Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,929 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chevrolet Impala brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jun 202015

Impala

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon turning left at an intersection, the vehical hesitates and makes a grinding noise in the front end. This has at times, come to a near accident of being rear ended.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #30

Jun 132015

Impala

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while making a left turn from a stop, the service stabilitrak system and the ABS warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that an unknown sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Milledgeville, GA, USA

problem #29

Apr 152016

Impala

  • miles
My 2013 Chevy Impala is having big issues making left turns. There is a grinding sound and the car hesitates to accelerate. While these problrms occur I am getting warnings on the dash that say service traction control, service brake assist, and the ABS light is on. Starting to not feel safe to be in this vehicle. Also had it checked twice by two different auto shops and they cant seem to find the problem.

- Cameron Park, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 152015

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Impala. While making a right turn, the vehicle hesitated. In addition, the ABS, traction control, and service stabilitrak warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 05/24/16 the consumer stated on May 2, 2016 as she was making a right turn, the accelerator seemed to jerk back and the RPM's went up past three, T hen went back down to one. All the instrument panel lights illuminated and then the vehicle hesitated to proceed for a few minutes. Updated 08/03/16.

- Kenedy, TX, USA

problem #27

Mar 152016

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
For the past 2 months my car is having major trouble. It started with me hearing a grinding noise when I made left turns. This has now developed to making a noise when I make left turns to making it when I am backing out, and occasionally stalling when pulling off from a red light. This has put me in some dangerous situations. About a month ago 2 light and 2 messages came up on my dash. They were service stabilitrak and service brake assist. My brake light and my traction light are also on. I took my car into the dealership and they said my hub needed to be replaced. I had the part replaced and I am still having the same problem. Noone seems to know what the issue is.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #26

Sep 012014

Impala

  • miles
When steering wheel is turned left and now right the front end grinds at times but not all the time. However, it seems to be getting gradually worse, grinding more often. The "service stabilitrac system" comes across the dash panel and now it is stating "service brake assist". all the while nothing seems to be wrong with anything up front. This happens upon acceleration. This can happen in city streets, parking lots and freeways. I happens anywhere upon acceleration. There is no point at which the grinding is taking place can be seen. This seems to be a problem that Chevrolet has with all the models of this particular vehicle yet they are denying anything is wrong with the vehicles.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #25

Oct 012015

Impala

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When accelerating from a stop while turning left, ABS engages and brakes left front wheel grinds which causes the car to stop and drag. Service stabilitrak, service ABS and service brake assist messages also appear on dashboard message center. All warning lights reset when vehicle is turned off, until a left turn is made while accelerating again, and the above issues occur again.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #24

Feb 152016

Impala

  • 58,763 miles
When accelerating from a stop while turning left, ABS engages and brakes left front wheel creating a very dangerous situation stopping the car in intersections without warning. Service stabilitrak, service ABS and service brake assist messages also appear on dashboard message center. All warning lights reset when vehicle is turned off, until a left turn is made while accelerating again, and the above issues occur again.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #23

Oct 272015

Impala

  • 36,251 miles
Stability control needs service. Estimated repair 251 miles after warranty expired was $270, and became $335. Certified letter sent to GM on Nov 14 receipt acknowledged by rep shanay, and verbally acknowledged by same two days later when she called me. Waited six weeks more for written response & called today requesting same again to follow up with NHTSA. Refused and offered to send an E:mail but I prefer not to provide address due to her unfriendly manner. Part failure 251 miles is one for the record books. Failure occurred while moving.

- Saugerties Ny 12477, NY, USA

problem #22

Dec 012015

Impala

  • 53,000 miles
When accelerating from a stop while turning left, ABS engages and brakes left front wheel creating a very dangerous situation stopping the car in intersections without warning. Service stabilitrak, service ABS and service brake assist messages also appear on dashboard message center. All warning lights reset when vehicle is turned off, until a left turn is made while accelerating again, and the above issues occur again.

- Seymour, CT, USA

problem #21

Nov 032015

Impala

  • 62,010 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traction control activates while making left turn when leaving a stop or a red light or at any other occasion that requires making a left turn after being stopped. Causing the vehicle to hesitate and in the process creating a very dangerous situation. This has occurred on five different occasions during the past few days. Has only occurred when turning left from a complete stop. There seems to be a metal sound the fourth time. Have tried to get it looked at and no one seems to know what to do. Very concerned about the safety of driving this car. Also done it once when I was backing out from a parked position.

- Cisco, TX, USA

problem #20

Mar 102015

Impala

  • 42,000 miles
Traction control intermidely comes on affecting take off speed and steering resulting in ABS system coming on. Happens mainly when starting out form a stop. Cannot accelerate from a complete stop or make consistent turns.

- Reswood Falls, MN, USA

problem #19

Aug 212015

Impala

  • 65,000 miles
I have only had this car for 3 months and everything was fine until I made a left hand U-turn and all kinds of bells went off- service stabilitrak-service brake assist- service traction control-I called the dealership and just to put it on the machine to see what's wrong is $126 - quite frankly I don't have that kind of money to spare- I am extremely frustrated and according to research I have done this is a common issue that Chevrolet is not acknowledging-

- West Plam Beach , FL, USA

problem #18

Aug 122015

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
After backing out of a parking spot, making a left hand turn and pulling away, the brakes apply on their own, the traction control light flashes on, and a grinding noise is heard. The weather at the time was clear and sunny, and the surface of the parking lot was dry asphalt.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #17

May 042015

Impala

  • 22,000 miles
I started having problems with my vehicle back in may of this year after I received a warning message about the stabilitrak, ABS, and traction control. I was hearing and feeling a scraping noise especially when I turned left. I took my car to the dealership and they replaced the speed sensor and harness. I thought that would take care of it. At the end of June I took my car back again for the same problem. Of course the service tech could not duplicate the sound. Here we are less than 2 months later and I have taken the car back to the dealership once again this morning. I don't expect anything to be found because apparently this problem never comes up at the dealership and the techs can never duplicate it. Our tech told us this morning that if they can't find anything again this time, then I will most likely have to drive the car with the tech to see if I can duplicate it. I'm hoping this can finally be taken care of but because my car is still under warranty, I doubt anything will come of it. Once my warranty runs out I'm thinking the tech will be able to duplicate it and charge me a lot of $$ to fix it.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 182015

Impala

  • 68,000 miles
When starting to move forward from a stopped position and turning the steering wheel at the same time, the ABS sensor kicks in and the car makes the ABS sound, the ABS lights up on the dashand then it releases and you can drive normal. It has occurred many times now between 1 to 5 miles per hour. I do not see any recalls at this time for this problem.

- Prospect, PA, USA

problem #15

Jun 242015

Impala

  • 53,000 miles
I just purchased my vehicle 3 months ago and about 2 weeks ago, I've been having issues with traction control, ABS and service stabilitrak. It seems I get this problem when I just start my car and try to turn the wheel right, at low speeds it feels like it's grinding. This problem has happened a few times since then (not consistent) and every time it grinds I get a traction control light pop up. This problem is happening when there is no rain or snow on the road. I have done some research and it seems a lot of people are having the same issue with Chevrolet Impala's. I believe this should be recalled it is very dangerous!

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #14

May 252015

Impala

  • 54,000 miles
Grinding noise from front and ABS engages the brakes and low traction light flashes on when accelerating from a stop and turning left at the same time, does not matter if you accelerate slow or fast and this is happening on dry pavement. If I turn off the traction control it will not do it, so I assume the problem must exist in a speed sensor or something with the traction control sensors or wiring. Of course mechanics cannot duplicate this. Waiting for GM to step up to the plate and fix.

- Kewaunee, WI, USA

problem #13

Apr 152015

Impala

  • 52,000 miles
First my service ABS traction control lights came on and while making left turns a loud metal grinding noise happened and my traction control light flashed. I took it to my local mechanic he replaced the bearing and sensors which helped with the service lights but the grinding still happened. The noise and traction control light still continued while turning just not as much as before. The mechanic replaced the part twice!! took it to my mechanic again because of the grinding and traction control flashing he drove it around and he could not make the noise happen so he could not fix or replace anything. It feels like the ABS is braking on its own for no reason while I drive my 2013 Impala ltz. My mechanics can not find the problem and it seems neither can any Impala owner or mechanic. But I'm 99% sure when I drive it tonight to visit friends I will hear a metal on metal grinding noise I just hope not while im on the freeway where I can get killed. It happens while driving coming from a stop or as simple as me backing out of my driveway.

- Barstow , CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 312015

Impala

  • 38,476 miles
2013 Chevy Impala with approximately 38860 miles. 3.31.2015 developed a grinding noise in the front end when turning sharp left, causes the car to hesitate, making it a very dangerous. Occurred a few times before the dealership opened. I took it into bowman Chevy in clarkston they drove it & it didn't occur for them and they sent me on my way. It continued to happen, & with great concern for my safety I took it to a different dealership, joe lunghamer Chevrolet in waterford. They did keep my car all day & gave me a invoice that states: Npf operating to manufacturing specifications and multi-point inspection was done. They gave my car back & said they found nothing wrong. Sad to say General Motors may be putting my life in danger, as they did many other people before recalling for the ignition control. At this time my car is close to 3000 miles over the bumper to bumper warranty, I believe they'd try harder if it was under 36000 miles. Both dealerships said the car would have to do the same thing for them to diagnose. Bowman Chevy said the fees would start at $100 to diagnose, and go up & made it clear it could take up to a week or more to diagnose & to wait until it does it on a regular basis. I don't feel safe it's not even 3 years old and I'm still paying on. There are others complaints on this site the same as mine, along with different sites and Impala forums that have the same complaints. My car continues to do this a couple of times a day but not enough for the service department at the dealership to experience. I want this filed so others know, my car is not safe.who has to die to have this checked out and recalled? again, 2013 Impala - grinding noise when making sharp left and hesitates causing dangerous situation. Please forward this to [xxx] if you are able. Thank you for your help. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Clarkston, MI, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?