Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,413 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Oct 062015

Malibu

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. Update 01/15/16

- Gillett, PA, USA

problem #70

Oct 022015

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
Service air bag info comes on. Never know when. May be connected to seat movement. Passenger seat, I think. Has did this occasionally fo 2 years. Always went off before. Now staying on. Recall on air bag service connecter in 2011 completed. Seems to have come on also while braking hard.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #69

Sep 072015

Malibu

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the service air bag warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired, but the failure recurred. The details of the repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Ballwin , MO, USA

problem #68

Nov 262014

Malibu

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle air bag light turns on and stays on intermediately. Movement of the passenger seat either by shaking or sliding will turn on/off the air bag light. Symptom reoccurs every weekly/biweekly over the past year. This appears to be a known problem by GM for the 2010 Malibu and is most likely related to air bag connector under the seat.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #67

Sep 072015

Malibu

  • 104,000 miles
The airbag sensor goes off due to heat rising. Especially in the summer when car temperature rises. This past summer I've had the sensor go off more than 3 times a month due to the excessive heat, I'm currently unsure if it'll even deploy correctly if I'm in an accident.I usually have to remove the airbag and then check for any damage to it and then re-insert it. Airbag is still the original part, never been deployed before. I know a lot of other owners have had the same issue and have posted on chevymalibuforum.com.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #66

Aug 022010

Malibu

  • 5,000 miles
1) GM is covering up a defect in rims ( not completely welded, I have the rim as evidence) 2) currently my service ESC, traction, air bag lights are all on ( so is my air bag gonna explode" is my car not stable enough to be driven") 3) 2011 I paid to have my car fixed because the brake lights stayed on. ( maybe had 3000 miles) 4) my brake lights currently stay on.( aprox 70,000 miles) 5) I have contacted GM several times, have not spoke to anyone. 6) when the car behind me can not tell if I am stopping because my lights stay on and I am killed along with the person behind me... maybe someone will listen.

- Sheridan, AR, USA

problem #65

Aug 032015

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

C airbag readiness light service airbag message reroute wireharness-replace cause recall 04oct12 mileage25097 service airbag light keeps going on and off, vehicle never in accident, airbags never deployed, recall then never corrected 08aug15 mileage 51109

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #64

Jun 012011

Malibu

  • 17,000 miles
Air bag warning light illuminates when pressing hard on brake pad and when making turns. Warning light in dash stays on the warning light may go off briefly when driving and it is required to brake hard, but illuminates again when brake is pressed. Sometimes, it comes on during normal driving without braking. Sometimes it comes on when the car is driven over a bump in the road. This malfunction makes it impossible to determine if air bags are actually engaged and will operate during a crash. The problem only increased after body control module (BCM) recall was fixed on the vehicle. It occurs every 1-2 days since the BCM was repaired. Local Chevrolet dealer has not been able to identify a problem and has not been willing to contact GM for information. Extremely concerned for passenger safety.

- Fillmore, IN, USA

problem #63

Feb 132015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 65 mph, the air bag warning light and the traction light illuminated. The steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the power steering and the air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 5/5/15 updated 11/10/2015

- Braxton, MS, USA

problem #62

Nov 192014

Malibu

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that headlights failed and only the high beams were working properly. Also, the contact mentioned that the air bag light continuously illuminated without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #61

Oct 302014

Malibu

  • 38,580 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After receiving our 2010 Chevrolet Malibu back from the Chevrolet dealership after them having it for 3 months to correct recall 13036 the "service air bag" message comes on and off several times a week. It wasn't doing this until recall 13036 was done and the car delivered back to us. I visited my local Chevrolet dealership and they stated there is no recall about this.Chevrolet has stated there is no known issues with air bag or sensor problems with my model. GM has several tech bulletins out on the 'service air bag" warning issues, but no recalls. Below are the tech bulletins on air bag service known problems. Air bags service bulletin no.: sb-10-09-41-002C component(s): Air bags NHTSA id number: 10037465 all products associated with this service bulletin Chevrolet Malibu 2010 summary: GM: the air bag light comes on intermittently with a couple trouble codes present. May be caused by electrical harness problems. Updated on 6/30/2011. Air bags date reported March 01 2011 NHTSA reference #10038651 tsb reference #pb-11034 description: GM: wear could lead to corrosion in the air bag harness wiring. The service airbag light may come on. 2010 Malibu, G10. Air bags date reported October 01 2010 NHTSA reference #10036264 tsb reference #pie-0118 description: Chevrolet: Engineering information-sir/airbag indicator/light on, dtc B0012 or B0013 set. Engineering attempting to determine the root cause of condition. Engineering has a need to gather information on vehicles prior to repair that may air bags:frontal NHTSA reference #10033528 tsb reference #pb-10085 description: Chevrolet airbag readiness light/service air bag message-reroute wire harness/replace connectors. Some vehicles may experience wear which could lead to corrosion air bags:side/window date reported February 01 2011 NHTSA reference #10033528 tsb reference #pb-10085

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #60

Sep 022014

Malibu

  • 52,000 miles
Shortly after getting the recall repair for the ABS lighting issue in late August the "service airbag" light came on when I hit the brakes hard. After a while it went off and stayed off until a few days later when a back seat passenger closed the rear passenger door hard. It still to this day continues to go on & off, sometimes when I hit a bump, or when I 1st start the car. I called the dealer and was told our car was not under recall for the recent airbag issue and that for them to investigate the issue would require the diagnostic machine. And.. since the warranty on the airbag was only 3yrs/36,000 miles the charge to me would be 1hrs time about $125. I find this completely unacceptable and will also be filing a complaint with GM.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #59

Sep 302014

Malibu

  • miles
My seat belt warning pings when I am buckled up and goes off as frequently as it would if I was not buckled up. My "service air bag" light randomly pops up my car revs when im driving at the same pace on a flat road. Which is scary because it speeds up too. My driving wheel sticks sometimes. I feel like its not a safe car I bought this car in Feb thinking it was a good investment and I regret it 100%.

- Bakerafield, CA, USA

problem #58

Sep 012014

Malibu

  • 88,352 miles
Went into shop for recall of the recall id # 103647 - electronic stability control on 2010 Chevy Malibu. When I got my car back from shop. I now get service air bags warning light all the time on my dash.

- Bridgeville, PA, USA

problem #57

May 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was T-boned by another vehicle on the passenger side of my car and the airbag deployed on the passengers side door and hit my daughter in the face. The airbag had fibers and such on it that was imbedded in my daughters eye. She had to have surgery to get it out.

- Terry, MT, USA

problem #56

Sep 062013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 72,368 miles
Complained quite a few times to the dealership about the airbag light coming on and going off. First time we took it in at 35K miles they replaced the airbag harness. About 6 months pass and the airbag light comes on again, along with check engine light, traction control light, car runs ruff, so they come out with a broken fuel injection wire, a bad airbag cable connection and a bill for the repairs. Now the airbag light comes on and off as you drive. Its due in for the already brake switch recall so we let them know that the airbag light comes on and goes off. Three hours pass and here comes the counter worker with a $1500 parts bill for the replacement of side airbags dash airbags and the sensors...I will never buy a new car again. Rftbj./

- Martin, KY, USA

problem #55

Aug 222014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle crashed into another vehicle head on and only the air bag in the steering wheel deployed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a broken hip, neck and foot and back injuries and the front passenger sustained chest, back and shoulder injuries and both required medical attention. Both vehicles were destroyed. The failure had not been diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Shartsburg, GA, USA

problem #54

Jul 312014

Malibu

  • 39,550 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving on a major roadway, the air bags deployed inadvertently. The driver sustained injuries due to the air bag failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 39,550. Updated 09/02/14

- New City, NY, USA

problem #53

Jun 032014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Since I purchased my car there have been different incidents that I didn't pay attention to. The traction, cruise control don't work properley, the warning light for the air bags appears and will stay on for awhile I've had problems with the lighting. As soon as I recieved the recall letter I called the dealer right away and told them about the problems, they looked it up and said I had to wait until the parts arrive. I'm very concerned about my safety I use my car for my family and will be having to make a long distance trip to pick up my daughter. What do I do in the meantime when my car is already having problems?

- Deming, NM, USA

problem #52

Jun 102014

Malibu

  • 41,679 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the failure was experience several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage and current mileage was 41,679.

- Wintersville, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?