If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,576 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Apr 252014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the horn and air bag erroneously deactivated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the body control module. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Richland Center, WI, USA

problem #24

Oct 172013

Malibu

  • 105,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the fuel gauge was defective, it would show empty when it was full. Also, the contact mentioned that the power steering would stop working making it very difficult to maneuver the steering wheel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Chanhassen, MN, USA

problem #23

Mar 012010

Malibu

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The contact stated that the steering wheel became hard to turn. The electronic power steering assist was previously replaced however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 89,000 and the current mileage was 149,000.

- Pelican Lake , WI, USA

problem #22

Feb 252014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I notice my wires smoke some times when I drive, and when I put my foot on the brakes I have to do it more than two times and I had that fixed in February 2013. My fuel pump went out and I replaced it( onfebruary 15, 2014). Just about a week after getting my car fixed it seems to hesitate when I put my foot on the accelerator. I took it to get it looked at and no one could find anything wrong and it is yet doing this.

- Littlerock, AR, USA

problem #21

Mar 032014

Malibu

  • 123,000 miles
My steering wheel pulsate whenever it feels like it. My steering wheel locks up while I am driving. I have to turn my car off and then turn it back on in order to have power steering. I have spent money for rotors resurfaced, alignment, and tie rods. I am worried about this situation causing an accident. I have taken it to dealer where I was informed there was nothing wrong. There are a ton of complaints.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #20

Dec 072013

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
Randomly losing power steering. Happened once briefly in August 2013. Took it for a diagnostic test immediately after this incident and was told nothing was wrong. Started happening on 12/7/13 and hasn't stopped. I had the car looked at by a mechanic on 12/10/13 who disassembled the steering column/dashboard, etc. And was told that nothing is wrong. On 12/16/13, it was taken to another mechanic, who test drove it and ran another diagnostic test and once again told me nothing is wrong and to pick up my car. Since then, I have been randomly losing the power almost daily to multiple times daily. I commute approx. 30 miles to and from work and have had to drive with no power steering at high rates of speed. To make it worse, the weather has been very bad the past week so I have been a nervous wreck not knowing when the power steering is going to go out. Within the past year, both my airbag and door ajar warnings have come on randomly when I have no door ajar. I wasn't as concerned since they are not an immediate danger. When I lose power steering the car does "ding" and "power steering" flashes on my audio system. If I am able to(not on the freeway)then I pull over, turn the car off and then back on. Sometimes this corrects the problem and sometimes it does not. Sometimes it will go awhile without this happening and sometimes it happens multiple times in a row. I am planning on taking it to a local dealership this weekend and hoping I don't get into an accident in the meantime. When I just spoke to the dealership the gentleman on the phone said that this is a common problem and he knows there are some recalls. From what I can see there are recalls on every year surrounding mine. This is extremely dangerous and something needs to be done. I hope the dealership is able to correct the problem and I don't end up spending hundreds of dollars and this is still going to happen.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In 2012, I was having issues with the cruise control disengaging and refusing to re-engage. I noticed that the brake lights would be lit without the brakes being activated, as long as the vehicle was not in "park" (automatic transmission). The Chevrolet dealer applied dielectric grease to a connector in November 2012, and the problem went away. The problem reappeared this year (2013), including an instance when the brake lights did not light when the brakes were activated! the dealer charged me over $250 in parts and over $300 in labor to replace two parts. On my way to the dealer, I saw another Malibu with the same body design with the same problem. This is obviously a design, part, or manufacturing defect, and I should not have to pay to fix a faulty design, replace a faulty part, or due to poor manufacturing.

- Glyndon, MN, USA

problem #18

Jun 302011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 87,650 miles
The brake lights come on and do not shut off (this is an intermittent problem but has gradually worsened to the point where it is happening almost all of the time now). Also, the cruise control does not work and at times it is difficult shifting out of park. We have brought the car to two different Chevy dealerships twice each, and to a private mechanic twice (for a total of 6 service trips). Despite spending several hundred dollars, none of them have fixed the problem. Someone almost hit me from behind a couple weeks ago because my brake lights did not change - he followed me to a gas station and yelled at me! it is so bad now that we don't dare drive the car for safety reasons, and cannot sell it for the same reason. My girlfriend bought this car when it was brand new and it is not only unsafe and dangerous, but unbeleiveably frustrating that they just keep charging us more money but don't fix the problem.

- Stacy, MN, USA

problem #17

Nov 202013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Malibu and turning a corner when the power steering went out. Luckily I was in an area with no other vehicles at the time. I was able to get the vehicle home, when I started it again the power steering was working. This seems to be a common problem with this make and model from what I have read. The power steering goes out while driving and comes back on after restarting the car. The issue recurs without warning. It is very dangerous and could cause a serious accident. There should be a recall on the 2007 for this known issue.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to driver door lock malfunction caused by poor wire connection and consumer seeks reimbursement for repairs. The consumer stated while driving, the tire traction light illuminated and he was unable to turn it off, and then the check engine light illuminated. He was also unable to use the speed control setting, during that time. When he arrived home, he was unable to get out of the vehicle, because the driver door auto lock wouldn't operate properly. Two days later, when he put the vehicle into drive, the driver side door didn't lock automatically, but all the other locks worked properly. The dealer informed the consumer the harness came loose and it caused the wiring under the driver's seat to chaff and expose the wiring which then touched each other and caused the malfunction. He further advised that, as part of the repair, the harness and wiring were moved over from its original location so that the problem would never occur again.

- Audubon, NJ, USA

problem #15

Sep 172013

Malibu

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was getting ready to leave my house in my 2007 Chevy Malibu and when I went to turn my wheel to get out of my driveway I could not turn it. I pulled back in the driveway and tried again, same thing. We had a friend come over with a diagnostic and it was the electrical power steering. From reading all of the other numerous comments, I am surprised there is not a recall on this issue. Hoping GM does something about this.

- Lonsdale, MN, USA

problem #14

Jul 302013

Malibu

  • miles
The buckle for the passenger side seat belt stop working on my 2007 Chevy Malibu, airbag light on for no reason, I lock the car come back all doors are unlocked.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #13

Jun 012013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The brake lights stay on while driving and turn off while applying the brakes. Cruise control does not always work. Car is hard to put in gear - you have apply brakes hard to put the car in gear.

- Colchester, CT, USA

problem #12

Apr 012012

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
On my 2007 Chevy Malibu, the cruise control will shut off by itself going down the road, the brake lights work backwards by step on brake they are off, foot off brake the lights are on. The steering wheel will lock up and have to shut car off and restart to get it to unlock and idling the car the steering wheel shakes and while driving down the road it shakes also. The part of the fuel pump that controls the gas gauge no longer works. I have taken to the dealer and they don't know of any recalls as of yet. But I have researched and have found this to be common problems, so why aren't there any recalls?

- Shelbyville, TN, USA

problem #11

Feb 112013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Malibu and am having problems with my brake lights. Currently my brake lights don't illuminate when I step on the brake pedal, but will illumnate when I take my foot off the brake pedal. Sometimes brake lights will stay on during my entire drive whether or not I'm using the brake pedal. Happens randomly, with no discernable causes. Article in fox news dated 3/13/2013 ( www.foxnews.com/leisure/2013/03/13/bad-brake-lights-could-force-recall-over-one-million-GM-cars/#ixzz2nus7qu5S ) indicates NHTSA is actively researching possible recalls, but calls to my dealer and GM customer care we of no use. Both my dealer and GM customer care told me there were no active recalls, and that I just need to get the problem fixed myself and then I could request reimbursement at a future date if any recall did happen. It's disappointing that a company as large as GM wouldn't proactively help their customers when a known problem exists in a large number of vehicles. Also mentioned in this article were problems concerning the cruise control. My cruise control will randomly stop working, or not even allow me the option of using cruise. This is not as big of a safety concern as the brake light issue, but again, mention of this problem occuring is one more reason I believe GM should be more proactive in helping their customers deal with the specific issues and concerns already being address/investigated by the NHTSA.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #10

Nov 082010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The first incident occurred in 2010, but has progressively become worse and most constant. The vehicles electrical steering will shake and jerk uncontrollably at times. The car does not always shake and jerk, but this occurs at least once per day. Some days it will shake and jerk non stop for long periods of time, others it will be short and quick. The car generally will shake and jerk for a few minutes, then will display on the display "power steering" and chime. The shaking occurs while driving and also when in park. Depending on the severity, the jerking can jolt the car into that direction. This is a safety hazard as it is very possible that this could cause an accident. The jerks are not controllable by two hands. Often while driving, the car looks as if it is jerking back and forth in its lane due to the rough jerking of the steering wheel. This is the most nerve racking while driving in weather such as snow or rain, where the road is slick or slippery. Having the car jerk around on ice is just an accident waiting to happen. When the problem first occurred, I took my vehicle to a GM dealership and had it inspected. The mechanic told us that the only option was to replace the entire steering column but they could not say if this would fix the issue. After reviewing many complaints and concerns online, I researched for recalls. I found that many models similar to ours have been recalled, but not our specific year.

- La Crosse, WI, USA

problem #9

Oct 012012

Malibu

  • 35,000 miles
When filling up the car to full with gas. The gas gauge reads low fuel and on E and then the maintenance light comes on. Sometimes it will bounce back up to show how much gas is remaining only to fall back to low fuel and E again. Had this computer checked and they said it had to do with the fuel sensor located in the gas tank. The estimated cost to fix this would be around 600. I think this should be the responsibility of GM since they recalled their SUV's for the same problem. I can't tell how much gas is actually in the car and I don't know how to use the trip for this. With the low mileage on my car, I think it is outrageous that I should have to put out that kind of money for faulty problems on GM parts.

- Bridgeville, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 102010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I had got in a crash in 2010 since then my electrical system and air bag indicator lights are always going on and off. Now my airbag lights stay on saying there not on. I also do not have a working fuel pump sensor.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #7

May 222012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
My brake lights are on when the brake is not applied and turn off when the brake is applied. Cruise control will turn on but will not set.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #6

Feb 102012

Malibu

  • 29,500 miles
I was driving my Malibu when suddenly the steering became uncontrollable. I managed to pulled the car to the side of the road. I shut the engine down. I pulled out my manual for the 2007 car and I was directed to the kind of power steering that was supposed to be installed in my car. The manual indicates that the 2007 manual for my Chevrolet Malibu ltz with a V6 engines should have a hydraulic power steering system in place. It also shows by illustration the position of the power steering reservoir. I took the car to a Chevrolet dealer in arlington, MA. And the mechanic said this car has no power steering reservoir. I showed him the manual and he said there's something wrong here. Call GM customer care and maybe they can resolve the problem because they wrote the manual.

- Watertown, MA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?