Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,032 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #13

Mar 072008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,224 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 35 mph, the power steering failed and the warning light illuminated. The failure occurred intermittently. The dealer stated that the steering column needed to be replaced at the cost of $700. The failure mileage was 67,224 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Walled Lake, MI, USA

problem #12

Jan 252008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was taking my daughters 2004 Chevy Malibu for a test ride after she complained about the power steering going out on her. I drove several miles, then the mechanical light on the lower left part of the display came on. I pulled in to a parking lot to park when the power steering completely went out, causing me to almost collide with another parked car. I finally got the car parked after struggling with the steering, shut off the car and restarted, the mechanical light stayed on but the steering recovered. After driving again the steering went out again. Now I'm concerned that whenever she drives this, serious injury could happen to her. It was hard enough for me to steer without P/S, I can't imagine that she can handle it any better if it inadvertently goes out again, which it no doubt will!

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #11

Sep 252007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Power steering was replaced back in 2005, as of today car is back in shop for the same problem supposedly that was fixed in 2005. 1) light comes on "power steering" 2) car is hard to steer (this problem happened right on the highway and I was very scared for my life as to no other warning but the light coming on and immediately being unable to turn). 3) currently the car is in the shop.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 082007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,023 miles


Power steering light repeatedly going on and off, steering getting tight off and on, went to mechanic they reset light, power steering light off and on yet again, then he had lost power steering 3 X, but if he was able to pull over shut off and restart, he could drive for a while, finally got it to Chevrolet they had it 2 days, replaced steering column $796, no warranty no recall, only a service bulletin out about the problem, which when I talked to GM they said they have had no complaints! are they waiting for dead bodies to start piling up before they send out a recall?

- Pelion, SC, USA

problem #9

Mar 152007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the steering locked up and was unable to maneuver properly. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic and they found nothing wrong. She took the vehicle to another mechanic who claimed to know the cause of failure, but did not have time to make the repair. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage was 50,000 and failure mileage was 48,000.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #8

Jan 012005

Malibu 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
TL * - the contact stated that he received recall letter 04050. The contact had a computer chip in the power steering module replaced in Jan 2005 because of the recall. The contact stated the power steering failure returned three months later. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer, and the vehicle was diagnosed with needing another computer chip for the power steering. The dealer would not replace the chip for free because it had already been replaced under the recall. The power steering failed intermittently for the past two years. The power steering warning light came on when the power steering was not working. Updated 1/31/2007 -

- Baton Rough, LA, USA

problem #7

Nov 032006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles


Loss of power steering in my 2004 Malibu. Had steering system replaced by recall 05, since then, the steering starting making noise, had to have steering rods adjusted, now I had to replace the steering gear at cost of $495. It still makes some noise when turning to right, need GM to compensate for these expenses, had nothing but steering problems from on set. Help.

- Richland, MS, USA

problem #6

May 112006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,782 miles
Vehicle loses power steering causing lose of control while driving. This first occurred 12/7/04 and was repaired under GM customer satisfaction campaign 04050A (recall). Vehicle lost steering control again while driving on 2/20/06, vehicle was repaired. Vehicle lost steering control, engine stalled and brakes failed while driving 55 mph on interstate freeway on 2/27/06, vehicle was repaired. Vehicle lost steering control again on 5/11/06. Vehicle is unsafe to drive and has not been repaired to make safe.

- Belgium, WI, USA

problem #5

Mar 082006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The steering system has failed 3 times on the vehicle. GM motors has repaired the part twice, by replacing the entire steering system. Right now the car is in the shop for the 3rd time for the same defect. We are not sure if GM motors is going to pay to fix the problem. We are currently out of the warranty but this is the 3rd time. It was replaced in 3/04 & 10/04. GM told us that they were aware of the issue but according to their records not enough cars were affected therefore a recall had not been initiated. What disturbs me is they new exactly which cars where affected before they were even sold to consumers.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #4

Dec 202005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Purchased 2004 Chevy Malibu, certified used with 27,000 miles. When turning I hear clicks and feel vibrations. Dealer say's it's not a safety issue and General Motors will fix in first quarter of 2006. I contacted Chevrolet and can't get an answer on the safety issue or when this problem will be corrected. I have been reading many automobile websites and read 100's of messages from people complaining about the same noise when turning and eventual loss of steering. The car is two years old, why hasn't Chevy fixed these vehicles" are they or are they not safe" what can consumers like myself do about the issue.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 112005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,388 miles


Car developed a noise in the front end in October of 2004. Car was brought to dealership 11/2/2004 and the steering column assembly was replaced (6491 miles). Car again developed noise in March 2005. Steering column assembly was replaced again ( 5/11/2005 8908 miles). Noise was again apparent May 2005. Power steering gear assembly was replaced ( 5/11/2005 9596 miles). Noise not repaired 5/16/2005 power steering gear assembly replaced again (9657 miles). Noise came back again 7/5/2005 and steering column assembly was replaced (10275 miles). On 9/11/2005 the power steering failed while trying to turn right. Vehicle became very hard to steer and pulling uncontrollably to the left. The car needed to be towed to the dealership. On 9/12/2005 a new steering column assembly was installed (11388 miles). A vehicle inquiry summary was obtained from the dealership ( sylvester Chevrolet, peckville). The report revealed a steering column assembly replacement on 1/21/2005 also towing.

- Dunmore, PA, USA

problem #2

Jan 152005


  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu suffered power steering failure.** answer required***.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #1

Jun 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The power steering failed when car was first started in the morning, the car had 1,000 miles at that time. I called a tow truck and when he came to pick it up the power steering worked fine, he said that the computer might have bypassed it when the car was started, I contacted the service department and they told me that the car had to be malfunctioning at the time they checked it or they couldn't do anything about it. The second time the power steering failed the car has been driven around 6 mi., the car was idling at the time and she turned the motor off and took the key out and then restarted the car the steering worked ok then. The third time the power steering failed was when I was backing the car in the garage, at this time the car had 2,000 miles on it. When I restarted it the power steering worked ok. I contacted montgomery Chevrolet and talked to the service man there and he said that they couldn't do any thing about it unless it was acting up at the time and it wasn't. he said that I could leave it. It was 1,000 miles between the first and second time it happened and around 100 miles more on the third time. We were lucky that all of the failure happened in out driveway or in the garage. Pe04031_cat

- Shepherdsville, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?