with my mom and don't want to end up in a bad accident because of this. I have photos of the dashboard messages if needed. As of today, they are not on but the car is jerking again. Please consider action on this. -- thank you.

- Crown Point , IN, USA

problem #4

Dec 282012

Impala 8-cyl

  • 45,570 miles
Driving home Friday night 12/26/12 on cruise set at 65, bang, car dropped power drastically, kicked off cruise, and the three rotating messages appeared on dash, 1)service stabilitrak, 2)service traction control, & 3)engine power reduced. Both orange placards lit up on dash, service engine and traction. Pulled out of traffic and re started the car. Was able to drive at normal speeds but codes still rotating and placards still lit. Couldn't get it into the shop until Monday 12/31/12. When I started it up to take it in, codes were all cleared and car ran just fine. Dealership told me it was the pedal sensor and would cost me $275 to repair. How can we get GM to do a recall on this on going issue? this is a 2010 Chevy Impala lt with 45000 on it. This repair should be covered under warranty and I was told it is not. There have been numerous individuals with this same sensor failing at about 45000 miles. A sudden drop in power to a speed of 25 while driving at highway speeds is very dangerous. It is amazing with as many failures as have been reported to GM on just the edmunds car form site alone that there have not been any serious crashes. Please take a good look at this issue and see if you can't get GM to recall these sensors and get them replaced with better ones.

- Reed City, MI, USA

problem #3

Dec 282012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 87,500 miles
I was driving to work, nearly at the end of a 50 mile trip, the car was functioning normally with no abnormal noises or indications of problems. I drove the car into the parking lot and was making a slight right turn, traveling at about 15 mph, when suddenly the car screeched to an immediate halt and stalled the engine. The sudden stop was violent and threw me against my seatbelt. I moved the gear selector lever from drive to park and restarted the engine without any trouble. The engine ran smooth and without any unusual noise. I put the car into drive, but it would not move and it made loud grinding and clunking sounds. I put the car in reverse, but still it would not move and again made loud noises. I put the car in neutral and a friend came over to help me push the car to a more safe area, but still the car would not move. Apparently the drivetrain was locked up and would not move, no matter what gear position the transmission was in. The car was later dragged on to a flatbed truck and taken to my local auto service center, where they determined the transmission was bad. The vehicle was then towed to my local Chevrolet dealer to be fixed under the GM 100,000mi/5 year powertrain warranty. I am very shaken up by this incident and fear what would have happen if the vehicles front wheels would have violently locked up like this at highway speeds. I fear the result would have been a total loss of control of the vehicle and possibly severe injury or even death to myself and others. I hope GM and the NHTSA investigate this incident and find the cause of the transmission failure with the goal of preventing this from happening again before someone gets hurt or killed.

- Cream Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #2

Nov 142012

Impala

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while parked the contact attempted to move the gear shifter to drive but was unable to because it was stuck in park. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated a wire in the gear shifter console needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Fort Madison, IA, USA

problem #1

Aug 272011

Impala

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate the transmission slip. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. In addition, the contact mentioned that he believed that the rack and pinion, and the front struts were faulty as well. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 28,000 and the current mileage was 43,000.

- Brunswick, ME, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?