Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,431 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #139

Nov 112013

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed and the steering wheel was hard to turn. The failure recurred intermittently over a period of six months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the steering column and torque angle sensor. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #138

Mar 102013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Driving down the road when the radio panel started blinking with power steering. I then lost my power steering and my car began to shake this failure occurs without any warning and sometimes the power steering light will illuminate and it will show in the radio panel. As a woman, driving without power steering was extremely difficult. This is not the first time this happened to me it has happened several times and thankfully I was able to avoid an accident. I took the car to the dealer, and after running diagnostics, they told me that the 2004 Malibu's have electronic power steering, and that there is an issue with the power steering motor and that it overheats, causing loss of power steering. The car seat belts are froze and the hazard light button fell inside its hole and the headlight covers don't allow the lights to fully illuminate. This car should have been recalled because it poses life threatening issues. My research shows a high volume of complaints on this 2004 model but the 2005's and above were recalled, I also collected statements from factory workers who left their personal info on the internet and I found this : during my employment contract with delphi automotive (delphi saginaw steering system, 3900 E. holland ave., saginaw, Michigan 48601), I was instructed to conduct a screw "strip-out" study on the electric motor/controller assembly of the electric power steering (eps) system of the general motor's epsilon platform (my 2003.5 - 2006 Malibu). This study was conducted in may of 2004 at delphi's plant 1, assembly. The study included ten production motor and ten production controller assemblies that were assembled on the production equipment and process(ES). The controller is attached to motor by three M 5.0X 0.8 screws. The result of that study concluded that four of the ten motor/controller assemblies had at least one of the screws fully strip

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #137

Nov 012012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu lt. Consumer writes in regards to power steering problems. The consumer stated each time he turned the steering wheel, the warning light would illuminated. It locked up on one occasion and the consumer was unable to turn the steering wheel. The consumer discovered a recall had been issued for the electric power steering starting with the 2005 models.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #136

Jan 162011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering column would become loose while driving at any speed and the wheel would sporadically shake when driving over 50 mph. In addition the power steering warning light was illuminated when the failure would occur. The contact stated the failure was the second occurrence and the steering column was replaced in 2007. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired for the recent failure. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 115,000. The consumer stated the vehicle made a clunking, knocking and rattling sound when driven at a low grade speed and when the steering wheel was turned. The vehicle also shook violently. The driver seat didn't to stay on track and was difficult to adjust forward and backward. The horn and cruise control were inoperative. The brake and accelerator pedals no longer adjusted. The safety locks did not latch at times when the button was pushed and the gas cap continued to open after it was locked causing the engine light to illuminate. Updated 02/01/12

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #135

Jun 082010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 83,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving, the contact stated that the power steering failed and it became difficult to turn. There were warning lights before the failure occurred. The contact planned to take the vehicle to an authorized dealership to have it inspected. The failure and failure mileages were approximately 83,500. Updated 8/9/10 the consumer stated the vehicle has electric power steering. Updated 08/11/10

- Imperial , CA, USA

problem #134

May 052010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 101,136 miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer requests that the investigation to complaints be reopened the consumer stated the power steering light illuminated. The consumer took the vehicle to dealer and upon inspection, they stated the steering column and steering control module had gone bad and needed to be replaced and if it wasn't replaced, the consumer would lose power steering. The consumer paid for the repairs at her expense. The consumer stated the electrical power steering should be recalled for this model.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #133

Apr 052010

(reported on)

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer states steering problems. The consumer stated recently the power steering light illuminated and the vehicle made a grinding sound and pulled to the left. The consumer took the vehicle to a local mechanic who test drove the vehicle and noted the steering wheel was off in the front end. A systems check was performed and the test confirmed the steering wheel torque sensor failed. The test also confirmed the steering column needed to be replaced.

- Hastings, MN, USA

problem #132

Jan 272010

Malibu

  • 102,000 miles
I was driving down the road when the radio panel started blinking with power steering. I then lost my power steering and my car began to shake. As a woman, driving without power steering was extremely difficult. I was able to make it to a parking lot (barely), and safely park the car. This is the first time this happened to me, and thankfully I was able to avoid an accident. I took the car to the dealer, and after running diagnostics, they told me that the 2004 Malibu's have electronic power steering, and that there is an issue with the power steering motor and that it overheats, causing loss of power steering.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #131

Jun 202008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,047 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving the vehicle at any rate of speed, the front end of the vehicle vibrates. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on two separate occasions and they diagnosed it as having a faulty internal steering shaft that had been greased improperly. The current mileage was 36,500 and failure mileage was 36,047. Updated 09/13/08. Updated 09/16/08

- Cooperstown, NY, USA

problem #130

Mar 162008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,312 miles
Loss of power steering.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #129

Feb 152008

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was heading to a wedding 200 miles felt a funny vibration in the front end pulled over then the dash lit up like a christmas tree the wrench light came on the stereo display read power steering started dinging. Turned off the vehicle to check power steering pump found out didn't have one. Turned around to come home called the groom so he could find new bestman night before wedding. Called gmac when I got home and they told me I had to have a diagnostic done the vehicle got up the next day went to the dealer they told me I needed a new steering column charged me $70 to tell me what I already new because I read the reports. The dealer wanted to charge me $600 to replace it. I have been working with the dealer and gmac to fix the problem because I feel I should not have to pay for there defective part.

- Columbu, OH, USA

problem #128

Nov 132006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu with electric. Consumer states that this failure occurs without any warning and sometimes the power steering light will illuminate. The consumer stated in order to regain power steering, he must pull over and re-start the vehicle. The first time the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, they stated it needed to be reprogrammed or recalibrated, which did not fix the problem. The second time the vehicle was taken to the dealer, the problem could not be duplicated. On 2 separate occasions, the dealer replaced the power steering gear and intermediate steering shaft due to a noise being heard when making turns and accelerating.

- Marshallville, OH, USA

problem #127

Jul 032007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. While making a left turn at 10 mph, the power steering failed. The failure occurred three times. The engine size and purchase date were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 40,500.

- Lafontain, IN, USA

problem #126

Apr 022007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,755 miles
Power steering was displayed on message center and a light with vehicle and wrench came on for a short period. Diagnostics were performed and found code CC0460. This was traced to a shorted steering sensor. They had to replace the whole steering column because the sensor is part of the assembly. I have read numerous complaints about the power steering light being displayed on the message center and then the power steering went out on the car. My power steering did not go out on the car because I drove it to the dealership right away. I was wondering if there is a recall or service bulletins on this problem to off set the cost of repairs for the sensor, which has to be replaced with a whole steering column, for a total of $850.12 in parts and labor. Thank you.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #125

Mar 152007

(reported on)

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Malibu customer has had problems with loss of electric power steering and wants out of the lease without penalty* the radio was inoperative, the cruise control was inoperative at times, it would turn off, but not engage. The PCM was replaced. The passenger side directional lights and brake lights were inoperative. The dealer replaced the bulbs. The heated seats came on by themselves. The intermediate shaft was replaced, because the consumer stated there was a noise when turning the steering wheel. The transmission cooling lines were leaking, the rear defogger on the passenger side was inoperative. When the windshield wipers were on intermittent, they would go full speed by themselves.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #124

Nov 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,200 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle's power steering locked up. The service dealer determined the vehicle needed a new steering column to resolve the issue. Updated 12/15/2006 -

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #123

Sep 252006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The steering column was replaced in April of 2005 as a result of a recall stating that the power steering assist can fail without warning. Up to this time, no actual failure had occurred. In September of 2006 the power steering assist failed for the first time as described in the recall notice. Simultaneous with the failure, an audible beeping occurred and a failure message was displayed on the console. Re-starting the car will correct the problem temporarily, but it recurs on a regular basis. Both the dealer and manufacturer refuse to replace the steering column at their expense because it was done once in 2005.

- East Kingston, NH, USA

problem #122

Aug 052006

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,350 miles
Power steering failed on 2004 Chevy Malibu without warning. I had taken the car in about a month ago for front alignment issues, thought they fixed it, but the problem came back and then power steering quit.

- St Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #121

Feb 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
: the contact stated the steering locked up on 2 separate occasions. The contact believes the electric steering has lost power and the wheels become locked. Both times the dealer has replaced the rack pinion rod, but the contact express that this will happen again and was probably due to a component defect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #120

May 202004

Malibu

  • miles
During my employment contract with delphi automotive (delphi saginaw steering system, 3900 E. holland ave., saginaw, Michigan 48601), I was instructed to conduct a screw "strip-out" study on the electric motor/controller assembly of the electric power steering (eps) system of the general motor's epsilon platform (my 2003.5 - 2006 Malibu). This study was conducted in may of 2004 at delphi's plant 1, eps assembly. The study included ten production motor and ten production controller assemblies that were assembled on the production equipment and process(ES). The controller is attached to motor by three M 5.0X 0.8 screws. The result of that study concluded that four of the ten motor/controller assemblies had at least one of the screws fully stripped with less than 50% of the design intended retention and with two assemblies with two fully stripped screws. This report was shared with my immediate engineering manager whom then reported to several other product engineer managers of the eps group in saginaw, Michigan. It was universally understood that plant 1 had an assembly issue with this process and that there was no effective containment process in place to scrap all suspected stripped assemblies. The follow-up information from my managers that I understood was that uaw assembly members were inquired to agree among themselves a build sequence for the controller fastening process so that the components could be redesigned for better assembly. This item was not pursued because it was unclear to which party (the assembly plant or the product engineering group) was to champion the necessary change. The resultant failure mode is possible migration of the controller from the motor assembly. This migrating may result in loss of vehicle steering and/or vehicle fire due the power (motor) phase leads "shorting out ". more information is to be submitted with compliant (per martina and debra of nhsta 19jn06).

- Standish, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?