Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Jun 052014

Malibu

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). Prior to receipt of the recall, the contact experienced a failure. While driving approximately 40 mph, the ignition shut down without warning and the vehicle crashed into a pole. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed. There was one injury that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic who diagnosed that the ignition was faulty. The vehicle was repaired by a mechanic; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #50

Feb 222015

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles
1 year ago I was driving and I got hit in the side. For some reason the airbags didn't deploy and I got hit pretty hard because the driver driver side doors were not able to open. I drove home with and they said that it was fixable although it didn't look like it. Its fixed now but ive always had my suspicion that it is part of the recall. It was moving, on a street, about to turn when she hit me. I did not brake.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #49

May 252015

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles
Airbag light up on dashboard on driver side every time I start the car and stays on. Showed to dealer and asking for $120 just to check, and said could go up to $1200 if it need to repair. Any recall on this airbag?

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #48

Sep 082013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 123,798 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently. The brake pedal was depressed, but failed to slow down the vehicle. The contacts son lost control of the vehicle and crashed through a steel gate and also into a tree. The driver air bag failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact sustained brain injuries, a lacerated liver, and loss of eyesight in the left eye. The contact required extensive medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 123,798. The vehicle was destroyed. Updated 06/23/16.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #47

Feb 052014

Malibu

  • 125,000 miles
My airbag light kept coming on and off for about 10 months when I first bought it from the Chevy dealer and now it just stayes on all the time my info center says service airbag soon the Chevy mechanic says my airbags might not deploy if I get into an accident and also I read online metal fragments can come flying out causeing severe injury or death this is a serious safety issue the cost of repair is so high $700 for the part not including labor this is a defective airbag problem that needs to be recalled for the safety of all drivers and passengers

- Groton, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Aug 212015

Malibu

  • 111,210 miles
I called GM 800-222-1020 to report the airbag on my 2007 Chevy Malibu airbag keeps coming on an off on 8/22/15 I called the 1st time no one called me I called on 8/25/15 and I called today 8/31/15. I was told that I needed to pay for the diagnoses...I dont think that is fair why would the air bags on a car go out"???" I was told on the phone that I did not have to pay now the story changes. I fear for my life driving this car, knowing that if I crash I could die. Also I dont think I got alllll the recalls fixed in my car. Please help. I keep on getting the run arounds.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #45

Jul 012007

Malibu

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle July 2007. It was a used vehicle. From the first day of purchase the words "passenger air bag needs service" show up on the screen.

- Jackson, OH, USA

problem #44

Jul 012015

Malibu

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. After the vehicle was started, the service air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 141,000.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #43

Mar 132013

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
Airbag indicator comes

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #42

Feb 012012

Malibu

  • 113,044 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While attempting to start the vehicle, the service air bag warning was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,044.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #41

May 062015

Malibu

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, a vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle causing the contact to coast into a ditch. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained shoulder and right leg injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Sunflower , MS, USA

problem #40

May 092015

Malibu

  • 145,000 miles
Airbag light stays on will not go out.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #39

Mar 092013

Malibu

  • miles
That morning about 10:30 am, traffic was slowing during light rainy road conditions on interstate 70, westbound, in St. Charles, Missouri, when the driver of the car in which I was the only passenger, applied his brakes to slow down and slid into the back of the car in front of us, colliding the front end of the Malibu into the rear end of the Mazda sedan in front of us, twice impacting the Mazda sedan, totaling the Chevrolet Malibu in which I was the passenger. At no time did any air bags in the Malibu deploy. I suffered a torn meniscus in my left knee which remains scarred and periodically painful. The two passengers in the Mazda may have been injured, as well. Medical attention was required but not at the accident scene. A Missouri highway patrol officer was dispatched to the scene. Both vehicles were towed.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #38

Feb 022015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 93,500 miles
When sitting in the car with the key turned on the left air bag indicator light shows (off) and with nobody in the right seat the light shows (on) for a few seconds then goes out, while driving with only a driver in the car it stays the same.

- Bushnell, IL, USA

problem #37

Feb 052014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
My fuel gauge shows low fuel most of the time.my lights on the dash change check engine light comes on sometimes then gas gauge works.then it goes off and things change air bag warning comes on.things just jump around never the same mix of things.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #36

Oct 012008

Malibu

  • 500 miles
The passenger side air bag "off" light remains on when passenger weight is approximately 120 pounds or less. The "off" light will turn off when a heavier person is in the front passenger seat. The dealer said, after I bought the car, that the weight setting was not adjustable. Chevrolet and GM customer support on the internet was not helpful. The vehicle is used infrequently and seldom with a passenger. Current mileage is 17,000 miles. The dealer contacted their district office on 2/5/2015 and he said that the district office told him that the condition was within design parameters. The district office confirmed that when the "off" light is on that the air bag will not work. This is a safety hazard for lightweight adults and children who are riding in the passenger seat.

- Geneseo, IL, USA

problem #35

Jan 192015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 30 mph, the service air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 4/6/15 updated 04/09/15

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #34

Jun 162012

Malibu

  • miles
Service the airbag light kept coming on intermittently for a couple of years until it stayed on constantly. Mechanic says the (box) is burned out and must be replaced at cost of$300. I understand 07 Malibu have this problem. I want to know why it hasn't been recalled since airbags save lives and without them we are at risk.

- Mingo Jct., OH, USA

problem #33

Sep 022013

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #32

Sep 012012

Malibu

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle was making a rattling noise. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?