Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,445 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Jan 112010


  • 60,000 miles


Fuel system failure - gas hand downs and low fuel light comes on and eventually the check engine light comes on. This was repaired in 01/2010. As of July 2014 this issue has reoccurred. This is a issue which I feel there should be a recall based on the number of complaints filed.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #46

Jan 112010


  • 60,000 miles
Fuel system failure - gas hand downs and low fuel light comes on and eventually the check engine light comes on. This was repaired in 01/2010. As of July 2014 this issue has reoccurred. This is a issue which I feel there should be a recall based on the number of complaints filed.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #45

Mar 182009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. After refueling the vehicle, the fuel gauge displayed empty. In addition, the check engine and the fuel warning lights continuously illuminated while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel level sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #44

Jul 172014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


The fuel pump in my 2007 Chevy Malibu went out. We replaced the pump, this lasted about 2 weeks and went out. Replaced it with another pump, this one lasted about a week and went out.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #43

Aug 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 215,000 miles
Whenever I fill up my gas tank the gas gauge will register it as full when I start it up. But after going 10 feet the car will chime and the fuel gauge will go from full to empty and the light will illuminate and I will get a message that says low fuel. When I turn my car on the next time the check engine light will illuminate after driving 30 miles or so the fuel gauge will go from empty to full a few times and then it will read correctly but the engine light will stay on for a few more engine on and off cycles and then turn off. When it gets to about 1/4 tank it will start acting up again and the check engine light will come back on. The cruise control is fairly aggressive when it is going back to the speed it is set at and the car jerks when I reactivate it. I called the Chevy dealership to order the parts for the recall brake lights may or may not illuminate the person told me that she couldn't see anything about the recall and gave me the excuse that it was fairly new and I might not be in the system yet but I was sitting in front of my computer looking at it with my own eyes. Will call asap and ask about it again.

- Newmarket, NH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

Dec 112007

Malibu 4-cyl Diesel

  • 23,000 miles
Fuel gauge an fuel tank reader has not worked since we bought in 2007.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #41

Nov 132013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles


Since purchasing my car in August 2013, I have had to make three fairly costly repairs. Each time the mechanic told me this was a "known problem" for Chevrolet. The first was the intake valve. I hadn't experienced problems but took the car in for what I thought was a squealing belt. The squealing turned out to be the water pump. Since that was secondary in importance to the intake valve, I had that replaced first. Followed by the water pump a couple of months later. Then about a month ago, I was out of town and my car suddenly would not shift into park or reverse. It was a worn and stretched shifter cable. However GM says my car is not part of the recall.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #40

Nov 042013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 59,875 miles
At first, when my gas gauge would be down to about half a tank, the gauge would go to empty and check low fuel light and check engine light would come on. We did take it to GM dealer and it tested as diagnostic code P0463 fuel tank level sending unit. As time has gone on, when the gauge gets down to three fourths full, the gauge will go to empty and check engine light and low fuel light will come on.

- Clinton, IL, USA

problem #39

Feb 252014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I notice my wires smoke some times when I drive, and when I put my foot on the brakes I have to do it more than two times and I had that fixed in February 2013. My fuel pump went out and I replaced it( onfebruary 15, 2014). Just about a week after getting my car fixed it seems to hesitate when I put my foot on the accelerator. I took it to get it looked at and no one could find anything wrong and it is yet doing this.

- Littlerock, AR, USA

problem #38

Sep 012012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Late summer 2012, fuel gauge started showing empty after fillup, with low fuel light & check engine light illuminating. Gauge will intermittently work in a few spots, until tank hits about 1/4 tank, where it follows good to empty. Obdii code P0463 "fuel level sensor circuit high input" car runs fine besides this. I have been resetting my trip odometer on every fillup & refilling tank at 250 to 300 miles every time since. I am not about to pay high $$$ to have this fixed now. Just got a letter for the same problem on my 2006 Chevy trailblazer, & Chevy will repair it now for free. Have seen several complaints for this on the 2007 Malibu, but Chevy isn't covering it. Have 103,000 miles on it now, I will wait until the fuel pump goes out or Chevy decides to repair it for free before I get it fixed. Whoever manufactured Chevy's fuel level sensors these years did a real crappy job. In over 36 years of driving well over a million miles, these are the 1st fuel level sensors I've ever had go bad. Pretty simple technology, if made correctly.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #37

Sep 242013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles


Every time I fill my gas tank, my gauge starts dropping to empty, I get low fuel warning and then it will go back up to full again. This change happens repeatedly while driving. Now my check engine light is on. Car seems to be operating fine otherwise. Very frustrating, as I see there is a recall on replacement fuel pumps for the 2007 Malibu *which I am assuming is the problem* but not on original manufactured parts, which is what I have in my car. I just hit 74000 miles. Frustrating that an american made car is going bad so fast. This will be quite an expensive repair for me if indeed it is the fuel pump...

- Maricopa, AZ, USA

problem #36

Jun 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The fuel level sensor has been erratic and goes from full to empty and the low fuel light goes on. Additionally, this triggers the computer and the check engine symbol appears. It also denotes a failure for the emissions test in Maryland even though it has no emissions problems. I also found out that this is a common problem in GMC and Chevy and has been a recall item but not on the 2007's any reason, why it would be safe on some models and unsafe on others?

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #35

Jun 102013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 125,487 miles
While driving on the 91 freeway, the power steering went out causing the vehicle to jerk to the right and I nearly collide with the vehicle to my right. In addition the fuel gauge and the engine light came on. I notified GM asking to please take some responsibility since many other drivers are experiencing the same problem, and the defective parts could cause an accident with serious consequences. The response that I received was that it is the government responsibility to place a recall and not theirs.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 202013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Last week my car started creeping when I hit the gas. My car sounds like a boat. The car sounds like its not getting gas or choking. When it starts picking up speed it sounds like its dropping into the gears. I took it to the shop and they are telling me that there is a problem with the catalytic converter and it needs to be replaced. That has been replaced now they are telling me there is a problem with the timing chain and water pump. Now, I noticed that these are all things that are covered under Chevy warranty but the issues shows up after the warranty has ended. Chevy needs to extend the warranty on these parts because its a common issue.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #33

Sep 152010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the electronic power assist failed. The steering wheel shook and sporadically seized. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was determined that the electronic power assist needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that the fuel gauge would provide inaccurate fuel level readings and would only provide readings of either full or empty. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for the fuel gauge failure. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 116,089.

- Chiloicothe, IL, USA

problem #32

Apr 092012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
At approximately 79K miles the fuel gauge started to go to minimum level, with the fuel level warning light, and then back to the actual level. Once it started happening it increased in frequency, but with no real pattern. After 3 or 4 occurrences the check engine light came on, code P0463 "fuel level sensor a circuit high input". since then every time I clear it comes back on with the first occurrence. As an instrumentation technician, and an electrician, this tells me there is a higher than expected current, that could potentially cause a spark or a fire, in a device that is connected to the fuel tank. The fact that there is not already a recall tells me that no one has died... yet.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #31

Feb 012011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The following codes are active; P0463 fuel level sensor a circuit high input, B0561 ABS $43 sys disabled and C0561 sys disabled issues. The fuel gauge was fluctuating, but has now stopped working. The service engine soon light came on and will not reset to off. The service seat belt warning message came on. The problems were intermittent prior to 50,000 miles, but now, just after 50,000 miles nothing resets. I have found that this is a common problem and the repairs are very expensive, yet nothing has been done to convince GM to recall and make repairs. We own a 2006 Malibu with 35,000 miles on it. Now, I'm worried that it is going to have the same problem as our 2007 Malibu. And, who wants to face those repair bills!

- Watervliet, NY, USA

problem #30

Feb 022012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that when the vehicle was filled with gasoline, the fuel gauge would read empty. The contact tried using fuel injector cleaner, but it did not remedy the issue. The vehicle had not been inspected by the dealer or a mechanic. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 62,000. Updated 03/23/12 updated 03/30/12

- Leonia, NJ, USA

problem #29

Jan 022012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,100 miles
My 2007 Chevy Malibu fuel gauge goes to empty after a fill up and then it will go to full and then back down to out of fuel causing the engine check lite to come on - at first the lite would go out when I had less then a 1/4 of a tank of fuel - now it stays on all the time. I have been reading that this is a problem with the 2007 Malibu. The repair for this is 600-800 dollars!

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #28

Sep 302011


  • 55,000 miles
The fuel gauge goes from full to empty and back to full and continues the entire time I am driving. It started just when I was at a full stop at first, but now does it constantly. This triggers the check engine light to come on and stay on. At first, as soon as I would fill the gas tank, the check engine light would go off until I got back to 1/2 tank, now it doesn;T matter. It is just on all the time. I see many of the same complaints and I don't understand why GM has not done a recall!!!! I read about a gas smell starting in dome and I had just noticed that on mine this morning!! 8 more payments and now look at what I have. I have been quoted up to $650 to get this fixed. The car only has 60,000 miles. Cant we in the us build a car to last longer than that!! GM needs to accept accountability for a faulty system and do the recall!

- Fountain Inn, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?